Rainforest credits investigation
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
- Press and investigations The Guardian, Die Zeit, SourceMaterial: More than 90% of the rainforest credits examined are likely “phantom credits”. SourceMaterial
- Researchers Studies reviewed in the investigation: Only 8 of 29 projects reduced emissions; baselines were overstated by 406% on average. SourceMaterial
- Standard-setters and registries Verra: Called the investigation and two of the three studies “patently unreliable”. Verra
A joint investigation found more than 90% of rainforest offset credits from the largest standard were likely "phantom credits". The standard-setter earns most of its income from per-credit fees.
Studies reviewed in the investigation.
- Verra — Revenue rose from $13.9m (2019) to $40.5m (2021) and averaged about $30m a year in 2022–2025, about 96% from per-credit registration fees. ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- Companies named as credit buyers, including Disney, Shell, Gucci, Netflix, easyJet, Salesforce and BHP — Used rainforest credits toward their offset claims. SourceMaterial
What happened
In January 2023, The Guardian, Die Zeit and SourceMaterial reported that more than 90% of Verra's rainforest credits were likely "phantom credits" with no matching cut in deforestation. Only 8 of 29 projects studied reduced emissions; baselines were overstated by 406% on average.
Verra, which has issued more than a billion credits since 2009, called the investigation "patently unreliable". Its CEO announced his departure four months later; the organisation revised its methodology.
Verra's revenue rose from $13.9 million (2019) to $40.5 million (2021). About 96% comes from per-credit registration fees.
- 2009Verra begins issuing credits
- 2021Revenue $40.5m
- 2023Investigation published (Jan); CEO departure announced (May)
- 2025New fee: $0.23 per tonne claimed
What was said
“Patently unreliable.”
“We welcome academic scrutiny.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
More than 90% of the rainforest credits examined are likely “phantom credits”.
SourceMaterialOnly 8 of 29 projects reduced emissions; baselines were overstated by 406% on average.
SourceMaterialCalled the investigation and two of the three studies “patently unreliable”.
VerraHow it looked
Shown
- Over a billion credits to the highest standards
Recorded
- Most rainforest credits likely without real reductions
- Average baseline overstatement: 406%
- Standard-setter income tied to credit volume
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
- Disputed Do rainforest offset credits stand for real emission cuts?
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Record
- None on record Verra disputes the studies' methods; no court has examined them.
Did the harm stop?
Methodology revised in 2023. Credits issued under the old method remain in circulation.
Who paid?
Not quantified.
Sources
Government and regulators
- Verra Form 990 filingsProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · 2024
Press and investigations
- Carbon offsetting claims inflated, methodologies flawedSourceMaterial · 2023-01
- Guardian investigation: 90% of Verra offsets worthless (reproduction)Carbon Herald · 2023-01
Standard-setters and registries
- "Patently unreliable": Verra addresses criticismVerra · 2023-01-31
- Verra CEO to step downVerra · 2023-05-22
Connected cases
- Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru) Peru · 2012–2024
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250)
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Client at the time of COP27
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Northern Lights partner
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Facility owner
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Named credit buyer; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry for the Plastic Waste Reduction Standard
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Carbon-credit registry
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry that holds its own AFOLU buffer and reported on cancellations
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter and registry; there: Registry