Alto Mayo REDD+ project (Peru)
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
A forest-carbon project in Peru's Alto Mayo, run by Conservation International and certified by Verra, supplied credits to Disney and others. A 2023 analysis estimated that it received about ten times the credits it justified and reported home demolitions in the project area in 2021; Conservation International said it was not involved.
Estimate: SourceMaterial analysis, which put the over-crediting at about ten times.
Status As of July 2024: a review commissioned by Conservation International found it not involved in nor responsible for the 2021 demolitions; no court case or penalty was found.
- Disney — About 40% of its offsets in 2012–2020, more than 2 million credits, from the project; 437,000 credits for US$3.5 million in March 2013. SourceMaterial (with The Guardian and Die Zeit)
- Gucci, BHP and Pearl Jam — Named as buyers of project credits. SourceMaterial (with The Guardian and Die Zeit)
- People living in the project area — Homes allegedly demolished between January and May 2021; up to 50 homes alleged. SourceMaterial (with The Guardian and Die Zeit)
What happened
The Alto Mayo REDD+ project in Peru is run by Conservation International (CI) and certified by Verra. Buyers included Disney, Gucci, BHP and the band Pearl Jam. Disney took about 40% of the project's offsets in 2012–2020, more than 2 million credits; in March 2013 it bought 437,000 credits for US$3.5 million.
In an article published on 20 January 2023, SourceMaterial, working with The Guardian and Die Zeit, reported that armed men and police had demolished homes in the project area between January and May 2021, with up to 50 homes alleged. It also estimated that the project had received about ten times too many credits: 7.5 million issued against about 720,000 justified. the sources reviewed give that Peru's protected-areas agency, SERNANP, has described such operations since 2019 as "extrajudicial recovery of state-owned properties".
CI said it had been told that the structures "were vacant and abandoned". A review commissioned by CI and released on 1 July 2024 found that CI was "not involved in nor responsible" for the demolitions. the sources reviewed give no court case and no penalty for the Alto Mayo project.
- 2012Start of the period in which Disney took about 40% of the project's offsets (2012–2020)
- 2013March: Disney buys 437,000 credits for US$3.5 million
- 2019SERNANP begins describing such operations as extrajudicial recovery of state-owned properties
- 2021January–May: armed men and police alleged to have demolished homes, up to 50 homes alleged
- 202320 January: SourceMaterial, The Guardian and Die Zeit report the demolitions and estimate about ten times too many credits
- 20241 July: review commissioned by CI finds CI not involved in nor responsible
What was said
“were vacant and abandoned”
“not involved in nor responsible”
“extrajudicial recovery of state-owned properties”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Armed men and police demolished homes in the project area between January and May 2021; up to 50 homes alleged.
SourceMaterial (with The Guardian and Die Zeit)Has described such operations since 2019 as "extrajudicial recovery of state-owned properties".
SourceMaterial (with The Guardian and Die Zeit)Said it was told the structures "were vacant and abandoned"; a review it commissioned found it "not involved in nor responsible".
Conservation InternationalHow it looked
Shown
- The project was certified by Verra and supplied offsets bought by Disney, Gucci, BHP and Pearl Jam.SourceMaterial · SourceMaterial (with The Guardian and Die Zeit)
- Disney took about 40% of the project's offsets in 2012–2020, more than 2 million credits.SourceMaterial · SourceMaterial (with The Guardian and Die Zeit)
Recorded
- Armed men and police demolished homes in the project area between January and May 2021; up to 50 homes alleged.
- About 7.5 million credits issued against about 720,000 estimated as justified, roughly ten times too many (SourceMaterial analysis).
- A review commissioned by CI, dated 1 July 2024, found CI "not involved in nor responsible".
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- conservation-international (2023–2024; review 1 July 2024): Said it was told the structures "were vacant and abandoned"; a review it commissioned, dated 1 July 2024, found CI "not involved in nor responsible". · Conservation International
- sernanp (Since 2019): Has described such operations since 2019 as "extrajudicial recovery of state-owned properties". · SourceMaterial (with The Guardian and Die Zeit)
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Figures
- Insufficient Homes demolished: Alleged; January–May 2021.
Accounts
- Disputed Were homes in the project area demolished, and was Conservation International responsible?
Record
- None on record No court case was found for the Alto Mayo project, and no penalty is recorded.
- None on record The number of homes demolished is an allegation (up to 50); the sources reviewed give no confirmed count.
- None on record The 7.5 million versus 720,000 credit comparison is the SourceMaterial analysis's own estimate; no independent check is recorded.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: that CI criticised the method of the 2023 investigation.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: forced evictions of families by park staff, as alleged by The Guardian in 2023.
Did the harm stop?
the sources reviewed give no court case, penalty or change to the project after the 2023 analysis and the 2024 review.
Who paid?
the sources reviewed alleges that up to 50 homes in the project area were demolished in 2021; it records no compensation.
Sources
Company or project
- Conservation International releases findings of independent reviewConservation International · 2024-07-01
Press and investigations
- Analysis of the Alto Mayo REDD+ project (title not on record)SourceMaterial (with The Guardian and Die Zeit) · 2023-01-20
Connected cases
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026 Related matter
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Conservation International (NGO) — here: Runs the project; there: Project operator
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard (Verified Carbon Standard, project 2290)
- Bloomberg, Steyer and Bezos money shapes coal and nature campaigns United States · 2008–2026
- Conservation International (NGO) — here: Runs the project; there: Environmental group receiving GEF money and board ties to the Bezos family
- Botswana's 2014 hunting ban also barred San hunters in the Central Kalahari Botswana · 2014
- Conservation International (NGO) — here: Runs the project; there: Board on which Ian Khama sat when the ban was announced
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: certification body that suspended accounts
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Registry; suspended the projects
- Brazil's 2015 mining code draft was created on Vale and BHP's law firm's computer Brazil · 2015
- BHP (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Company served by the law firm that held the draft
- C-Quest Capital cookstove credit case: founder charged over inflated credit counts United States · 2020–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standards body that approved the method and suspended 27 projects
- California forest carbon projects burned (Verra buffer pool) United States · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Registry that runs the buffer pool
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Registry; durability pilot allowing insurance
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Carbon credit rating agencies and Space Intelligence rebuttal (Sylvera, BeZero) United Kingdom · 2022–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Colombia's Operation Artemisa: 113 arrests and 13 convictions Colombia · 2017–2022
- Conservation International (NGO) — here: Runs the project; there: Board on which Duque sits
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard-setter and registry (VCS 2250)
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- Conservation International (NGO) — here: Runs the project; there: Named Jackson interim board chair; board includes former officials
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: standard body; holder of the older REDD+ methodologies and the Southern Cardamom scheme
- Indonesian nickel oversupply: BHP Nickel West suspension and the LME green contract Indonesia · 2023–2026
- BHP (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Suspended Nickel West
- Kenyan court rules two carbon conservancies were unconstitutionally established Kenya · 2012
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard body that suspended and reinstated the scheme
- Kiribati opens Phoenix Islands protected area to fishing; trust dissolved Kiribati · 2015–2021
- Conservation International (NGO) — here: Runs the project; there: named as a partner in the compensation trust
- Kiribati PIPA opened to fishing Kiribati · 2015–2025
- Conservation International (NGO) — here: Runs the project; there: Co-founder of the compensation foundation
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard-setter and registry (project 1468)
- Ok Tedi mine (Papua New Guinea) Papua New Guinea · 1984–2025
- BHP (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Former operator and majority owner; party to Dagi v BHP
- Pará forest carbon credit schemes face suspension and lawsuits Brazil · 2023–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: suspended three Portel schemes in 2023
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Renova Foundation (Mariana dam, Brazil) Brazil · 2015–2024
- BHP (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: Parent company of Samarco; secondary funder of Renova at 50% (BHP Brasil)
- Samarco Fundão dam collapse (Mariana): the settlement and the court cases Brazil · 2015–2026
- BHP (Company) — here: Credit buyer; there: 50% owner; acquitted in Brazil; found liable in London
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: suspended accounts of three schemes in June 2024 and was sued by federal prosecutors in March 2026
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Toucan moved 21.6 million legacy Verra carbon credits onto blockchains Global · 2021–2022
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard setter and registry of the credits
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard-setter and registry for the Plastic Waste Reduction Standard
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Registry operator and standard-setter
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard setter and registry that suspended the schemes
- Verra suspension of Chinese rice project verifiers China · 2025
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Standard-setter and registry
- Volkswagen diesel emissions scandal Germany · 2015
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Carbon-credit registry
- Walton family grants and board ties link Conservation International to Walmart United States · 2001–2026
- Conservation International (NGO) — here: Runs the project; there: Conservation group; Rob Walton listed on its executive committee
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Registry that holds its own AFOLU buffer and reported on cancellations
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: standard for the plastic and carbon credits sold
- Worldview International Foundation mangrove project (Myanmar) Myanmar · date not stated
- Verra (Standard-setter) — here: Standard-setter that certified the project; there: Registry