WWF-funded ranger units accused of torture and killings in Asia and Africa
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
BuzzFeed News reported in March 2019 allegations of torture and deaths involving ranger units that WWF funded or equipped. A panel commissioned by WWF found no evidence that WWF directed the abuses, but said serious allegations reached senior management.
- WWF — Received more than 150 million US dollars from the US government for this work since 2004, per the panel report
- Wildlife Conservation Society — Received more than 19 million US dollars since 2010 for this work, per the panel report; in April 2022 took over management of Kahuzi-Biega park
- Batwa forest people, Kahuzi-Biega, DR Congo — More than 6,000 Batwa were removed in the 1975 expansion without food, support, compensation or resettlement, per a Minority Rights Group report
- Villagers near parks in six countries — Reportedly beaten, sexually assaulted or killed by WWF-funded or equipped rangers, per BuzzFeed News (2019) BuzzFeed News
- Chepang families, Chitwan, Nepal — Homes reportedly burned and demolished in 2020, two days after a 24-year-old man died six days after military detention
- A witness in a case over burned Karen homes, Kaeng Krachan, Thailand — Disappeared in 2014; remains reportedly found in 2019 in a barrel in a dam reservoir
What happened
BuzzFeed News reported in March 2019 allegations of torture, sexual assault and killings by ranger units that WWF funded or equipped in six countries.
In Chitwan, Nepal, a farmer died in park custody in 2006 and an autopsy found seven broken ribs. Three park staff accused of murder had their case dropped in 2007, and one of the accused was later hired by WWF Nepal, according to BuzzFeed News.
A WWF-commissioned panel chaired by former UN human rights chief Navi Pillay found in November 2020 no evidence that WWF directed rangers to abuse people. It said staff had received reliable reports from 2008 and that serious allegations reached senior management in 2014 to 2018.
A Minority Rights Group report of April 2022 said rangers and the army killed at least 20 Batwa at Kahuzi-Biega park in DR Congo in operations in 2019 and 2021.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2020Outcome not on recordMilitary court ruling on ecoguards at Kahuzi-Biega and SalongaBukavu military court · Criminal · Not stated in the sources reviewed → 10 ecoguards
The court convicted 10 ecoguards from Kahuzi-Biega and Salonga parks of murder, rape and torture, per the sources reviewed.
- 2021-08Claimant wonConstitutional Court ruling on Batwa land at Bwindi and MgahingaConstitutional Court of Uganda · Civil · Batwa claimants (not named in the sources reviewed) → Not stated in the sources reviewed
A unanimous five-judge bench found the Batwa were left landless without adequate compensation when the parks were created in 1991, and left the remedy to the High Court.
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Court
- Unclear Military court ruling on ecoguards at Kahuzi-Biega and Salonga: outcome not on record.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: WWF said it accepted the panel's recommendations.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a 2017 allegation that WWF-paid rangers in Lobéké, Cameroon, tortured an 11-year-old child.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not give the number of people affected in the BuzzFeed investigation or the outcome of most cases.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Local people pay the cost of conservationBuzzFeed News · 2019-03-04
Connected cases
- Kahuzi-Biega National Park: Batwa evictions and killings DR Congo · 1975–2024
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: Took over management of Kahuzi-Biega park in April 2022; there: Funder, then park manager from April 2022
- KfW (Bank) — here: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report; there: Funder (since 2008)
- USAID (Government) — here: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report; there: Funder
- ICCN (DR Congo park agency) (Government) — here: Co-managed Salonga with WWF; its inquiry rejected most claims in 2022; there: Congolese parks authority
- Pillay panel finds no proof WWF directed ranger abuses it supported Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2006–2020
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: NGO; funder and partner of the ranger units
- ICCN (DR Congo park agency) (Government) — here: Co-managed Salonga with WWF; its inquiry rejected most claims in 2022; there: park authority; co-manager of Salonga
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Investigation into the Messok Dja park programme (leaked draft); there: UN agency; draft investigation of Messok Dja
- Salonga National Park ranger abuses (DR Congo) DR Congo · 2002–2020
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Co-manager of Salonga National Park (since an August 2015 memorandum of understanding)
- KfW (Bank) — here: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report; there: German development bank; funder of Salonga
- ICCN (DR Congo park agency) (Government) — here: Co-managed Salonga with WWF; its inquiry rejected most claims in 2022; there: Congolese parks authority; co-manager of Salonga
- WWF independent review (Pillay panel) and US funding suspension International · 2019–2020
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Commissioned the independent review; grantee under US review
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: Took over management of Kahuzi-Biega park in April 2022; there: Grantee under US review
- USAID (Government) — here: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report; there: Source of the CARPE funds routed through the US Fish and Wildlife Service
- Messok Dja ecoguard abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2008–2020
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Supported the ecoguards (ETIC/TRIDOM programme); appointed the review panel
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Investigation into the Messok Dja park programme (leaked draft); there: Implementing agency of GEF project 9159; investigator (SECU0009)
- Report says a man died after ecoguard beating in Republic of the Congo park Republic of the Congo · 2017
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: Took over management of Kahuzi-Biega park in April 2022; there: conservation NGO; no response found in the sources reviewed
- USAID (Government) — here: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report; there: funder named in the report
- WWF Nepal Chitwan ranger death (Shikharam Chaudhary) Nepal · 2006–2020
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Conservation NGO; funder and supporter of ranger units
- WWF Nepal (NGO) — here: Hired one of the accused rangers, per BuzzFeed News; there: National WWF office; reported to have lobbied for the charges to be dropped and later hired a charged ranger
- AGRA (Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa) Africa (13 focus countries) · 2006
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Former employer of AGRA's president
- Alter do Chão and Dia do Fogo fire allegations Brazil · 2019–2024
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Named in an allegation of financing fires; the allegation was found false
- Bhutan constitutional forest rule and Bhutan for Life Bhutan · 2008
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Partner in Bhutan for Life
- Costa Rica payments for ecosystem services and forest recovery Costa Rica · 1997
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Investigation into the Messok Dja park programme (leaked draft); there: Nominated the programme for the Earthshot Prize
- Ecopetrol Lizama well blowout (Colombia) Colombia · 2018–2021
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: Took over management of Kahuzi-Biega park in April 2022; there: Conservation organisation listing Ecopetrol among its corporate supporters
- Kaziranga shoot-on-sight killings (India) India · 2013–2017
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Five WWF India employees listed as an expert panel on the 2014 strategy proposal (BuzzFeed News)
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: NGO; sand budget and ten-year stock estimate for the delta
- Nature Conservancy began $10 million partnership with Dow Chemical in 2011 United States · 2007–2021
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: conservation group; relationship with Coca-Cola
- Nepal community forestry Nepal · 2000–2026
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Lead of the Hariyo Ban conservation programme in Nepal
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- USAID (Government) — here: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report; there: Donor to NRT (nearly $20m, 2015–2020; funding ended January 2025)
- Olkaria geothermal projects (Kenya) Kenya · 2013–2017
- KfW (Bank) — here: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report; there: Financier
- Plastic Bank and rePurpose collector schemes Global · 2017–2025
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: NGO; published position on plastic crediting
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Critic of plastic-neutral claims
- Russia declares WWF and Greenpeace 'undesirable' organisations Russia · 2023
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Designated undesirable on 21 June 2023
- TNC chief scientist urged conservation groups to partner with companies United States · 2011–2015
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Coca-Cola partner from 2007 (reported)
- Tobacco groups' diversification into oil, food and shipping United States · 2005–2026
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: Took over management of Kahuzi-Biega park in April 2022; there: Conservation organisation; trustee role documented
- USAID funding for Kenya's Northern Rangelands Trust ended in 2025 Kenya · 2025
- USAID (Government) — here: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report; there: Donor whose funding ended; agency closed 1 July 2025
- Venezuela 2026 twin earthquakes insurance gap Venezuela · 2026
- UN Development Programme (International organisation) — here: Investigation into the Messok Dja park programme (leaked draft); there: Source of the $6.7 billion damage estimate
- WWF president Prince Bernhard resigned in 1976 after a Lockheed commission surfaced Netherlands · 1970–1976
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: charity whose president resigned
- WWF-supported ecoguards in Cameroon and CAR (Lobéké, Dzanga-Sangha) Cameroon · 2008–2020
- WWF (NGO) — here: Funded and equipped the ranger units; commissioned the Pillay panel; there: Trained and paid ecoguards in Lobéké; commissioned the independent panel