Cases / Protected area / relocation · Vietnam · 1993–2012
Ho Chi Minh City canal restoration demolished about 7,000 households
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Ho Chi Minh City's Nhieu Loc–Thi Nghe canal restoration demolished about 7,000 households, and tenants received no compensation. The sources reviewed report no ecological results from the canal.
What?
Canal restoration in Ho Chi Minh City demolished about 7,000 households, according to Future Southeast Asia. Future Southeast Asia
Where?
Nhieu Loc–Thi Nghe canal, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Future Southeast Asia
When?
Works ran from 1993 to 2012.
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
- Households along the canal — had their homes demolished Future Southeast Asia
Harmed
- Tenants — received no compensation Future Southeast Asia
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Households were demolished and relocated along the canal. The first phase used a 248 million dollar interest-free World Bank loan. Future Southeast Asia
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Future Southeast Asia reported in August 2014 that about 7,000 households were demolished in the Nhieu Loc–Thi Nghe canal restoration.
The report says the first phase was financed by a 248 million dollar interest-free World Bank loan.
According to the report, tenants received no compensation, and more than a quarter of the households that moved sold their flats within two years.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say who gained from the cleared land.
- None on record No official government or World Bank figure was reviewed for the 7,000 households or the loan.
- None on record The sources reviewed give no number of affected tenants and no amounts paid to owners.
- None on record Reported without a linked source: street vendors and small traders were among those affected.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- The resurrection of Nhieu Loc–Thi NgheFuture Southeast Asia · 2014-08
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- 1991 World Bank memo signed by Lawrence Summers on pollution in Africa Africa (regional) · 1991–1993
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Institution that issued the internal memo
- Cambodia fills Phnom Penh's Boeung Kak lake with sand under 99-year lease Cambodia · 2007–2011
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: lender whose land-titling programme was reviewed
- Costa Rica payments for ecosystem services and forest recovery Costa Rica · 1997
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Results-based carbon payer
- Green Belt Movement and Karura Forest, Kenya Kenya · 1977–2023
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Signed a carbon-credit agreement with the Green Belt Movement
- India's 1975–77 Emergency sterilisation drive drew a $66 million World Bank loan India · 1975–1977
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Lender
- Jamaica catastrophe bonds and the Hurricane Melissa payout Jamaica · 2021–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Issuer and arranger of the catastrophe bonds
- Jamaica's World Bank catastrophe bond did not pay after Hurricane Beryl Jamaica · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Brokered the bond
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Funder of a project in the Badia East area
- Mbeubeuss landfill plan to hire 500 of more than 3,000 waste pickers Senegal · 2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Inspection Panel finding on Boeung Kak land titling; lending freeze 2011
- Mongolia index livestock insurance Mongolia · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Author of the presentation describing the programme
- Nepal community forestry Nepal · 2000–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Funder of carbon payments (Forest Carbon Partnership Facility)
- Olkaria geothermal projects (Kenya) Kenya · 2013–2017
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Financier; its Inspection Panel reviewed the resettlement
- Rabobank co-financed a Brazilian eucalyptus carbon plantation contested by locals Brazil · 2003–2008
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: operator of the carbon fund
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Funder of an earlier forest project (2007)
- Sri Lanka fertiliser ban Sri Lanka · 2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Source of the paddy yield figure
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Lender (USD 800 million, October 2025)
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: issuer of the bond
- World Bank $800m Uzbekistan operation; Tanzania project halted Uzbekistan · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: lender; policy operation and REGROW financier
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Funder of the Kenya project; hosts the Inspection Panel
- World Bank inspection panel registers complaint over Rogun dam financing Tajikistan · 2024–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: financier
- World Bank REGROW project, Ruaha National Park Tanzania · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Financier of the REGROW project
- World Bank US$600m farm loan coincided with a 90% fall in farm support Turkey · 2001–2003
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Lender of the US$600m loan
- World Bank-backed Colombo flood work turned Beddagana wetland into a park Sri Lanka · 2010–2018
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: lender of the first-phase loan; there: Funder whose support backed the programme