Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Shell Brasil bought a minority stake in Carbonext, a Brazilian REDD+ developer, in 2022. Police and prosecutors later acted against REDD+ schemes, including some the sources say Carbonext developed, and the sources do not say whether Carbonext or Shell were charged.
- Shell Brasil — minority stake in Carbonext with priority access to its credits (July 2022) REDD-Monitor
- Carbonext — received the 200 million reais investment REDD-Monitor
- Kaxarari indigenous people and gatherers in Iquiri National Forest — prosecutors asked that 87.3% of Unitor's revenue be returned to them
What happened
In July 2022 Shell Brasil bought a minority stake in Carbonext, described as Brazil's largest REDD+ developer, for about 200 million reais (about 38–40 million dollars), with priority access to its credits (REDD-Monitor, 2022).
In June 2024 Verra suspended the accounts of the Unitor, Fortaleza Ituxi and Evergreen schemes, which the sources say Carbonext developed, days after the Federal Police launched Operation Greenwashing.
Federal prosecutors filed three suits in March 2026 against Ituxi, Carbonext and Verra, and asked that 87.3% of Unitor's revenue go back to the Kaxarari indigenous people and gatherers in Iquiri National Forest.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Carbonext says it protects about 2 million hectares of Amazon forest.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Shell bought Select Carbon in 2020 (more than 70 schemes, about 9 million hectares) and planned 200 million dollars for nature-based solutions over two years.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Shell decided in 2024 to sell most of its nature-based business.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Shell was the largest corporate user of carbon credits in 2024; no source is given.
- None on record Not stated: whether Carbonext or Shell was charged, or is a party to, the Federal Police investigation.
- None on record Not stated: the outcome of the March 2026 suits.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Communities and civil society
- How to burn the planet: Shell invests US$38 million in Carbonext, Brazil's biggest REDD offset firmREDD-Monitor · 2022-07-13
Connected cases
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Carbonext (Company) — here: REDD+ developer in which Shell took a minority stake; there: developer of REDD+ credit schemes in the Lábrea concessions
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: certification body that suspended accounts
- Federal Police (Brazil) (Public authority) — here: launched Operation Greenwashing in June 2024; there: launched Operation Greenwashing
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- Carbonext (Company) — here: REDD+ developer in which Shell took a minority stake; there: Credit developer; projects reported in the investigation
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Registry; suspended the projects
- Federal Police (Brazil) (Public authority) — here: launched Operation Greenwashing in June 2024; there: Investigating authority
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Alter do Chão and Dia do Fogo fire allegations Brazil · 2019–2024
- Federal Police (Brazil) (Public authority) — here: launched Operation Greenwashing in June 2024; there: Investigating authority
- Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru) Peru · 2012–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard-setter that certified the project
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard-setter and registry
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250)
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Federal prosecutors say Belo Monte dam's Xingu flow schedule collapsed in 2025 Brazil · 2010–2025
- Ministério Público Federal (Government agency) — here: filed three suits in March 2026 against Ituxi, Carbonext and Verra; there: federal prosecutors who reported the flow collapse
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Client at the time of COP27
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard body that suspended and reinstated the scheme
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard-setter and registry (project 1468)
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Northern Lights partner
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Facility owner
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard-setter and registry for the Plastic Waste Reduction Standard
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Carbon-credit registry
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Registry that holds its own AFOLU buffer and reported on cancellations
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026; there: Registry