Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Brazil's Paiter Suruí REDD+ project sold forest carbon credits to Natura and FIFA and was suspended in 2018 after logging exceeded its permitted limit. In May 2024 Amazonas state granted 21 REDD concessions over 11.9 million hectares of public forest without consulting 483 communities.
- Natura — bought Suruí credits in 2013 Mongabay
- FIFA — bought Suruí credits in 2014 to offset World Cup emissions Mongabay
- Future Carbon — won 12 of the 21 Amazonas concessions
- Shell Brasil — bought a minority stake in Carbonext in July 2022, with priority access to credits REDD-Monitor
- Paiter Suruí people and their forest — forest cleared after gold and diamonds were found; the project was suspended Mongabay
- 483 communities — not consulted on the 2024 Amazonas concessions
What happened
Natura bought credits from the Paiter Suruí REDD+ project in 2013 and FIFA in 2014 to offset World Cup emissions. After gold and diamonds were found on the land, logging in 2017 exceeded the permitted limit by 256 per cent, covering 653 hectares, and the project was suspended in 2018, according to Mongabay (2018).
In May 2024 Amazonas state granted 21 REDD concessions covering 11.9 million hectares of public forest, without consulting 483 communities; federal prosecutors recommended suspending them.
In June 2024 the Federal Police launched Operation Greenwashing, and Verra suspended the accounts of Unitor, Fortaleza Ituxi and Evergreen. Federal police charged 31 people in October 2025.
Reuters found in July 2025 that at least 24 of 36 Amazon credit schemes certified by Verra or Cercarbono included people fined for illegal deforestation by Ibama.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the Shell stake was worth about 200 million reais, and the Carbonext scheme claimed about 2 million hectares.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not confirm whether the 2024 concessions have been suspended.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not give the Suruí project's total credit sales.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- World's first indigenous REDD programme ended due to illegal miningMongabay · 2018-09-11
Communities and civil society
- How to burn the planet: Shell invests US$38 million in Carbonext, Brazil's biggest REDD offset firmREDD-Monitor · 2022-07-13
Connected cases
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- Carbonext (Company) — here: developer of REDD+ credit schemes in the Lábrea concessions; there: Credit developer; projects reported in the investigation
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Registry; suspended the projects
- Federal Police (Brazil) (Public authority) — here: launched Operation Greenwashing; there: Investigating authority
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022
- Carbonext (Company) — here: developer of REDD+ credit schemes in the Lábrea concessions; there: REDD+ developer in which Shell took a minority stake
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026
- Federal Police (Brazil) (Public authority) — here: launched Operation Greenwashing; there: launched Operation Greenwashing in June 2024
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Indigenous land registration cut Amazon deforestation; recent Brazilian rulings reverse course Brazil · 2005–2025
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Alter do Chão and Dia do Fogo fire allegations Brazil · 2019–2024
- Federal Police (Brazil) (Public authority) — here: launched Operation Greenwashing; there: Investigating authority
- Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru) Peru · 2012–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard-setter that certified the project
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard-setter and registry
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250)
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Client at the time of COP27
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard body that suspended and reinstated the scheme
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard-setter and registry (project 1468)
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Northern Lights partner
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Facility owner
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: minority investor in Carbonext; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard-setter and registry for the Plastic Waste Reduction Standard
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Carbon-credit registry
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Registry that holds its own AFOLU buffer and reported on cancellations
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: certification body that suspended accounts; there: Registry