Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Oil, gas and coal operations · Canada · 2024

Westmoreland's claim over Alberta coal exit dismissed; company ordered to pay costs

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 2 none on record · 1 insufficient · 1 not measured See the gaps

Canada won the claim by Westmoreland against Alberta's coal exit, which was dismissed on 17 December 2024 and left the company to pay Canada's costs. A second claim, by Lone Pine against Québec's fracking ban, is reported as dismissed in 2022 but was not verified.

What?
Westmoreland's claim against Canada over Alberta's coal exit was dismissed on 17 December 2024. Global Affairs Canada
Where?
Alberta, Canada Global Affairs Canada
When?
Dismissed on 17 December 2024 Global Affairs Canada
Who?
Gained
  • Government of Canada — costs of US$215,950 and C$1,461,766 ordered against the company Global Affairs Canada
Lost
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Company claim against Canada over the coal exit; dismissed, with costs awarded to Canada. Global Affairs Canada
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Westmoreland brought a claim against Canada over Alberta's coal exit, and it was dismissed on 17 December 2024, according to Global Affairs Canada.

The company was ordered to pay Canada costs of US$215,950 and C$1,461,766.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    1. 2024-12-17Dismissed
      Westmoreland v. Canada (Alberta coal exit)
      Not named in the sources reviewed · investor-state claim · Westmoreland → Canada

      The claim over Alberta's coal exit was dismissed on 17 December 2024, and the company was ordered to pay Canada's costs of US$215,950 and C$1,461,766. Global Affairs Canada

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: Lone Pine's claim against Québec's ban on fracking under the St. Lawrence River was dismissed in 2022; the amount claimed is given as $110 million to $250 million.
    • None on record The sources reviewed do not show whether the cost awards were paid.
    • None on record The sources reviewed do not name the forum or the treaty for the Westmoreland claim.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

    Bonds and banking

    Guarantee
    A commitment by a third party, often a development bank, to pay if the borrower does not.