Alberta and Ottawa tie new oil pipeline to Pathways carbon capture plan
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
A November 2025 agreement between Alberta and the federal government links a new 1 million barrel-per-day West Coast oil pipeline to Pathways, a planned carbon capture scheme for oil sands. Whether it cuts emissions depends on how much carbon is captured and stored, which the sources reviewed do not measure.
- Oil Sands Alliance members (Canadian Natural, Cenovus, Imperial, Suncor, ConocoPhillips) — Federal tax credit, a 12 percent Alberta grant and carbon contracts for difference for Pathways Canadian Press (CP24)
What happened
According to the Canadian Press, Alberta and the federal government agreed in November 2025 to connect a new 1 million barrel-per-day West Coast oil pipeline to Pathways.
The Canadian Press summarised the deal as 'No Pathways, no pipeline', and reported a target of 16 million tonnes a year by 2035, with a first phase estimated at CAD 16.5 billion in a 2022 estimate.
The same report said oil sands producers receive a federal tax credit, a 12 percent Alberta grant and carbon contracts for difference.
Environmental Defence counted 356 meetings by the Pathways Alliance with the federal government in 2024, out of at least 1,135 meetings by 35 fossil fuel companies and associations.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Imperial Oil, majority-owned by ExxonMobil, is reported to take part in Pathways; this comes from a researcher's memory and was not checked.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a 2022 journalist count of 1,372 oil and gas meetings against 961 for environmental groups.
- None on record The outcome of a 2023 Competition Bureau investigation into Pathways advertising is not known from the sources reviewed.
- Not measured The effect of the plan on emissions is not measured in the sources reviewed; the 16 million tonne figure is a target.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- No Pathways, no pipelineCanadian Press (CP24) · 2026-05-25
Communities and civil society
- New report exposes Big Oil's relentless lobbying in 2024Environmental Defence · 2025-03-04
Connected cases
- Alberta orphan wells and mine liabilities Canada · 2002
- Government of Alberta (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; 12 percent grant; there: Funder of the Site Rehabilitation Program
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: Source of federal funding (2020) and loans
- Alberta orphan wells, closure liabilities and the Redwater ruling Canada · 2002
- Government of Alberta (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; 12 percent grant; there: Funder of the Site Rehabilitation Program
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: Source of federal funding (2020) and loans
- Westmoreland's claim over Alberta coal exit dismissed; company ordered to pay costs Canada · 2024
- Government of Alberta (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; 12 percent grant; there: subject of the coal exit measure
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: respondent
- About 100 tonnes of iron released off Haida Gwaii in 2012 ocean experiment Canada · 2012–2013
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: Environment ministry searched in 2013; no charges recorded
- Canada narrowed federal environmental reviews in 2012 and again in 2025 Canada · 2012–2025
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: Federal government; subject of the 2012 assessment law and Bill C-5
- Canada's Giant Mine arsenic cleanup cost rises to CAD 4.38 billion Canada · 1948–2038
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: Federal government funding the remediation
- Giant Mine cleanup cost in Yellowknife rose to 4.38 billion Canadian dollars Canada · 1999–2022
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: Bears the federal cost of the cleanup
- Lac-Mégantic rail disaster (Quebec) Canada · 2012–2026
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: Contributed C$75 million to the settlement fund
- Québec caribou emergency order and the 17 percent protection target Canada · 2020–2026
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: Began the emergency-order process
- Ruby River seeks $588m-$1bn from Canada over rejected Québec LNG plant Canada · 2021
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: respondent
- Soviet nuclear satellite Cosmos 954 crashes in Canada; USSR pays C$3m in 1981 Canada · 1978–1981
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: Claimant for damage from Cosmos 954
- TC Energy's claim over Keystone XL cancellation dismissed for lack of jurisdiction United States · 2021–2024
- Government of Alberta (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; 12 percent grant; there: committed financing and loan guarantee to the pipeline
- Trans Mountain pipeline insurers (Canada) Canada · 2018–2024
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit; there: Owner since 2018; guarantor of the credit facility