Cases / Law, regulation and treaties · Iraq · 2021–2022
BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
BP and Eni say they are not operators at Rumaila and do not declare the gas flared there, a site one source calls the world's most gas-flared. The sources reviewed do not quantify the flaring or its effect on climate or health.
What?
BP and Eni do not declare the gas flared at Rumaila in Iraq, saying they are not the operator. CIFOR ForestsNews
Where?
Rumaila oilfield, near Basra, southern Iraq CIFOR ForestsNews
When?
Reported in September 2022 CIFOR ForestsNews
Who?
Gained
- BP and Eni — keep Rumaila flaring out of their declared emissions, citing non-operator status CIFOR ForestsNews
Lost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
The stated reason is that BP and Eni are not the operator at Rumaila. CIFOR ForestsNews
How?
The flaring is left out of the declared emissions of the non-operating partners. CIFOR ForestsNews
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
A CIFOR ForestsNews post from September 2022 reports that BP and Eni say they are not operators at Rumaila and do not declare the gas flared there.
The same post describes Rumaila as the world's most gas-flared site, with the flaring left out of declared emissions on non-operator grounds.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record Not linked: including Rumaila flaring would double BP's 2021 reported figure.
- None on record The volume of gas flared at Rumaila is not stated in the sources reviewed.
- None on record Health and environmental effects of the flaring are not quantified in the sources reviewed.
- None on record The Iraqi authorities' position on the reporting is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts— Press and investigations— Communities and civil society✓ Researchers
Researchers
- CIFOR ForestsNews post 8232CIFOR ForestsNews · 2022-09
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- Bolivian carbon scheme claimed 55 million tonnes; review found at most 5.8 million Bolivia · 1997–2010
- BP (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: company; partner in the scheme; donor to TNC
- BP “Beyond Petroleum” campaign and carbon footprint calculator United Kingdom · 2000–2025
- BP (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: Launched the “Beyond Petroleum” brand and the carbon footprint calculator
- BP acquires majority stake in Finite Carbon, a US forest carbon developer United States · 2020
- BP (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- BP (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: Well operator and lease holder; pleaded guilty; paid $20.8bn civil settlement; self-insured
- BP's Gulf spill used Corexit; Nalco board had ex-BP and Exxon executives United States · date not stated
- BP (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: Company responsible for the spill response and dispersant choice
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- BP (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here
- Danone, Unilever and BP scaled back sustainability goals between 2021 and 2025 Global · 2021–2025
- BP (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025
- Eni bought Zambian forest credits as a community received about EUR 50,000 Zambia · 2021–2023
- Eni (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests
- Italy fined Eni 5 million euros over ads calling Diesel+ green Italy · 2020
- Eni (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: fined over Diesel+ advertising
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Eni (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM) Mozambique · 2014–2024
- Eni (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Eni (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: Operator; incident reports record a sabotage share of 89%
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Eni (Company) — here: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring; there: 1t.org pledger