Register of Damage for Ukraine, the Claims Commission convention and the money meant to pay claims
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The Council of Europe’s Register of Damage for Ukraine opened all 43 claim categories, including B3.1 Environmental damage, on 30 September 2026. The Convention for an International Claims Commission was not in force, with 10 of 25 ratifications reported, and no compensation fund existed.
More than 65,000 recorded; none awarded or paid, because no Claims Commission or compensation fund exists. No count of B3.1 environmental claims has been published.
Status As of 19 October 2026: all 43 Register categories open; the Claims Commission convention not in force (10 of 25 ratifications reported); no compensation fund.
What happened
The Register of Damage for Ukraine, set up under the Council of Europe, records claims for damage caused by Russia’s aggression; the International Claims Commission is meant to decide awards and a compensation fund is meant to pay them. Claim submission began on 2 April 2024. On 30 September 2026 the Register announced that it had opened all claims categories: 21 for individuals, 11 for legal entities and 11 for the State of Ukraine. The last three opened were B1.6, B3.1 (Environmental damage) and B3.2. The release says the categories “allow for documenting damage caused to the natural environment”, and that B3.1 may be used by the State of Ukraine, its central, regional and local authorities, and state and municipal institutions and organisations. About 195,000 claims had been received and more than 65,000 recorded across all categories by 30 September 2026; no count of environmental (B3.1) claims was published.
The Convention establishing the International Claims Commission for Ukraine was opened for signature on 16 December 2025 in The Hague at a diplomatic conference held by the Council of Europe and the Netherlands. Entry into force requires at least 25 ratifications and budget contributions sufficient to finance the Commission sustainably, according to Estonia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Signatory and ratification counts differ by source and date: 34 countries and the EU at signing (Estonia, 11 March 2026); 32 states and 8 ratifications (Moldova’s Ministry of Justice, 23 July 2026); 40 signatory states and the EU with 10 ratifications and 25 needed (Interfax-Ukraine, 30 September 2026). The Riigikogu of Estonia ratified on 11 March 2026 with 68 votes in favour; Moldova’s Parliament held its second reading on 23 July 2026; Canada signed on 11 May 2026, the first non-member state to do so.
No compensation fund has been established. The Register said the next step was to “complete the establishment of the Claims Commission and the Compensation Fund”. Estonia’s Foreign Minister Margus Tsahkna called finding workable payment solutions “the next and at the same time the most difficult step”; the page names no funding source for awards.
Money tied to immobilised Russian central bank assets sits on the asset side. The G7’s Extraordinary Revenue Acceleration (ERA) loans of 25 October 2024 provide about USD 50 billion (EUR 45 billion) to Ukraine, to be repaid from extraordinary revenues of the immobilised assets, which the G7 said “will remain immobilized until Russia ends its aggression and pays for the damage it has caused to Ukraine”; disbursement runs from 1 December 2024 to 31 December 2027. On 31 March 2026 the EU delivered EUR 1.4 billion of windfall revenues (fourth transfer, revenues of the second half of 2025): 95% through the Ukraine Loan Cooperation Mechanism and 5% through the European Peace Facility. At the 18–19 December 2025 European Council, leaders agreed a EUR 90 billion interest-free loan for 2026–2027 financed by EU borrowing (24 member states; the Czech Republic, Hungary and Slovakia not taking part); a “reparations loan” using the immobilised assets was not agreed, and Belgium was its most vocal opponent. Kyiv Independent reported that Ukraine would repay the loan only once Russia paid reparations.
On 29 January 2025 the Prosecutor General of the Russian Federation declared the Register an “undesirable” organisation and said its activity aimed at violating Russia’s territorial integrity and “undermining its economic foundations”, according to Mediazona, citing the Prosecutor General’s website and Telegram channel.
- 2024Claim submission starts (2 Apr)
- 2024G7 announces ERA loans of about USD 50 billion repaid from revenues of immobilised Russian assets (25 Oct)
- 2025Russian Prosecutor General declares the Register “undesirable” (29 Jan)
- 2025Convention for the International Claims Commission opened for signature in The Hague (16 Dec); European Council agrees EUR 90 billion loan (18–19 Dec)
- 2026Estonia ratifies the Convention (11 Mar)
- 2026EU delivers EUR 1.4 billion of windfall revenues to Ukraine (31 Mar)
- 2026Canada signs the Convention (11 May); Moldova’s Parliament holds second reading (23 Jul)
- 2026Register opens all 43 claim categories, including B3.1 Environmental damage (30 Sep)
What was said
“allow for documenting damage caused to the natural environment”
“complete the establishment of the Claims Commission and the Compensation Fund”
“the next and at the same time the most difficult step”
“will remain immobilized until Russia ends its aggression and pays for the damage it has caused to Ukraine”
“the interest on the cash balances does not belong to Russia”
“an international administrative body established under the auspices of the Council of Europe”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
34 countries and the EU at signing.
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia32 states and 8 ratifications.
Ministry of Justice of Moldova40 signatory states and the EU, 10 ratifications, 25 needed.
Interfax-UkraineThe Register’s activity aims at violating Russia’s territorial integrity and “undermining its economic foundations” (translated, as reported by Mediazona).
MediazonaThe categories allow for documenting damage caused to the natural environment and every type of damage within the Register’s mandate.
Register of Damage for Ukraine (Council of Europe)The Register is the first stage; the Claims Commission will decide awards.
Interfax-UkraineFeared liability of a third of its GDP if Russia sued to recover the assets; the most vocal opponent of the reparations loan.
Kyiv IndependentAgreed a EUR 90 billion interest-free loan financed by EU borrowing; the reparations loan was not agreed.
Kyiv IndependentHow it looked
Shown
- The Register presented the opening of all 43 categories as meaning that every type of damage within its mandate could now be documented.Register of Damage for Ukraine (30 September 2026) · Register of Damage for Ukraine (Council of Europe)
- The Commission presented the EUR 1.4 billion transfer as revenue from immobilised Russian assets to be used to support Ukraine.European Commission (1 April 2026) · European Commission (Representation in Luxembourg)
Recorded
- Register categories: 21 for individuals, 11 for legal entities and 11 for the State of Ukraine; the final three opened on 30 September 2026 were B1.6, B3.1 (Environmental damage) and B3.2. Interfax-Ukraine names the State categories as “Other Property Losses”, “Environmental Damage” and “Theft and/or Misappropriation of Natural Resources”.
- About 195,000 claims received and more than 65,000 recorded, all categories, as of 30 September 2026. No count of B3.1 claims is published.
- Convention: opened for signature 16 December 2025; entry into force needs at least 25 ratifications and sufficient budget contributions; status on 19 October 2026 was not in force, with 10 of 25 ratifications per Interfax-Ukraine (8 per Moldova’s Ministry of Justice on 23 July 2026).
- ERA loans: about USD 50 billion (EUR 45 billion), repaid from extraordinary revenues of immobilised Russian sovereign assets; disbursement 1 December 2024 to 31 December 2027.
- EUR 1.4 billion delivered on 31 March 2026 (95% through the Ukraine Loan Cooperation Mechanism, which helps Ukraine repay the EU macro-financial assistance loan and G7 bilateral loans; 5% through the European Peace Facility).
- European Council, 18–19 December 2025: EUR 90 billion interest-free loan for 2026–2027 financed by EU borrowing; the reparations loan was not agreed; Belgium feared liability of a third of its GDP if Russia sued to recover the assets, according to Kyiv Independent.
- On 29 January 2025 the Prosecutor General of the Russian Federation declared the Register an “undesirable” organisation, according to Mediazona.
- The planned Ukrainian climate claim of more than USD 57 billion is for filing in the Register’s environmental category; no filing is on record (see the related case).
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- russian-prosecutor-general (29 January 2025): Declared the Register an “undesirable” organisation whose activity aims at violating Russia’s territorial integrity and “undermining its economic foundations” (translated). · Mediazona
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Money
- None on record Environmental claims filed in category B3.1 — No count or value of B3.1 claims has been published.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Accounts
Record
- None on record None on record: a published count or value of claims in category B3.1 (Environmental damage).
- None on record None on record: a funding source for awards from the compensation fund, which has not been established; neither the Register nor Estonia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs names one.
- Disputed Figures differ: for the Convention, Estonia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs gives 34 countries and the EU at signing (11 March 2026), Moldova’s Ministry of Justice gives 32 states and 8 ratifications (23 July 2026), and Interfax-Ukraine gives 40 signatory states and the EU with 10 ratifications (30 September 2026).
- None on record None on record: a Russian government statement on the Claims Commission convention.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the amounts of participant contributions that finance the Register and the Commission.
Did the harm stop?
None on record.
Who paid?
No claim has been awarded or paid. The ERA loans and the EUR 1.4 billion transfer are serviced from revenues of immobilised Russian assets; the EUR 90 billion EU loan is financed by EU borrowing.
Sources
Government and regulators
- Riigikogu ratifies convention establishing the International Claims Commission for UkraineMinistry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia · 2026-03-11
- Convention that will allow the establishment of the International Claims Commission for Ukraine, ratifiedMinistry of Justice of Moldova · 2026-07-23
- G7 Finance Ministers’ Statement on Extraordinary Revenue Acceleration (ERA) Loan InitiativeDepartment of Finance Canada · 2024-10-25
- EU to deliver €1.4 billion in revenue from immobilised Russian assets to be used for support to UkraineEuropean Commission (Representation in Luxembourg) · 2026-04-01
Press and investigations
- Register of Damage opens all 43 categoriesInterfax-Ukraine · 2026-09-30
- EU leaders agree on $105 billion loan to secure Ukraine’s financing through 2027Kyiv Independent · 2025-12-19
Researchers
- Climate Damage Caused by Russia’s War in Ukraine, 24 February 2022 – 23 February 2026Initiative on GHG Accounting of War (IGGAW) · 2026-02
International bodies
- Register of Damage for Ukraine has opened all claims categories for submissionRegister of Damage for Ukraine (Council of Europe) · 2026-09-30
- Register of Damage for Ukraine: newsRegister of Damage for Ukraine (Council of Europe) · 2026
Connected cases
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026 Related matter
- Register of Damage for Ukraine (Council of Europe) (International organisation) — here: Records claims, including environmental claims; there: Opened the environmental-damage claim category on 30 September 2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Claimant State; B3.1 filer; there: Co-author of the PDNA and RDNA reports; prosecuting authorities; claimant of environmental damage
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Co-author of RDNA3 and RDNA4; statement at the OSCE
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Account of responsibility; named in the claims and suspicion notices
- War-related greenhouse-gas emissions and Ukraine’s planned climate damage claim Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Register of Damage for Ukraine (Council of Europe) (International organisation) — here: Records claims, including environmental claims; there: Register with the environmental claims category
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Claimant State; B3.1 filer; there: Intended claimant
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: No response on record
- Ukraine’s criminal proceedings over wartime environmental harm Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Claimant State; B3.1 filer; there: Prosecuting state
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: No response on record
- Ukraine's mine contamination, the farmland demining programme and mine-action money Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Claimant State; B3.1 filer; there: Sets contamination figures; runs the demining strategy
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Mobilised over EUR 360 million for demining since 2022 (EEAS)
- Ukraine’s official count of war damage to the environment Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Claimant State; B3.1 filer; there: Publisher of the damage figures
- Gulf War compensation (UNCC) and Kuwait oil-damage remediation Kuwait · 1991–2025 Related matter
- Iran's 2026 war-damage estimate of about USD 270bn and its calls for compensation and environmental accountability Iran · 2026 Related matter
- Kerch Strait storm, November 2007: Volgoneft 139 fuel-oil spill and sulphur-ship sinkings Russia · 2007–2018
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Claimant State; B3.1 filer; there: Affected state; damage estimate over USD 1 billion
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Post-disaster needs assessment with UNEP
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Government claimants; military clean-up reported
- Ukraine's ban on raw-log exports and the EU–Ukraine Association Agreement arbitration, 2015–2026 Ukraine · 2015–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Claimant State; B3.1 filer; there: Imposed the export ban and the zero quotas; respondent
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Complainant in the arbitration
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Brought the dispute and published the memo
- Drone strike on the Chornobyl New Safe Confinement, 14 February 2025, and the repair funding Ukraine · 2025–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Claimant State; B3.1 filer; there: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure
- EU Deforestation Regulation delays and trade pressure European Union · 2022
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Regulator
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Proposer of simplification review
- Khimki forest and the M11 Moscow–St Petersburg toll motorway (km 15–58) Russia · 2007–2025
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Letter to an MEP on EIB and EBRD financing conditions
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Land-transfer order; Medvedev and Ivanov statements
- Mauritania fishmeal industry, sardinella stocks and foreign fishing agreements Mauritania · 2008–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Party to the Sustainable Fisheries Partnership Agreement and protocol
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Negotiator and evaluator of the SFPA; publishes the protocol terms
- Russian Joint Implementation credits under the Kyoto Protocol, 2009–2012 Russia · 2009–2015
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Regulation 550/2011; EU ETS credit data
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Approved projects through the Designated Focal Point
- Sakhalin-2 and Sakhalin-1 in 2022: transfer decrees, the ecological-audit deduction clause and write-downs Russia · 2022–2026
- Prosecutor General of Russia (Government) — here: Declared the Register “undesirable”; there: Claimant in the Moscow case against eight Shell entities
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Decree No. 416 and the orders on the stake sale
- Sakhalin-2: 2006 approval revocation, Gazprom stake purchase, 2009 damage-claim settlement and lender exits Russia · 2005–2009
- Prosecutor General of Russia (Government) — here: Declared the Register “undesirable”; there: Protest of the First Deputy Prosecutor General led to the order
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: President Putin present at the December 2006 protocol
- Siberian wildfire season of 2019: Krasnoyarsk, Irkutsk and Yakutia Russia · 2019
- Prosecutor General of Russia (Government) — here: Declared the Register “undesirable”; there: Statements on distorted fire statistics and apparent arson (6 August 2019)
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Prime Minister ordered arson checks (1 August 2019)
- Ukraine's Joint Implementation credits and Kyoto unit sales to Japan and Spain, 2008–2021 Ukraine · 2008–2021
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Claimant State; B3.1 filer; there: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Set rules on use of international credits
- 62% of UK paraquat exports since 2015 went to poorer countries, analysis finds United Kingdom · 2015–2024
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Institution whose paraquat approval the EU court annulled
- AdBlue cartel (Daimler, BMW, VW) Germany · 2009–2014
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Competition authority that issued the decision
- African Parks Odzala-Kokoua abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2010–2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Funder (€6m for 2018–2023; 46% of the park budget in 2020)
- Arctic Sunrise seizure at the Prirazlomnaya platform: ITLOS bond, PCA arbitration, 2019 settlement and ECtHR judgment Russia · 2012–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Respondent; did not appear before ITLOS or the PCA tribunal; settled in 2019
- Baikal Natural Territory: expertise exemptions and clear-cutting rules Russia · 2020–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Sets the list of objects under Article 25.1(3); Deputy Prime Minister statements
- Baikal omul industrial fishing ban (from 2017) Russia · 2016–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Funded releases, hatchery and research vessel
- Baikalsk Pulp and Paper Mill: closure and waste clean-up Russia · 1966–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Decree No. 1; funded wages and clean-up; named contractors
- Baikonur launch accidents 1999–2007: Kazakh claims and the compensation agreed Kazakhstan · 1999–2007
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Respondent in the intergovernmental talks
- Baikonur lease, rocket-stage drop zones and fuel monitoring; Proton phase-out and Baiterek Kazakhstan · 1994–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year
- Banc d'Arguin National Park, the BACoMaB trust fund and fishing pressure Mauritania · 2002–2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Fisheries-agreement sectoral support, including EUR 1 million a year for the PNBA in 2008–2012
- Bottom trawling in European marine protected areas European Union · 2017–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Proposed the non-binding phase-out target
- Bou Craa phosphate mine and Morocco green hydrogen in Western Sahara Western Sahara (controlled in large part by Morocco) · 1975–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Negotiated the EU-Morocco arrangements
- Burkina Faso Forest Investment Program project: 3.78 million tCO2eq in emission reductions estimated with an ex-ante tool Burkina Faso · 2014–2021
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: EU Trust Fund grant of EUR 7.30 million, amended to EUR 6.5 million
- Cosmos 1408 anti-satellite test (Russia) Russia · 2021
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Conducted the test
- Degelen Mountain plutonium security operation (United States–Kazakhstan–Russia) Kazakhstan · 1996–2012
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure
- End-of-life vehicle recycling cartel (EU carmakers, ACEA) European Union · 2002–2017
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Regulator
- ESPO oil pipeline rerouted away from the Baikal shore (2006) Russia · 2005–2008
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: President ordered the reroute; Prime Minister approved the route
- EU banned-pesticide exports European Union · 2018–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Made the 2020 pledge; reported to have withdrawn it in 2026
- EU bans offset-based neutrality claims from 27 September 2026 European Union · 2024–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: adopted the directive
- EU bans three neonicotinoid pesticides outdoors in 2018; Turkey follows in part European Union · 2018
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: adopted the outdoor ban
- EU Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism burden on Turkish exporters Turkey · 2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Regulator of CBAM
- EU court rejects Austria's challenge to green label for gas and nuclear European Union · 2022–2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: set the taxonomy rules
- EU mirror measure on antimicrobials and Brazil beef exclusion Brazil · 2019–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Regulator that adopted the measure and decided the list
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Adopted the narrowed directive and postponed the EUDR
- EU seal-product ban's Inuit exemption found ineffective Canada · 2014
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Seal-product ban with an Inuit exemption
- EU taxonomy hydropower exemption and California large hydro exclusion European Union / United States · 2002–2021
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Author of the taxonomy rule
- FSC suspension of Russia and Belarus and birch plywood sanctions cases in the EU Russia · 2022–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Council Regulation (EU) 2022/576 wood import ban
- Germany agreed €2.6bn and €1.75bn coal exit payments to RWE and LEAG Germany · 2019–2023
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: approved the RWE payment
- Great Green Wall: USD 19bn tracked, USD 2.5bn disbursed by March 2023, and a restored area reported at between 1.66 and almost 18 million hectares Sahel (11 countries) · 2007–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Donor; land restoration pillar USD 208 million
- Hamoun wetlands, Helmand water and the EU/UNDP restoration project Iran · 1973–2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Funder of the €10 million restoration project
- Hardwood logging in the Russian Far East and exports to China Russia · 2001–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Officials' statements 2020 and 2023
- HFC-23 and SF6 Joint Implementation projects at KCKK Polymer and HaloPolymer Perm Russia · 2008–2015
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013
- Jadar lithium project Serbia · 2022–2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Defendant in the strategic-status case (European Commission)
- Kenyan forest guards shoot dead Sengwer herder Robert Kirotich during evictions Kenya · 2018–2024
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: donor; suspended support for the WaTER programme
- Kenyan water-tower forest evictions followed the 2018 shooting of a Sengwer herder Kenya · 2016–2024
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: funder of the WaTER programme
- Lliuya v RWE Peru · 2025
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Approved the German compensation payment to RWE (13 December 2023)
- Messok Dja ecoguard abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2008–2020
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Funder; suspended about €1 million in 2020
- Methane super-emitters in Turkmenistan's oil and gas fields Turkmenistan · 2017–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Methane import rules apply to gas contracts from 2027
- Morocco says it cut cadmium in phosphate fertilisers; EU cannot verify the claim Morocco · 2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: acknowledges it cannot verify Morocco's claim
- Nonylphenol ethoxylates: Swiss ban and EU restriction Switzerland · 1984–2014
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Adopted Directive 2003/53/EC
- Norilsk diesel spill Russia · 2020–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Declared federal emergency; federal budget received the award
- Nornickel Sulphur Programme: SO2 targets, spending and measured emissions at Norilsk and Kola Russia · 2015–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Resolution No. 353 of 12 March 2022; emissions-quota experiment postponed
- Plastic waste imports into Türkiye (Adana) Türkiye · 2016–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Assessed Türkiye under Article 45(5) of the Waste Shipment Regulation
- Posidonia oceanica meadows (Balearics, Mediterranean) Spain · 2018–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Habitats Directive: Posidonia beds are a priority habitat
- Prestige Spain · 2002–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Provided more than €275m in aid
- Proton-M crash at Baikonur, 2 July 2013: Kazakhstan’s KZT 13.69bn damage claim against Russia Kazakhstan · 2013–2016
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Russian side in the compensation talks
- Russia declares WWF and Greenpeace 'undesirable' organisations Russia · 2023
- Prosecutor General of Russia (Government) — here: Declared the Register “undesirable”; there: Issued the designations
- Russia's 1 January 2022 ban on exports of unprocessed softwood and valuable hardwood logs Russia · 2020–2025
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Issued the instruction, duties and quotas
- Russia's forest-fire control zones and federal fire-service funding Russia · 2015–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Reserve-fund Order No. 2740-r (2026); Decree No. 382 issued by the President
- Russia's national carbon-unit system under Federal Law 296-FZ Russia · 2021–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Adopted Decree No. 234 of 2026
- Russian forest-climate projects: RUSAL fire-protection units and Sakhalin larch planting Russia · 2019–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Federal Law 492-FZ and reserve-account rules
- Sakhalin carbon-neutrality experiment under Federal Law 34-FZ Russia · 2022–2028
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Set the payment rate; federal law 34-FZ
- Sary-Shagan test range lease to Russia: rent, a 1992–1996 compensation clause and an ecological commission Kazakhstan · 1992–2016
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Lessee; treaty obligations on rent, compensation and ecological consequences
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Funder of the WaTER programme
- Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics: environmental pledges and the Mzymta valley Russia · 2007–2018
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Host government; Putin and Kozak statements
- Soviet whaling catches and the reports to the IWC, 1948–1979 Russia · 1948–1994
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Supplied original catch data to the IWC Scientific Committee in 1994
- Spain: environmental liability financial guarantee (EU Directive Art. 14) Spain · 2004
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Evaluated the directive and reported on mandatory financial security
- Sudan gum arabic belt: wartime production losses and EU and GCF funding Sudan · 2013–2028
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Funder of the gum arabic programme
- Termit and Tin Toumma National Nature Reserve: 2019 boundary change around CNPC oil blocks Niger · 2012–2023
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Funds reserve management (PAPBIO programme)
- Trade rules curb green industrial policy; WTO rules against Indonesia nickel ban Global · 2013–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Complainant in the Indonesia nickel case; respondent in the palm oil and CBAM disputes
- Tukolon reserve sanitary logging conviction in Irkutsk Oblast Russia · 2018–2024
- Prosecutor General of Russia (Government) — here: Declared the Register “undesirable”; there: Statements on fires and illegal logging, 2019
- Used cooking oil and POME biofuel certification: fraud allegations (ISCC, EU/UK) European Union · 2016–2025
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Reported the EUR 1.4 billion transfer; there: Regulator; anti-dumping duties; recognition of ISCC
- Usinsk pipeline spill (Komi, 1994) and the World Bank and EBRD emergency loans Russia · 1994–2004
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Owner of immobilised central bank assets; there: Borrower of both loans; on-lent them to Komineft
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Trade partner (trade preference)
- Wadi El Ku catchment project, North Darfur Sudan · 2013–2026
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Funder, EUR 6.45 million for phase 1
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Funder of the WaTER programme
- WTO panel backs EU on palm biofuel rules in Malaysia case Global · 2025
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Respondent; set the renewable-status rules
- WTO panel found Indonesia's raw nickel export ban breached rules Indonesia · 2020–2022
- European Union (International organisation) — here: Delivered windfall revenues; EUR 90 billion loan; there: Brought the complaint at the WTO
- Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant under Russian control, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Claimant State; B3.1 filer; there: Disputes Russian ownership; Prosecutor General opened proceedings