Cases / Law, regulation and treaties · France · date not stated
Nuclear test exposure at Moruroa reported at about ten times official estimate
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Investigative reporting by Disclose and Princeton said the number of people exposed to the Moruroa nuclear tests in French Polynesia was about ten times the official estimate. The sources reviewed do not give the test years or any compensation outcome.
What?
People exposed to the Moruroa nuclear tests in French Polynesia were reported at about ten times the official estimate. Disclose / Princeton
Where?
Moruroa, French Polynesia
When?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
- People exposed to the Moruroa nuclear tests — Exposure reported at about ten times the official estimate Disclose / Princeton
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Nuclear weapons tests at Moruroa; exposure figure from Disclose and Princeton reporting Disclose / Princeton
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Disclose and Princeton reported that people exposed to the Moruroa nuclear tests were about ten times the official estimate.
No other exposure estimate for the Moruroa tests is given in the sources reviewed.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not give the test years, the official estimate itself, or the number of people exposed.
- None on record Who gained from the tests is not named in the sources reviewed.
- None on record A link in the source list for this entry concerns bushfires and is not used.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- Exposed people are about ten times the official estimateDisclose / Princeton ·
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- Lafarge La Malle sabotage and Soulèvements de la Terre dissolution France · 2022–2023
- French government (Government) — here: Conducted the Moruroa nuclear tests; there: Issued the dissolution decree