UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The UK government agreed in October 2024 to provide up to £21.7bn over 25 years to carbon capture and storage clusters in Teesside and Merseyside, funded through energy bill levies and the Treasury. The sources reviewed do not show how much emissions the clusters would cut.
- bp, Equinor, TotalEnergies and Eni — named as the companies behind the clusters
- UK energy bill payers — pay part of the support through levies on energy bills The Chemical Engineer
What happened
The UK government agreed in October 2024 to provide up to £21.7bn over 25 years to the Teesside and Merseyside carbon capture and storage clusters, The Chemical Engineer reported.
The support is to be paid through levies on energy bills and from the Treasury, according to the same report, which gives 4,000 jobs and 8.5 million tonnes a year.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record East Coast cluster: no sourced account in the sources reviewed.
- None on record How much CO2 the clusters would cut, and whether they would extend fossil fuel use: not stated in the sources reviewed.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the company roles listed above (bp, Equinor, TotalEnergies, Eni) have no source link.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- UK invests in CCS clusters and hydrogen projectsThe Chemical Engineer · 2024-10-04
Connected cases
- BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status Iraq · 2021–2022
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- BP (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM) Mozambique · 2014–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Later employer of the assessment's project manager
- Eni (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Equinor (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Northern Lights partner; former Statoil
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Northern Lights partner
- Offshore wind wake effect disputes (Ørsted, UK and Germany) United Kingdom · 2020–2026
- Equinor (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Claimant over Dogger Bank South wake losses
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Lobbied on German tender rules
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Amsterdam votes to ban fossil fuel and meat adverts; Paris court faults TotalEnergies Netherlands · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Defendant; the Paris court found its 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading
- Bolivian carbon scheme claimed 55 million tonnes; review found at most 5.8 million Bolivia · 1997–2010
- BP (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: company; partner in the scheme; donor to TNC
- BP “Beyond Petroleum” campaign and carbon footprint calculator United Kingdom · 2000–2025
- BP (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Launched the “Beyond Petroleum” brand and the carbon footprint calculator
- BP acquires majority stake in Finite Carbon, a US forest carbon developer United States · 2020
- BP (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- BP (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Well operator and lease holder; pleaded guilty; paid $20.8bn civil settlement; self-insured
- BP's Gulf spill used Corexit; Nalco board had ex-BP and Exxon executives United States · date not stated
- BP (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Company responsible for the spill response and dispersant choice
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Claimant against Greenpeace France
- Danone, Unilever and BP scaled back sustainability goals between 2021 and 2025 Global · 2021–2025
- BP (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025
- Developers dispute wake losses from RWE's Dogger Bank South wind farm United Kingdom · 2025–2026
- Equinor (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Claimed 778 million dollars of lifetime losses from Dogger Bank South
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Majority shareholder (62%)
- England Biodiversity Net Gain market and Natural England statutory credits United Kingdom · 2024–2026
- Government of the United Kingdom (Government) — here: agreed the 25-year support; there: Sets the rule and the credit prices
- Eni bought Zambian forest credits as a community received about EUR 50,000 Zambia · 2021–2023
- Eni (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests
- Erika oil spill France · 1999–2012
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Total SA: criminal liability upheld and held civilly liable (2012); could not rely on CLC channelling
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Gabon planned 187 million sovereign carbon credits as TotalEnergies took a timber stake Gabon · 2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Italy fined Eni 5 million euros over ads calling Diesel+ green Italy · 2020
- Eni (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: fined over Diesel+ advertising
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Credit buyer
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Eni (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Nauru and Banaba phosphate mining compensation Nauru · 1920–1993
- Government of the United Kingdom (Government) — here: agreed the 25-year support; there: Gave A$10 million together with New Zealand
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Eni (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Operator; incident reports record a sabotage share of 89%
- Norway's Økokrim fines Equinor over Mongstad refinery spills and emissions Norway · 2016–2021
- Equinor (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: company fined over Mongstad refinery
- Paris court finds TotalEnergies' 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading France · 2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Company found to have misled consumers
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Eni (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: 1t.org pledger
- The Hague's fossil fuel advertising ban took effect in 2025 after court upheld it Netherlands · 2021
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Defendant in the Paris court ruling on carbon neutrality advertising
- TotalEnergies Batéké acacia carbon project (Congo) Republic of Congo · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Sub-lessee and carbon-credit sponsor of the plantation
- TotalEnergies reportedly abandoned Congo carbon plantation at 12.5% of target Uganda · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: developer of Tilenga and sponsor of the Batéké plantation
- TotalEnergies v Greenpeace France France · 2022–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Claimant
- TotalEnergies’ Tilenga oil fields in Uganda: biodiversity claims and insurance Uganda · 2021–2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: named as a leading company behind the clusters; there: Developer of the Tilenga oil fields