Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Agriculture, livestock and food · United States · 2001–2026

Walton family grants and board ties link Conservation International to Walmart

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
What the record lacks: 1 not disclosed · 1 insufficient · 1 not measured · 1 disputed See the gaps

Walton family grants and board seats connect a conservation group to the retailer's former chair and to a seafood certifier the foundation funds. Nature's stake: wildlife parks in Africa, where the sources record rights and funding disputes.

What?
A network of foundation grants and board seats links Conservation International, African Parks and the Walton family, including Rob Walton, Walmart's former board chair. African Parks
Where?
United States, where the foundation made its 2010 grants; Odzala-Kokoua National Park, Republic of the Congo.
When?
Ford's business centre at Conservation International, 2001; Walton grants, 2010; Survival International allegations, June 2023; Prince Harry's board exit effective 30 September 2026.
Who?
Gained
  • Conservation International — Received 18.64 million dollars from the Walton Family Foundation's 2010 environmental grants.
  • Marine Stewardship Council — Received 4.5 million dollars from the same grants. The sources say the grants began in the year the council agreed to certify some Walmart seafood (KR7-21).
Lost
  • Communities at Odzala-Kokoua — Survival International alleges abuses there. The investigation report has not been published, so the sources do not show which allegations were confirmed.
Harmed
  • A Baka woman — Survival International alleges she has not received a 1,300 pound compensation award ordered by a court.
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Grants, board seats and fund matches. The Rob and Melani Walton Foundation gave 100 million dollars in 2021; 75 million went to a permanent endowment and part was set aside as a Legacy Landscapes Fund match for Odzala-Kokoua and a park in Angola (YK6-12).
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

The Walton Family Foundation gave 71.8 million dollars for environmental work in 2010. The largest recipients were Conservation International (18.64 million), The Nature Conservancy (9.3 million), EDF (7.09 million) and the Marine Stewardship Council (4.5 million).

Walmart's corporate site presents Rob Walton, its board chair from 1992 to 2015, as chair of Conservation International's executive committee (Walmart corporate site).

Survival International alleged abuses at Odzala-Kokoua, where African Parks commissioned an investigation. In May 2025 African Parks acknowledged that human rights violations had occurred in some incidents, but the report was not published (YK6-05, YK6-06).

African Parks said Prince Harry would conclude his board tenure, effective 30 September 2026 (African Parks).

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • Disputed Conflicting sources: the African Parks biography says Rob Walton serves on the Conservation International board, while Conservation International's board page lists him only as emeritus.
    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: Prince Harry's role in a 1 billion dollar campaign launched in Davos in May 2026. The sources found no independent record of the campaign.
    • Not disclosed Not in sources reviewed: the Odzala-Kokoua investigation report, which was not published.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: ✓ Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts— Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Company or project

    Communities and civil society

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

    Carbon and conservation finance

    Endowment
    A fund invested to produce long-term income, from which spending is drawn.
    Standard-setter and registry
    An organisation that writes the rules for carbon credits, approves projects, and records when credits are issued and retired. Such bodies typically charge fees per credit.

    Places and local terms

    Conservancy (Kenya)
    In Kenya, land managed by a community or private owners for wildlife alongside grazing, often with outside partners.