Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP)
- Communities and civil society Friends of the Earth Europe, citing Amnesty International and others: The clean-up was delayed and progress figures were inconsistent (2020). Friends of the Earth Europe
- Researchers LSE Africa blog: Contracts worth 690 million naira went to firms lacking qualifications, and UNEP expressed distrust of HYPREP (November 2022). LSE Africa blog
- International bodies UNEP: Estimated in 2011 that the clean-up would take 25–30 years and asked for US$1 billion for the first five years. UNEP, copy on Climate Diplomacy
In 2011 the UN Environment Programme assessed oil contamination in Ogoniland, Nigeria, and recommended a clean-up it estimated at 25 to 30 years, with US$1 billion for the first five years. Later reports describe a delayed clean-up, disputes over contractors and the cause of spills, and the 2025 sale of Shell's onshore subsidiary SPDC.
Multiple of the World Health Organization guideline value. UNEP estimated a clean-up of 25–30 years.
Status As of 2026: clean-up reported as delayed and disputed; SPDC sold to Renaissance on 13 March 2025; no payment totals or independent audit of clean-up figures found.
- Contractors awarded 690 million naira of clean-up contracts — Received contracts that the LSE Africa blog reported were awarded to firms lacking qualifications. LSE Africa blog
- Shell — Completed the sale of SPDC to Renaissance on 13 March 2025; openDemocracy reported Shell-provided financing and a transfer of liabilities as part of the exit. Shell
- Residents of Ogoniland drinking from contaminated wells — UNEP measured benzene in well water at more than 900 times the WHO guideline value. UNEP, copy on Climate Diplomacy
What happened
In August 2011 the UN Environment Programme (UNEP) published an assessment of oil contamination in Ogoniland, in the Niger Delta region of Nigeria. A UNEP bulletin said the work covered more than 200 sites and more than 4,000 samples. UNEP measured benzene in well water at Nisisioken Ogale at more than 900 times the World Health Organization guideline value, and reported a layer of refined oil about 8 cm thick on the groundwater.
UNEP estimated that restoring Ogoniland would take 25 to 30 years and asked for a US$1 billion fund for the first five years. According to a later account of the findings, the surface clean-up method used by Shell's subsidiary SPDC was found ineffective, and contamination was at least five metres deep at 49 locations. Shell had halted production in Ogoniland in 1993.
BusinessDay reported that the SPDC joint venture, in which the state oil company NNPC holds 55%, would contribute US$900 million of the proposed US$1 billion over five years, with a first instalment of US$180 million. The clean-up was run by the Nigerian agency HYPREP. A report by Friends of the Earth Europe in November 2020, drawing on Amnesty International and others, described the clean-up as delayed and its progress figures as inconsistent. In November 2022 the LSE Africa blog reported that clean-up contracts worth 690 million naira had been awarded to firms lacking the required qualifications, and that UNEP had expressed distrust of HYPREP.
The cause of spills in the Niger Delta is contested. Shell's position, as reported in the sources reviewed, is that most spills are caused by sabotage. Amnesty International reported in November 2013 that the cause of a spill is determined by a joint investigation run by the companies, that a sabotage finding lowers compensation, and that it found examples of wrong attribution. A March 2022 figure records that more than 75% of spills since 2016 were attributed to theft and sabotage. In December 2020 the Dutch programme Zembla alleged that SPDC employees had young people puncture pipelines and then hired them for clean-up work; Shell said it was not aware of this, and the sources reviewed give the allegation as unproven.
Shell completed the sale of SPDC to Renaissance on 13 March 2025. In February 2025 the Associated Press reported that Nigeria was moving to restart oil production, with a return to production in Ogoni under discussion. In July 2024 openDemocracy reported on the financing and transfer of liabilities in Shell's exit, citing a US$1.2 billion loan, US$1.3 billion of decommissioning financing, a settlement for the Bodo community of £55 million and a London case brought by 13,000 farmers and fishermen.
- 1993Shell halts production in Ogoniland
- 2011UNEP publishes its Ogoniland oil assessment (4 August): benzene in well water at Nisisioken Ogale more than 900 times the WHO guideline; 25–30 year clean-up; US$1 billion first-five-year fund proposed
- 2013Amnesty International reports on how spill causes are determined and on sabotage attribution (November)
- 2015A report by SDN says pipeline vandalism was partly fed by the easy money in monitoring and clean-up contracts (November)
- 2016From this year, more than 75% of spills are attributed to theft and sabotage (figure reported March 2022)
- 2020Friends of the Earth Europe report on the delayed clean-up (November); Zembla report on alleged pipeline damage by SPDC employees (December)
- 2022LSE Africa blog: clean-up contracts of 690 million naira awarded to firms lacking qualifications; UNEP reported to distrust HYPREP (November)
- 2024openDemocracy reports on Shell's exit financing, the Bodo settlement and a London case by 13,000 farmers and fishermen (July)
- 2025AP reports Nigeria's move to restart oil production, including in Ogoni (February); Shell completes the sale of SPDC to Renaissance (13 March)
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Most Niger Delta spills are caused by sabotage (position reported in the sources reviewed).
The cause is determined by a joint investigation run by the companies, a sabotage finding lowers compensation, and there were examples of wrong attribution (November 2013).
More than 75% of spills since 2016 were attributed to theft and sabotage.
The clean-up was delayed and progress figures were inconsistent (2020).
Friends of the Earth EuropeContracts worth 690 million naira went to firms lacking qualifications, and UNEP expressed distrust of HYPREP (November 2022).
LSE Africa blogEstimated in 2011 that the clean-up would take 25–30 years and asked for US$1 billion for the first five years.
UNEP, copy on Climate DiplomacyAlleged that SPDC employees had young people puncture pipelines and then hired them for clean-up work (December 2020); the sources reviewed give the allegation as unproven.
PGJ OnlineReported in 2015 that pipeline vandalism was partly fed by the easy money in monitoring and clean-up contracts.
How it looked
Shown
- A US$1 billion Ogoni clean-up fund, of which US$900 million from the SPDC joint venture over five years, with a first instalment of US$180 millionAs reported by BusinessDay · BusinessDay
- The position that most Niger Delta oil spills are caused by sabotageShell, as recorded in the sources reviewed
Recorded
- Benzene in well water at Nisisioken Ogale above 900 times the WHO guideline value; an 8 cm layer of refined oil on groundwater; more than 200 sites and more than 4,000 samples; a 25–30 year clean-up and a US$1 billion first-five-year fund recommended (UNEP, August 2011)
- SPDC's surface clean-up method found ineffective; contamination at least five metres deep at 49 locations
- Clean-up described as delayed, with inconsistent progress figures (report by Friends of the Earth Europe, 2020, citing Amnesty International and others)
- Clean-up contracts worth 690 million naira awarded to firms lacking qualifications; UNEP reported to distrust HYPREP (November 2022)
- The cause of a spill is determined by a joint investigation run by the companies; a sabotage finding lowers compensation; Amnesty International found examples of wrong attribution (November 2013)
- More than 75% of spills since 2016 attributed to theft and sabotage (reported March 2022)
- SDN (2015): pipeline vandalism partly fed by the easy money in monitoring and clean-up contracts
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Shell (December 2020): Said it was not aware of the alleged puncturing of pipelines by SPDC employees. · PGJ Online
- Shell (Undated in the sources reviewed): Position reported in the sources reviewed that most Niger Delta spills are caused by sabotage.
- UNEP (November 2022): Reported to have expressed distrust of HYPREP. · LSE Africa blog
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- Settled£55000bn £55 millionBodo community settlement with ShellNot specified in the sources reviewed · Civil · Bodo community → Shell (as listed in the report on the SPDC sale)
A settlement of £55 million for the Bodo community is listed in an openDemocracy report on Shell's exit from Nigeria. The year and terms not on record. openDemocracy via Resilience
- Outcome not on recordLondon case by about 13,000 farmers and fishermenLondon (court not specified in the sources reviewed) · Civil · About 13,000 farmers and fishermen (community not specified) → Not specified in the sources reviewed
Listed in an openDemocracy report on Shell's exit from Nigeria; the sources reviewed give no further detail on the claimants' community, the defendant or the status of the case. openDemocracy via Resilience
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
- Disputed Was the clean-up delayed, and were its contractors qualified?
Court
- Unclear London case by about 13,000 farmers and fishermen: outcome not on record.
Figures
- Insufficient Restoration spending: Appears in an evidence row for a 2020 report without the report being named.
- Insufficient Sites cleaned hyprep: HYPREP's own statement after 15 years, reported by Guardian Nigeria; not independently verified.
- Insufficient Spdc sale value: Figure listed against the AP report of February 2025; the sources reviewed does not label it as the sale price.
Accounts
Record
- Unclear Whether the statement that HYPREP had cleaned 30 of 65 sites after 15 years (reported by Guardian Nigeria, 2026) is accurate: it is the agency's own figure, unverified, and no independent audit of HYPREP's figures has been identified.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: that UNEP stated in 2019 that HYPREP was not designed for the task (HumAngle).
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: that Shell financed part of the UNEP assessment.
- None on record Reported in a secondary summary only: an AllAfrica report of May 2026 that the Ogoni fund is running out.
- None on record How much of the pledged fund was paid and spent: the sources give pledges (US$900 million from the SPDC joint venture; a first instalment of US$180 million). A figure of about US$30 million spent by 2020 appears without a named report.
- None on record The first instalment is given as US$180 million in the text and US$200 million in the headline of the same BusinessDay article.
- None on record The forum, claimants' community and status of the London case by 13,000 farmers and fishermen are not given in the sources.
- None on record The Zembla allegation about SPDC employees is unproven.
- None on record The environmental conditions attached to the sale of SPDC are not clear in the sources, and a restart of Ogoni production under discussion by the government is not confirmed.
- None on record No data on personal criminal penalties arising from the spills.
Did the harm stop?
Shell halted production in Ogoniland in 1993. Spills were still being reported after 2016, and the clean-up UNEP recommended in 2011 was reported as delayed.
Who paid?
Not established in the sources. The SPDC joint venture, in which NNPC holds 55%, pledged US$900 million of the proposed US$1 billion fund; the sources do not say how much was paid.
Sources
Company or project
- Shell completes sale of SPDCShell · 2025-03-13
Press and investigations
- HYPREP not capable of handling Ogoni clean-up project, says UNEPHumAngle · undated in sources reviewed
- 200m year one Ogoni clean-up fund readyBusinessDay · undated in sources reviewed
- Nigeria moves to restart oil production, including in Ogoni (AP, via Yahoo)Associated Press via Yahoo · 2025-02-03
- Is Shell's exit from Nigeria a front to dodge legal responsibilities? (openDemocracy, via Resilience)openDemocracy via Resilience · 2024-07-15
Communities and civil society
- No Clean-Up, No JusticeFriends of the Earth Europe · 2020-11
Researchers
- Corruption and mismanagement may derail cleanup of Niger DeltaLSE Africa blog · 2022-11-22
International bodies
- UNEP Ogoniland oil assessment reveals extent of environmental contamination (UNEP bulletin via Climate Diplomacy)UNEP, copy on Climate Diplomacy · 2011-08-04
Connected cases
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026 Related matter
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- SPDC (Shell's Nigerian subsidiary) (Company) — here: Shell's Nigerian joint venture, the polluter named in the clean-up fund; there: Shell's Nigerian subsidiary; joint venture partner with NNPC (55%)
- NNPC (Public authority) — here: Nigerian state oil company, 55% holder of the SPDC joint venture; there: State company holding 55% of the SPDC partnership
- HYPREP (Ogoni clean-up agency) (Public authority) — here: Nigerian agency running the Ogoniland clean-up; there: Ogoni clean-up agency
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal; there: Author of the 2011 Ogoniland assessment
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022 Related matter
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- NNPC (Public authority) — here: Nigerian state oil company, 55% holder of the SPDC joint venture; there: State oil company; holds 55% of the SPDC joint venture
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: Reported on spill-cause determination and sabotage attribution; there: NGO; report on spill investigations
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022 Related matter
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal; there: Original owner of the tree campaign
- Addis Ababa riverside and corridor demolitions led to evictions without compensation Ethiopia · 2020–2024
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: Reported on spill-cause determination and sabotage attribution; there: called for a halt to evictions
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- DuPont CFC phase-out and the ozone treaty United States · 1974–2019
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal; there: Hosts the Montreal Protocol ozone secretariat
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Gaza reconstruction and the Board of Peace's first contract Palestine (Gaza Strip) · 2024–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal; there: Estimated rubble clearance time and cost
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Half-Earth and 30x30 advocacy funding (Wyss Campaign for Nature) Global · 2016–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal; there: Co-author of the Protected Planet Report 2024
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Kabwe lead-poisoning claim against Anglo American is under appeal in South Africa Zambia · date not stated
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: Reported on spill-cause determination and sabotage attribution; there: advocate reporting on the case
- Kolwezi forced evictions (Cité Gécamines, DRC) Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2016–2023
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: Reported on spill-cause determination and sabotage attribution; there: Documented the evictions
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: Reported on spill-cause determination and sabotage attribution; there: NGO; recorded evictions and deaths
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Net Zero Banking Alliance exits and closure International · 2023–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal; there: UN body whose statement on the 2023 insurer exits was reported
- Net-Zero Insurance Alliance collapse and insurers’ fossil underwriting Global · 2021–2025
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal; there: Convener of NZIA
- Ngorongoro and Loliondo relocations Tanzania · 1992–2026
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: Reported on spill-cause determination and sabotage attribution; there: NGO; reported on forced evictions
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Northern Lights partner
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Facility owner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Named credit buyer
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022
- Study estimates 2,000 tonnes of uranium in DR Congo cobalt exports Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2000–2024
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: Reported on spill-cause determination and sabotage attribution; there: documented evictions and abuses near Kolwezi
- UN plastics treaty negotiations (INC-5, Geneva, Nairobi, Bangkok) Switzerland · 2024–2026
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal; there: Convenes the negotiations; issued the announcement of the new chair
- UNEP estimate: about 2,000 tons of depleted uranium used in Iraq Iraq · date not stated
- UN Environment Programme (International organisation) — here: Author of the 2011 assessment and fund proposal; there: Estimated the quantity of uranium used (about 2,000 tons)