Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM)
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
ERM, a consultancy about 60% owned by the private equity firm KKR, prepared the environmental impact assessment for the Mozambique LNG project for Anadarko and Eni. A 2024 Drilled report examined the project manager's later move to Anadarko and TotalEnergies; ERM rejects the conflict-of-interest claim.
The deal valued the company at $2.85 billion (Globe and Mail, May 2021).
Status As of 2024: ERM rejects the conflict-of-interest claim raised in the Drilled report; no ruling or review outcome was found.
- ERM — Authored the assessment for Anadarko and Eni; majority owned by KKR since May 2021. The Globe and Mail
- KKR — Owns about 60% of ERM and held stakes in Anadarko projects. Drilled
What happened
ERM prepared the environmental impact assessment for the Mozambique LNG project for Anadarko and Eni. The project manager who coordinated the assessment later worked as an environmental adviser at Anadarko and then at TotalEnergies. ERM rejects the suggestion that this created a conflict of interest.
In May 2021 the private equity firm KKR bought about 60% of ERM, valuing the company at $2.85 billion. KKR also held stakes in Anadarko projects and has a majority stake in TC Energy's Coastal GasLink pipeline. A civil-society report cited by the Drilled outlet in 2024 said KKR had invested in about 200 fossil-fuel assets with annual emissions of about 93 million tonnes.
- 2014Period dated for the ERM assessment and the project manager's later moves (Drilled, 2014 / 2024)
- 2021KKR buys about 60% of ERM, valuing the company at $2.85 billion (May)
- 2024Drilled publishes its report on ERM, the Mozambique LNG assessment and KKR's fossil assets
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
How it looked
Shown
Recorded
- ERM prepared the Mozambique LNG environmental impact assessment for Anadarko and Eni.
- The ERM project manager who coordinated the assessment later worked as an environmental adviser at Anadarko, then at TotalEnergies.
- KKR owns about 60% of ERM; the May 2021 deal valued the company at $2.85 billion.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- ERM (2024): Rejects the suggestion of a conflict of interest. · Drilled
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Accounts
- Disputed Did the assessment's author have a conflict of interest?
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not state what the Mozambique LNG assessment found about effects on nature.
- Not disclosed The purchase price of KKR's stake in ERM was not disclosed; the reported company value was $2.85 billion.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not show that KKR's ownership changed any specific ERM report.
- Insufficient A trade publication is reported to describe oil and gas as the largest slice of ERM's portfolio, without giving a percentage; this is reported but not independently verified.
- Insufficient MUFG is reported by Zitamar to be a lender to Mozambique LNG; this is reported but not independently verified.
Did the harm stop?
Not applicable: the record concerns the authorship and ownership of the assessment, not a recorded harm.
Who paid?
The sources reviewed do not state who paid ERM for the assessment.
Sources
Press and investigations
- OMERS, AIMCo sell majority stake in Britain's ERM to KKRThe Globe and Mail · 2021-05
Connected cases
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- Eni (Company) — here: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Member (as "Total"); named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Amsterdam votes to ban fossil fuel and meat adverts; Paris court faults TotalEnergies Netherlands · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Defendant; the Paris court found its 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading
- BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status Iraq · 2021–2022
- Eni (Company) — here: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared; there: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- Anadarko Petroleum (Company) — here: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared; later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: 25% well partner; paid BP $4bn; $159.5m civil penalty
- Consultant ERM wrote the Keystone XL environmental impact statement United States · 2013–2024
- ERM (Environmental Resources Management) (Company) — here: Consultancy that prepared the Mozambique LNG environmental impact assessment; there: Consultant that wrote the environmental impact statement
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Claimant against Greenpeace France
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Majority shareholder (62%)
- Eni bought Zambian forest credits as a community received about EUR 50,000 Zambia · 2021–2023
- Eni (Company) — here: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared; there: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests
- Erika oil spill France · 1999–2012
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Total SA: criminal liability upheld and held civilly liable (2012); could not rely on CLC channelling
- EU narrows supply-chain law and delays deforestation rule twice European Union · 2024–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Named in leaked documents on the supply-chain law
- Gabon planned 187 million sovereign carbon credits as TotalEnergies took a timber stake Gabon · 2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Buyer of a 49 per cent stake in CBG
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Italy fined Eni 5 million euros over ads calling Diesel+ green Italy · 2020
- Eni (Company) — here: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared; there: fined over Diesel+ advertising
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Credit buyer
- Kerr-McGee / Anadarko fraudulent transfer settlement United States · 2014–2015
- Anadarko Petroleum (Company) — here: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared; later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Parent of the defendant subsidiaries; paid the settlement
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Eni (Company) — here: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Eni (Company) — here: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared; there: Operator; incident reports record a sabotage share of 89%
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Northern Lights partner
- Offshore wind wake effect disputes (Ørsted, UK and Germany) United Kingdom · 2020–2026
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Lobbied on German tender rules
- Paris court finds TotalEnergies' 2050 carbon-neutral claim misleading France · 2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Company found to have misled consumers
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Eni (Company) — here: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared; there: 1t.org pledger
- Salar de Atacama lithium extraction Chile · 2019–2026
- KKR (Asset manager) — here: Private equity owner of about 60% of ERM; there: Owner of ERM CVS
- The Hague's fossil fuel advertising ban took effect in 2025 after court upheld it Netherlands · 2021
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Defendant in the Paris court ruling on carbon neutrality advertising
- TotalEnergies Batéké acacia carbon project (Congo) Republic of Congo · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Sub-lessee and carbon-credit sponsor of the plantation
- TotalEnergies reportedly abandoned Congo carbon plantation at 12.5% of target Uganda · 2020–2025
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: developer of Tilenga and sponsor of the Batéké plantation
- TotalEnergies v Greenpeace France France · 2022–2024
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Claimant
- TotalEnergies’ Tilenga oil fields in Uganda: biodiversity claims and insurance Uganda · 2021–2022
- TotalEnergies (Company) — here: Later employer of the assessment's project manager; there: Developer of the Tilenga oil fields