Iran's 2026 war-damage estimate of about USD 270bn and its calls for compensation and environmental accountability
- Government and regulators Abbas Araghchi, Iran's Foreign Minister: Said UNEP "confirmed" that the Tehran oil fires released compounds that could contaminate soil, water and the food chain. Jamaran News
- International bodies UNEP, 13 March 2026, as quoted by Human Rights Watch: "Heavy smoke from burning oil, which includes hazardous compounds, is now being directly inhaled by people in Iran". Human Rights Watch
Iran's government put direct and indirect damage from the war that began on 28 February 2026 at about USD 270bn, an early estimate with no breakdown. In October 2026 its foreign minister called for "responsibility and compensation" for wartime environmental damage.
Given on 14 April 2026 as "an early estimate" with no breakdown, as relayed by Al Jazeera.
Status As of 12 October 2026: Iran's foreign minister called for responsibility and compensation for wartime environmental damage; no reparations body or environmental assessment by a UN body is on record.
- Government of Iran — Estimated direct and indirect damage of about USD 270bn; said it could not repay civilians whose homes were damaged Al Jazeera
- Soil, water and food chain around Tehran — Araghchi said UNEP confirmed fire compounds could contaminate them; the UNEP text quoted by HRW refers to inhaled smoke and pollution that may enter soil and water Human Rights Watch
What happened
On 14 April 2026 Iran's government spokeswoman Fatemeh Mohajerani told RIA Novosti that direct and indirect damage since 28 February was about USD 270bn, "an early estimate" given with no breakdown. Damage to oil and gas facilities, petrochemical plants, power plants and "water desalination plants" was still being assessed, and compensation "will be raised in any potential future talks with the US and mediators". Mohajerani also said "existing economic realities" meant the government could not repay civilians whose homes were damaged. The same day Iran's UN envoy said five regional countries must pay compensation (Al Jazeera, 15 April 2026).
On 11 October 2026 Foreign Minister Abbas Araghchi spoke at a conference on ecocide at Iran's Department of Environment in Tehran (Jamaran, 12 October 2026). He referred to the black rain that fell on Iranians, called for environmental protection to include "responsibility and compensation" without naming sums, and named COP31 as a venue to raise the issue. He said UNEP "confirmed" that the Tehran oil fires released compounds that could contaminate soil, water and the food chain.
UNEP's statement of 13 March 2026, as quoted by Human Rights Watch, said: "Heavy smoke from burning oil, which includes hazardous compounds, is now being directly inhaled by people in Iran". No environmental sub-total of the USD 270bn has been published.
- 2026UNEP statement on smoke from burning oil (13 Mar); Mohajerani gives the USD 270bn early estimate and Iran's UN envoy says five countries must pay (14 Apr); Araghchi calls for responsibility and compensation at a conference on ecocide (11 Oct)
What was said
“an early estimate”
“existing economic realities”
“We all remember the black rain that fell upon our people”
“responsibility and compensation”
“Heavy smoke from burning oil, which includes hazardous compounds, is now being directly inhaled by people in Iran”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Said UNEP "confirmed" that the Tehran oil fires released compounds that could contaminate soil, water and the food chain.
Jamaran News"Heavy smoke from burning oil, which includes hazardous compounds, is now being directly inhaled by people in Iran".
Human Rights WatchHow it looked
Shown
- UNEP confirmed that the Tehran oil fires released compounds that could contaminate soil, water and the food chain.Abbas Araghchi, Iran's Foreign Minister, 11 October 2026 · Jamaran News
Recorded
- The USD 270bn estimate came with no breakdown.
- Damage to oil and gas facilities, petrochemical plants, power plants and desalination plants was still being assessed on 14 April 2026.
- Araghchi named no sums when calling for responsibility and compensation.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Government of Iran (2026-04-14): Said damage is about USD 270bn, an early estimate, and that compensation would be raised in talks with the US and mediators. · Al Jazeera
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
- Disputed What UNEP said about contamination from the Tehran oil fires
Money
- None on record Environmental damage — No environmental sub-total has been published.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Record
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the USD 270bn estimate came with no breakdown, and no environmental sub-total has been published.
- Unclear Unclear: the UNEP text relayed by Human Rights Watch refers to smoke being inhaled; Araghchi's statement says UNEP confirmed that compounds could contaminate soil, water and the food chain.
- None on record None on record: a response from the five regional countries named by Iran's UN envoy.
- None on record None on record: payment of reparations by any party, a claims body, or an environmental damage assessment of Iran by a UN body.
- None on record None on record: legal proceedings and insurance.
Did the harm stop?
None on record.
Who paid?
None on record. No reparations have been paid by any party.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Iran says $270bn war loss must be compensated, as fresh talks with US loomAl Jazeera · 2026-04-15
- Iran FM calls for international accountability over wartime environmental destructionJamaran News · 2026-10-12
Communities and civil society
- Iran: Israel's oil depot strikes endanger environment, healthHuman Rights Watch · 2026-04-14
Connected cases
- Strikes on Tehran fuel depots, March 2026: smoke, black rain and Iran's "ecocide" claim Iran · 2025–2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Characterised the attack as ecocide; wrote to the UN
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Statement of 13 March 2026 on inhaled smoke
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: Satellite record and letters to both governments
- Desalination plants hit in the 2026 war: Qeshm Island and Bahrain Iran · 2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Foreign minister's statement on Qeshm
- Strikes on Iranian nuclear sites, 2025 and 2026: IAEA statements on contamination and the Bushehr reactor Iran · 2025–2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr
- Strikes on Iranian oil and gas facilities, June 2025 and March 2026, and damage at Qatar's Ras Laffan Iran · 2025–2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts
- Register of Damage for Ukraine, the Claims Commission convention and the money meant to pay claims Ukraine · 2024–2026 Related matter
- Ukraine’s official count of war damage to the environment Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Persian Wildlife Heritage Foundation conservationists: arrests, a death in custody and prison sentences, 2018–2024 Iran · 2018–2024
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Employer of Niloufar Bayani as a consultant; called for clemency
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: Documented the verdicts and sentences
- Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics: environmental pledges and the Mzymta valley Russia · 2007–2018
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Expert missions, declaration of commitments, advisory role
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: Reported on detention of EWNC activists
- Artisanal gold in Mali: mercury use and its money (Minamata National Action Plan) Mali · 2018–2020
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Executing agency (UN Environment)
- Boké bauxite mining and the CBG expansion Guinea · 1974–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: Researcher and reporter
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: Author of the 2024 report
- Caspian sturgeon and caviar: trade suspensions, fishing bans and the move to farmed caviar Caspian Sea (Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Iran) · 1998–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Took part in the 2001 Geneva meeting; spokesman quoted
- Chepang man dies in army custody after Chitwan park detention; homes reportedly burned Nepal · 2020
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: Reported the case
- Darvaza gas crater: orders to extinguish the fire, wells drilled, methane measured Turkmenistan · 1971–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: International Methane Emissions Observatory, co-affiliation of the preprint authors
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Rapid Environmental Assessment and sediment assessment
- DuPont CFC phase-out and the ozone treaty United States · 1974–2019
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Hosts the Montreal Protocol ozone secretariat
- Electricity and diesel for groundwater pumping in Iran: subsidies and payments Iran · 2014–2024
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding
- Gaza reconstruction and the Board of Peace's first contract Palestine (Gaza Strip) · 2024–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Estimated rubble clearance time and cost
- Half-Earth and 30x30 advocacy funding (Wyss Campaign for Nature) Global · 2016–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Co-author of the Protected Planet Report 2024
- Hamoun wetlands, Helmand water and the EU/UNDP restoration project Iran · 1973–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Party to the 1973 Helmand treaty
- Hoor al-Azim wetland, oil-field development and dikes in Khuzestan Iran · 2007–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Government of Iran
- Hyrcanian forests logging moratorium: announced budgets, partial allocation and the 2025 Elit fire Iran · 2015–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Enacted the ban and set the budgets
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: published the 2024 report on the voluntary carbon market
- Iran–Iraq war (1980–88): environmental damage recorded by the UN expert team in 1991 and Iran's damage estimate Iran · 1980–1991
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Source of the damage figures; later reparations demands
- Iran's Clean Air Law and urban air pollution in Tehran and Ahvaz Iran · 2017–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Budget allocations for the law
- Iran's Groundwater Restoration and Balancing Plan: unlicensed wells, sealing, meters and budgets Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Government; plan and budget bills
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Author of the 2011 Ogoniland assessment
- Kerch Strait storm, November 2007: Volgoneft 139 fuel-oil spill and sulphur-ship sinkings Russia · 2007–2018
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Post-disaster needs assessment with the European Commission
- Lake Urmia decline and the Urmia Lake Restoration Program Iran · 1995–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Funded the programme
- Land subsidence on the Tehran plain and across Iran Iran · 1968–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Government; ministries and the Cartographic Center report subsidence data
- Landmines and explosive remnants of the Iran–Iraq war in Iran's western provinces Iran · 1980–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Runs the state demining programme
- Marange diamonds and the Kimberley Process (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2008–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: NGO that reported the killings
- Mazut burning in Iranian power plants, 2020–2025 Iran · 2020–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Presidency; decisions on mazut use
- Methane super-emitters in Turkmenistan's oil and gas fields Turkmenistan · 2017–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: MARS alerts; confirmed 8 stopped leaks
- Mongolia's 2009 ban on mining at river headwaters and in forests: licence cancellations, compensation duty, 2015 amendment and artisanal gold-mining programmes Mongolia · 2009–2025
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: planetGOLD Mongolia
- Net Zero Banking Alliance exits and closure International · 2023–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: UN body whose statement on the 2023 insurer exits was reported
- Net-Zero Insurance Alliance collapse and insurers’ fossil underwriting Global · 2021–2025
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Convener of NZIA
- Ngorongoro and Loliondo relocations Tanzania · 1992–2026
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: NGO; reported services cut
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal
- Persian Gulf and Oman Sea desalinated water transfer to Kerman, Yazd and Isfahan Iran · 2016–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements
- Plans to move Iran's capital to the Makran coast, 2024–2025 Iran · 2024–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Proposed the relocation; president, vice president, spokeswoman and foreign minister made statements
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Original owner of the tree campaign
- Plastic waste imports into Türkiye (Adana) Türkiye · 2016–2026
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: Reported health impacts on recycling workers and residents (2022)
- Rafsanjan pistachio plain: aquifer decline, subsidence and export revenue Iran · 1960–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Government; ministries cited on pistachio exports and water markets
- South Pars and Assaluyeh: sulphur dioxide emissions and the pollution levy Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Cabinet approved the improvement document and the 2020 decision
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: Author of the 2024 report
- UK packaging recycling notes (PRN) system and fraud cases United Kingdom · 2009–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: NGO; interviewed workers in Turkey
- UN Compensation Commission "F4" environmental claims by Iran for the 1990–91 Gulf War Iran · 1990–2013
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Claimant
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Convenes the negotiations; issued the announcement of the new chair
- UNEP estimate: about 2,000 tons of depleted uranium used in Iraq Iraq · date not stated
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Estimated the quantity of uranium used (about 2,000 tons)
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: Human rights investigator
- Uzbek cotton clusters took farmers' land and set quotas, rights group reports Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Source of the quoted UNEP statement; there: Published the 2026 report
- Wadi El Ku catchment project, North Darfur Sudan · 2013–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Statement of 13 March 2026 on smoke from burning oil; there: Implementer
- Zagros oak forests: the UNDP/GEF Central Zagros project, its evaluation and the fires of 2024–2026 Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Allocated 13,193,669 to the project
- Zayandeh Rud and the Gavkhouni wetland: water transfers and farmers' protests in Isfahan Iran · 1953–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands; there: Promised farmers' aid and compensation