Cases / Waste management · Senegal · 2025
Mbeubeuss landfill plan to hire 500 of more than 3,000 waste pickers
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
A World Bank-financed rehabilitation of the Mbeubeuss landfill in Senegal is said to hire only 500 of more than 3,000 waste pickers, Seneweb reported. The sources reviewed give no pollution, cost or timetable data for the landfill.
What?
World Bank-financed rehabilitation of the Mbeubeuss landfill in Senegal, with plans to hire 500 of more than 3,000 waste pickers. Seneweb
Where?
Mbeubeuss landfill, Senegal. Seneweb
When?
Reported in 2025. Seneweb
Who?
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Waste pickers were to be integrated into the World Bank-financed rehabilitation; the report says only 500 would be hired. The sources do not describe the selection process. Seneweb
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Seneweb reported in 2025 that more than 3,000 waste pickers were uncertain about their future amid the World Bank-financed rehabilitation of the Mbeubeuss landfill.
The report said only 500 of them were to be hired by the rehabilitation.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed give no landfill-level data on size, pollution, rehabilitation cost or timetable.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Dakar market organics are said to go to the Mbeubeuss landfill (no matching source was found).
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the programme is named PROMOGED in an evidence row without a link.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- 1991 World Bank memo signed by Lawrence Summers on pollution in Africa Africa (regional) · 1991–1993
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Institution that issued the internal memo
- Cambodia fills Phnom Penh's Boeung Kak lake with sand under 99-year lease Cambodia · 2007–2011
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: lender whose land-titling programme was reviewed
- Costa Rica payments for ecosystem services and forest recovery Costa Rica · 1997
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Results-based carbon payer
- Green Belt Movement and Karura Forest, Kenya Kenya · 1977–2023
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Signed a carbon-credit agreement with the Green Belt Movement
- Ho Chi Minh City canal restoration demolished about 7,000 households Vietnam · 1993–2012
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: lender of the first-phase loan
- India's 1975–77 Emergency sterilisation drive drew a $66 million World Bank loan India · 1975–1977
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Lender
- Jamaica catastrophe bonds and the Hurricane Melissa payout Jamaica · 2021–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Issuer and arranger of the catastrophe bonds
- Jamaica's World Bank catastrophe bond did not pay after Hurricane Beryl Jamaica · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Brokered the bond
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Funder of a project in the Badia East area
- Mekong sand mining (Cambodia, Vietnam) Cambodia and Vietnam · 2007–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Inspection Panel finding on Boeung Kak land titling; lending freeze 2011
- Mongolia index livestock insurance Mongolia · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Author of the presentation describing the programme
- Nepal community forestry Nepal · 2000–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Funder of carbon payments (Forest Carbon Partnership Facility)
- Olkaria geothermal projects (Kenya) Kenya · 2013–2017
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Financier; its Inspection Panel reviewed the resettlement
- Rabobank co-financed a Brazilian eucalyptus carbon plantation contested by locals Brazil · 2003–2008
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: operator of the carbon fund
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Funder of an earlier forest project (2007)
- Sri Lanka fertiliser ban Sri Lanka · 2021
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Source of the paddy yield figure
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Lender (USD 800 million, October 2025)
- World Bank $100m plastic waste bond tied to Verra credit sales Multiple countries · 2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: issuer of the bond
- World Bank $800m Uzbekistan operation; Tanzania project halted Uzbekistan · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: lender; policy operation and REGROW financier
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Funder of the Kenya project; hosts the Inspection Panel
- World Bank inspection panel registers complaint over Rogun dam financing Tajikistan · 2024–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: financier
- World Bank REGROW project, Ruaha National Park Tanzania · 2017–2025
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Financier of the REGROW project
- World Bank US$600m farm loan coincided with a 90% fall in farm support Turkey · 2001–2003
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Lender of the US$600m loan
- World Bank-backed Colombo flood work turned Beddagana wetland into a park Sri Lanka · 2010–2018
- World Bank (International organisation) — here: finances the Mbeubeuss rehabilitation, as reported; there: Funder whose support backed the programme