Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni)
- Company or project Shell SPDC: Most spills are sabotage (incident reports and joint investigation forms).
- Communities and civil society Amnesty International: The companies' investigations decide the cause, a sabotage record reduces compensation, and examples of misattribution exist (marked unverified in the sources reviewed). Amnesty International
- Courts Hague Court of Appeal: A company claiming sabotage carries a heavy burden of proof (2021).
In the Niger Delta, the cause of an oil spill is recorded in joint investigations run with the operating companies, and spills classed as sabotage attract no compensation. Critics say this lets companies avoid payment; Shell attributes most spills to sabotage.
As recorded in the sources reviewed (2022).
Status Spills recorded 2008–2022; Hague Court of Appeal ruled in 2021; Shell sold SPDC in 2025; no later status in the sources reviewed.
- Operating companies (Shell, Eni) — Spills classed as sabotage attract no compensation.
- Niger Delta communities — No compensation for spills classed as sabotage; payments delayed by 7 and 14 years.
- Niger Delta communities — Affected by spills 2008–2022.
What happened
Spills from oil operations in the Niger Delta continued from 2008 to 2022 according to the record. The cause of each spill is determined in a joint investigation visit (JIV) form that the operating company takes part in. Under the Nigerian rules described in the sources reviewed, a spill classed as sabotage attracts no compensation.
the sources reviewed give that, since 2016, over 75% of spills were attributed to theft and sabotage. In one period more than 80% of spills were counted as sabotage in Shell SPDC's incident reports. Amnesty International's report "Bad Information: Oil Spill Investigations in the Niger Delta" (November 2013) is cited for the finding that the companies' investigations decide cause and that misattribution examples exist.
In the Netherlands, the Hague Court of Appeal ruled against Shell Nigeria in 2021, placing a heavy burden of proof on a company that claims sabotage, and the record notes a 15 million euro settlement. In the Ogoni area, a 1 billion dollar fund proposed by UNEP was to be financed with 900 million dollars over five years by the SPDC joint venture, 55% of which is held by the state oil company NNPC; the first instalment was 180 million dollars. N690 million of clean-up contracts went to unqualified firms, and UNEP stated it distrusted HYPREP.
Shell sold SPDC, its Nigerian subsidiary, in 2025.
- 2008Start of the spill period covered by the record
- 2013Amnesty International report on oil spill investigations in the Niger Delta (November)
- 2015SDN report: pipe vandalism partly fed by the "easy money" of surveillance and clean-up contracts
- 2016From this year over 75% of spills are attributed to theft and sabotage
- 2018Ogoni fund: SPDC joint venture to contribute 900 million dollars over five years; first instalment 180 million dollars
- 2021Hague Court of Appeal sets a heavy burden of proof on a company claiming sabotage; 15 million euro settlement
- 2022Spill period ends; clean-up contracts of N690 million to unqualified firms; UNEP expresses distrust in HYPREP
- 2025Shell sells SPDC
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Most spills are sabotage (incident reports and joint investigation forms).
The companies' investigations decide the cause, a sabotage record reduces compensation, and examples of misattribution exist (marked unverified in the sources reviewed).
Amnesty InternationalA company claiming sabotage carries a heavy burden of proof (2021).
How it looked
Shown
- Spills presented as the result of sabotage, with causes recorded in joint investigation forms.Shell and Eni incident reports
Recorded
- Since 2016 over 75% of spills were attributed to theft and sabotage.
- Under Nigerian rules as described in the sources reviewed, spills classed as sabotage attract no compensation, and the classification is made by an investigation the company takes part in.
- The Hague Court of Appeal (2021) placed a heavy burden of proof on a company that claims sabotage.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Shell (n/d): Said it was not aware of the allegation in the Zembla report that SPDC staff had pipes pierced.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2021Settled€15m Settlement, millionsHague Court of Appeal v Shell NigeriaHague Court of Appeal · Civil · Nigerian communities → Shell Nigeria
The court placed a heavy burden of proof on a company claiming sabotage; the record notes a 15 million euro settlement.
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
- Disputed Are most spills caused by sabotage?
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: a Zembla report alleged that SPDC staff had young people pierce pipes so they could be hired for clean-up; Shell said it was not aware of this. The allegation is unproven.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: the Amnesty finding on misattribution is marked as not verified in the sources reviewed.
- None on record The sabotage share for Eni is recorded in the sources reviewed as 89%; the basis is not stated.
Did the harm stop?
the sources reviewed give that spills continued after 2016.
Who paid?
the sources reviewed give that payments were delayed by 7 and 14 years and that none is recorded for spills labelled sabotage; communities in the Niger Delta bear the loss.
Sources
Communities and civil society
- Bad Information: Oil Spill Investigations in the Niger DeltaAmnesty International · 2013-11
Connected cases
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026 Related matter
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- NNPC (Public authority) — here: State oil company; holds 55% of the SPDC joint venture; there: Nigerian state oil company, 55% holder of the SPDC joint venture
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: NGO; report on spill investigations; there: Reported on spill-cause determination and sabotage attribution
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026 Related matter
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- NNPC (Public authority) — here: State oil company; holds 55% of the SPDC joint venture; there: State company holding 55% of the SPDC partnership
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022 Related matter
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Addis Ababa riverside and corridor demolitions led to evictions without compensation Ethiopia · 2020–2024
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: NGO; report on spill investigations; there: called for a halt to evictions
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status Iraq · 2021–2022
- Eni (Company) — here: Operator; incident reports record a sabotage share of 89%; there: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract United States · 2005–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Client in 2025 per the record
- Eni bought Zambian forest credits as a community received about EUR 50,000 Zambia · 2021–2023
- Eni (Company) — here: Operator; incident reports record a sabotage share of 89%; there: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: agency client
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Italy fined Eni 5 million euros over ads calling Diesel+ green Italy · 2020
- Eni (Company) — here: Operator; incident reports record a sabotage share of 89%; there: fined over Diesel+ advertising
- Kabwe lead-poisoning claim against Anglo American is under appeal in South Africa Zambia · date not stated
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: NGO; report on spill investigations; there: advocate reporting on the case
- Kolwezi forced evictions (Cité Gécamines, DRC) Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2016–2023
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: NGO; report on spill investigations; there: Documented the evictions
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: NGO; report on spill investigations; there: NGO; recorded evictions and deaths
- Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM) Mozambique · 2014–2024
- Eni (Company) — here: Operator; incident reports record a sabotage share of 89%; there: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared
- Ngorongoro and Loliondo relocations Tanzania · 1992–2026
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: NGO; report on spill investigations; there: NGO; reported on forced evictions
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Northern Lights partner
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Facility owner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Named credit buyer
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022
- Study estimates 2,000 tonnes of uranium in DR Congo cobalt exports Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2000–2024
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: NGO; report on spill investigations; there: documented evictions and abuses near Kolwezi
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- Eni (Company) — here: Operator; incident reports record a sabotage share of 89%; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters