In Salah CO2 storage at Krechba (Sonatrach, BP, Statoil)
- In 2012 the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory reported that pressure may have migrated into my lower caprock and that the hydrofrac pressure had been exceeded; its best estimate of the vertical fracture extent was 200 metres. US DOE NETL
- Above the reservoir my overburden includes the Pan-Saharan aquifer, with a water table at about 150 m. US DOE NETL
- MIT's project database states that no leakage of CO2 from me was reported during the lifetime of the project. MIT CCS Technologies (archived; programme closed 2016)
- CO2 from combustion sources at the facility was vented into my air rather than stored, according to a BP presentation. CSLF / US DOE archive
- Government and regulators US Department of Energy / LLNL review: Injection was halted 'to allow the operator to re-evaluate the injection strategy'. US DOE NETL
- Researchers MIT CCS Technologies database: Injection was halted over 'concerns about the integrity of the seal'; no leakage of CO2 was reported during the lifetime of the project. MIT CCS Technologies (archived; programme closed 2016)
A Sonatrach, BP and Statoil joint venture injected 3.8 million tonnes of CO2 at the Krechba gas field in the Algerian Sahara between 2004 and 2011. Injection was halted in June 2011; US Department of Energy laboratory work in 2012 reported that pressure may have migrated into the lower caprock.
The planned figure comes from a BP presentation; injection was halted in June 2011.
Status Injection has been halted since June 2011 (latest source: US DOE/LLNL review, 2013).
- Sonatrach, BP and Statoil (joint venture) — Operated the project; the JIP's stated aim was eligibility of geological storage for GHG credits; no credits are on record CSLF / US DOE archive
- Storage-assurance JIP — Total cost of US$30 million over 2004–2009 CSLF / US DOE archive
- Lower caprock above the injectors at Krechba — Fracture/damage zone with a best-estimate vertical extent of 200 m (LLNL, 2012) US DOE NETL
- Surface near the injection wells — Uplift of 14–21 mm recorded in 2010 KIGAM / SENSE project, NGI
What happened
The In Salah Gas project was a joint venture of Sonatrach, BP and Statoil at the Krechba field in the central Algerian Sahara. According to a BP presentation, the reservoir gas contained 5–10% CO2; only the separated CO2 was to be re-injected, about 1 million tonnes a year (60 mmscf/d), with about 17 million tonnes to be stored over the project life, while CO2 from combustion sources would be vented. Full production and injection began in September 2004, into Carboniferous sandstone at about 1,880 m depth and about 20 m thick, through three horizontal injectors (KB-501, KB-502, KB-503). A 2022 study put the CO2 injected in 2004–2011 at 3.8 million tonnes.
A joint industry project (JIP) on storage assurance ran for five years, 2004–2009, at a total cost of US$30 million. Its stated purpose was to 'set precedents for the regulation and verification of the geological storage of CO2, allowing eligibility for GHG credits'. Laboratory research by Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) was performed under the auspices of the US Department of Energy, with data and co-funding from the JIP; the amounts are not stated.
In June 2011 'injection operations were halted at the site to allow the operator to re-evaluate the injection strategy', according to the LLNL/DOE review. The MIT carbon capture database stated that injection was halted over 'concerns about the integrity of the seal', that 3.8 million tonnes of CO2 were 'successfully stored in the Krechba Formation', and that 'No leakage of CO2 was reported during the lifetime of the project.'
In 2012 LLNL reported from satellite radar (InSAR) monitoring an 'anomalous double lobe feature' that 'suggests pressure may have migrated into lower caprock', that hydrofrac pressure was exceeded, a best estimate of 200 m for the vertical fracture extent, and a low probability that the feature had grown beyond the lower caprock interval. A 2022 study citing Ringrose et al. (2020) gave surface uplift of 14 to 21 mm near the injection wells in 2010. The overburden includes the Pan-Saharan aquifer, with a water table at about 150 m, and one research question posed in the review was whether a leak to the shallow groundwater aquifer would be detectable.
- 2004Full production and injection begin (September); storage-assurance JIP starts (2004–2009)
- 2009Storage-assurance JIP ends
- 2010Surface uplift of 14–21 mm recorded near the injection wells (InSAR)
- 2011Injection halted to re-evaluate the injection strategy (June); 3.8 Mt injected 2004–2011
- 2012LLNL/DOE review reports a double-lobe deformation feature and a best-estimate vertical fracture extent of 200 m
What was said
“Demonstrate to stakeholders that industrial-scale geological storage of CO2 is a viable GHG mitigation option.”
“Set precedents for the regulation and verification of the geological storage of CO2, allowing eligibility for GHG credits.”
“injection operations were halted at the site to allow the operator to re-evaluate the injection strategy”
“Anomalous double lobe feature suggests pressure may have migrated into lower caprock”
“concerns about the integrity of the seal”
“No leakage of CO2 was reported during the lifetime of the project.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Injection was halted 'to allow the operator to re-evaluate the injection strategy'.
US DOE NETLInjection was halted over 'concerns about the integrity of the seal'; no leakage of CO2 was reported during the lifetime of the project.
MIT CCS Technologies (archived; programme closed 2016)How it looked
Shown
- Industrial-scale geological storage of CO2 presented as a viable GHG mitigation option; only separated CO2 to be re-injected, about 1 million tonnes a year.BP and joint venture, CSLF presentation (c. 2004–2005) · CSLF / US DOE archive
- 3.8 MT of CO2 successfully stored in the Krechba Formation; no leakage reported.MIT CCS Technologies project database · MIT CCS Technologies (archived; programme closed 2016)
Recorded
- 3.8 Mt of CO2 injected in 2004–2011 through three horizontal injectors, against about 17 Mt planned over the project life.
- CO2 from combustion sources at the facility was to be vented, not stored.
- Surface uplift of 14 to 21 mm near the injection wells in 2010, measured by InSAR.
- LLNL: 'Hydrofrac pressure was exceeded'; 'Best estimate of vertical fracture extent is 200 meters'; 'Low probability that feature has grown beyond lower caprock interval.'
- Storage-assurance JIP total cost US$30 million (2004–2009); MIT database: total project estimated to cost US$2.7 billion, injection cost about US$6 per tonne.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- bp (c. 2004–2005): A joint venture presentation stated the goal of demonstrating to stakeholders that industrial-scale geological storage of CO2 is a viable GHG mitigation option. · CSLF / US DOE archive
- us-department-of-energy (2013): The LLNL review prepared under its auspices recorded the June 2011 halt of injection to allow the operator to re-evaluate the injection strategy. · US DOE NETL
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Disputed Reason given for halting injection in June 2011
Money
- None on record Carbon credits issued for In Salah — None on record.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Record
- Insufficient Insufficient: LLNL noted 'significant uncertainties' on whether linear features extend beyond the lower storage unit.
- Unclear Unclear: the scope of the US$2.7 billion total project cost estimate in the MIT database, whether the whole gas project or the CO2 storage component.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the amounts of US Department of Energy and other co-funding for the research programme.
- None on record None on record: carbon credits issued for In Salah.
- None on record None on record: a separate statement from Sonatrach or the Algerian government.
- None on record None on record: legal proceedings, insurance cover or payments.
Did the harm stop?
Injection was halted in June 2011 after 3.8 Mt had been injected since 2004. The 2012 LLNL review recorded a best-estimate fracture extent of 200 m in the lower caprock.
Who paid?
The storage-assurance JIP cost US$30 million in 2004–2009. None on record: who paid for any remedial work on the caprock; no carbon credits are on record.
Sources
Company or project
- Proposed CSLF Project: The In Salah Gas CO2 Storage Assurance Project (P. Sharman, BP)CSLF / US DOE archive · c. 2004–2005
Government and regulators
- InSalah review (J.A. White, LLNL), Carbon Storage review meetingUS DOE NETL · 2013
Researchers
- Geomechanical modeling of surface deformation induced by CO2 injection at the In Salah site (Lee et al.)KIGAM / SENSE project, NGI · 2022
- In Salah Fact Sheet: Carbon Dioxide Capture and Storage ProjectMIT CCS Technologies (archived; programme closed 2016) · 2016
Connected cases
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- 45Q lobby coalition's founding director was named to head DOE carbon office United States · 2011–2025
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Laboratory research on the site (LLNL); there: administers carbon management funds
- ACCCE clean coal advertising and forged letters (US) United States · 2008–2009
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Laboratory research on the site (LLNL); there: Ran the Clean Coal programme, 1986–1993
- Bolivian carbon scheme claimed 55 million tonnes; review found at most 5.8 million Bolivia · 1997–2010
- BP (Company) — here: Joint venture partner; there: company; partner in the scheme; donor to TNC
- BP “Beyond Petroleum” campaign and carbon footprint calculator United Kingdom · 2000–2025
- BP (Company) — here: Joint venture partner; there: Launched the “Beyond Petroleum” brand and the carbon footprint calculator
- BP acquires majority stake in Finite Carbon, a US forest carbon developer United States · 2020
- BP (Company) — here: Joint venture partner; there: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon
- BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status Iraq · 2021–2022
- BP (Company) — here: Joint venture partner; there: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- BP (Company) — here: Joint venture partner; there: Well operator and lease holder; pleaded guilty; paid $20.8bn civil settlement; self-insured
- BP's Gulf spill used Corexit; Nalco board had ex-BP and Exxon executives United States · date not stated
- BP (Company) — here: Joint venture partner; there: Company responsible for the spill response and dispersant choice
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- BP (Company) — here: Joint venture partner; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here
- Danone, Unilever and BP scaled back sustainability goals between 2021 and 2025 Global · 2021–2025
- BP (Company) — here: Joint venture partner; there: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025
- Developers dispute wake losses from RWE's Dogger Bank South wind farm United Kingdom · 2025–2026
- Equinor (Company) — here: Joint venture partner (then Statoil); there: Claimed 778 million dollars of lifetime losses from Dogger Bank South
- Greater Tortue Ahmeyim LNG project, the deep-water coral reef and BP's reef mitigation Mauritania · 2018–2025
- BP (Company) — here: Joint venture partner; there: Operator of the GTA project
- Hanford contractors settle false-claims suits as cleanup estimates rise United States · 1943–2086
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Laboratory research on the site (LLNL); there: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate
- In Salah shale gas pilot wells and protests, 2014–2015 Algeria · 2014–2025
- Sonatrach (Company) — here: Joint venture partner and operator of the Krechba field; there: Operator of the pilot wells; announced the US$70 billion programme
- Leaked DOE list marks first tranches for two direct air capture hubs 'terminate' United States · 2021
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Laboratory research on the site (LLNL); there: ran the hub funding and the list
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Equinor (Company) — here: Joint venture partner (then Statoil); there: Northern Lights partner; former Statoil
- Norway's Økokrim fines Equinor over Mongstad refinery spills and emissions Norway · 2016–2021
- Equinor (Company) — here: Joint venture partner (then Statoil); there: company fined over Mongstad refinery
- Occidental buys Holocene as US carbon removal staff is cut to one person United States · 2023–2025
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Laboratory research on the site (LLNL); there: Federal department whose carbon removal staff was reduced
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Laboratory research on the site (LLNL); there: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022
- Offshore wind wake effect disputes (Ørsted, UK and Germany) United Kingdom · 2020–2026
- Equinor (Company) — here: Joint venture partner (then Statoil); there: Claimant over Dogger Bank South wake losses
- Sellafield decommissioning and Hanford cleanup budgets United States · 1943–2086
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Laboratory research on the site (LLNL); there: Hanford owner and funder
- Syrah declares force majeure at Mozambique graphite mine after unrest Mozambique · 2024
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Laboratory research on the site (LLNL); there: lender; loan defaulted