Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta)
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Shell's Quest carbon capture facility in Alberta, Canada, was presented as proof that the technology is safe and effective. Global Witness reported that over five years it captured 5 million tonnes of carbon and emitted 7.5 million tonnes of greenhouse gases.
Figures as reported by Global Witness in January 2022; Shell disputes the comparison (see Unknown).
Status As of January 2022 (latest dated report in the sources): Global Witness had published its analysis; no ruling or regulatory finding found.
- Shell — Credits issued at two per tonne stored; more than 200 million dollars of credit revenue according to Greenpeace Canada's calculation.
- Taxpayers (Canada, Alberta) — Bore 93% of project cost including direct subsidies, according to Greenpeace Canada's calculation.
What happened
Quest is a carbon capture and storage (CCS) facility in Alberta, Canada, owned by Shell. CCS separates carbon dioxide from a stack or gas stream, moves it by pipeline and injects it underground.
Shell presented Quest as evidence that CCS is a safe and effective technology, according to Global Witness, which cited the company's own framing of the plant.
In January 2022 Global Witness reported that Quest captured 5 million tonnes of carbon over five years (2015–2020) while the facility emitted 7.5 million tonnes of greenhouse gases in the same period. It put the share of the facility's carbon emissions that was captured at 48%, and at 39% when other greenhouse gases were counted.
Public support took two forms in the sources reviewed: direct funding from the federal and Alberta governments, and an Alberta rule that gave Quest two carbon credits for each tonne of carbon it stored. Greenpeace Canada calculated that half of the credits sold represented reductions that did not occur, that Shell earned more than 200 million dollars from them, and that 93% of the project's cost fell to taxpayers when direct subsidies were included. the sources reviewed identifies these figures as the calculation of a campaign organisation.
- 2015Start of the five-year period covered by the Global Witness comparison (2015–2020)
- 2020End of the five-year period covered by the Global Witness comparison
- 2022Global Witness publishes its analysis of Quest (January)
How it looked
Shown
- Quest as proof that CCS technology is "safe and effective"Shell, as described by Global Witness · Global Witness
Recorded
- Five years of operation: 5 million tonnes of carbon captured; 7.5 million tonnes of greenhouse gases emitted (Global Witness).
- Share of the facility's carbon emissions captured: 48%; 39% counting other greenhouse gases (Global Witness).
- Alberta rule: two carbon credits for each tonne of carbon stored.
- Greenpeace Canada's calculation: half of the credits sold covered reductions that did not occur; more than 200 million dollars in credit revenue to Shell; 93% of project cost borne by the public including direct subsidies.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Shell's response to the Global Witness analysis is reported only through a secondary summary and was not independently verified: Shell was reported to have called the analysis flat wrong and to have said Quest was designed to capture about one third of its production emissions.
- Insufficient Public funding of 865 million Canadian dollars (120 million federal, 745 million from Alberta), reported in 2014 as roughly two thirds of construction and ten years of operation, was not independently verified.
- None on record The Greenpeace Canada figures on credit revenue and the public share of cost are that organisation's own calculation; the underlying document was not available for review.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: Global Witness compares Quest's capture with the 90% capture figure promised for blue hydrogen, which is not the share Quest was designed to capture.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
According to Greenpeace Canada's calculation, most of the cost fell to taxpayers through direct subsidies and the credit rule.
Sources
Communities and civil society
- Shell hydrogen true emissions (Quest comparison)Global Witness · 2022-01
Connected cases
- 45Q lobby coalition's founding director was named to head DOE carbon office United States · 2011–2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison; there: NGO whose 2023 figures are cited
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- Cambodian sand exports to Singapore (Koh Kong, Mekong, Bassac) Cambodia · 2007–2026
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison; there: NGO; 2010 report on the Koh Kong sand trade
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Koç and Sabancı named partners of COP31 climate summit in Antalya Türkiye · 2026
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison; there: Published the participant counts
- Malaysia banned sea-sand exports to Singapore in 2018, reported only in 2019 Singapore · 2018
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison; there: Found Singapore's response inadequate
- Marange diamonds and the Kimberley Process (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2008–2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison; there: NGO that left the Kimberley Process in 2011
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison; there: NGO; 2010 report on Koh Kong sand exports and licences
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Myanmar Kachin heavy rare earth mining and Kok River arsenic Thailand · 2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison; there: NGO; reported on heavy rare earth mining in Myanmar
- Myanmar rare earth mining districts lost 32,720 hectares of tree cover Myanmar · 2025
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison; there: Investigating NGO; reported China's imports from Myanmar
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Northern Lights partner
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Producer funder of the study
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Named credit buyer
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Saweto killings Peru · 2014–2026
- Global Witness (NGO) — here: NGO that published the capture-versus-emissions comparison; there: Reported the 2026 arrests
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Facility owner; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022