Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Pipeline · Niger · 2018–2024

Niger–Benin crude export pipeline (WAPCO): financing, land compensation and the June 2024 sabotage spill

Nature's voice · report
Niger's impact assessment (March 2023) lists the occupation of my forest zones, including the Foga Béri forest, among the negative impacts of the pipeline route.
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record.
Recorded
  • The same assessment says the pipeline disrupts the surface flows of the Niger River, which it describes as a wetland. Bureau National d'Évaluation Environnementale (Niger)
  • In June 2024 a crude slick covered more than 370 metres of my bush in Tesker department, with many dead birds and vegetation covered in crude, according to images shown on Télé Sahel and reported by AFP. AFP via Le360 Afrique
What the record lacks: 8 none on record · 3 not disclosed See the gaps

The WAPCO pipeline carries Niger's crude from the Agadem block to Benin's coast, financed by CNPC's finance arm. Niger's impact study identified forest and wetland impacts, Benin paid land compensation under a 2020 law, and a sabotage in June 2024 left a crude slick over more than 370 metres in Zinder region.

$1.3 bnTotal cost given on AidData's project page for the Niger section
Financed 80:20 debt to equity. Benin's section cost 608 billion FCFA, according to the Benin government.

Status As of the latest reports on the June 2024 sabotage: Zinder prosecutor's inquiry opened, outcome not reported; no spill volume, clean-up cost or compensation published.

What?
A crude export pipeline from Niger's Agadem block to Benin's coast, financed by CNPC's finance arm, with forest and wetland impacts identified in Niger's impact assessment, land compensation paid in Benin under a 2020 law and a sabotage spill over more than 370 metres in June 2024. Bureau National d'Évaluation Environnementale (Niger)
Where?
From the Agadem block (Diffa) through Zinder, Maradi, Tahoua and Dosso to the Benin border, then through 5 departments of Benin to Sèmè-Kpodji; spill site in Tesker department, Zinder region. Bureau National d'Évaluation Environnementale (Niger)
When?
Framework agreement 20 September 2018; construction from September 2019; operational November 2023; first cargo May 2024; sabotage 16–17 June 2024. AidData
Who?
Gained
  • CNPC and Niger (WAPCo-Niger 85% / 15%) — Owners of the Niger section; collateral is crude sale proceeds AidData
  • Benin — Expected revenue of $884.6 m in transit fees and $109 m in taxes (AidData; period not stated) AidData
Lost
  • Expropriated landholders in Benin — Compensated under law no. 2020-04; some still occupied the land in November 2023 AllAfrica (from acotonou.com)
Harmed
Why?
The FPL claimed the June 2024 attack as a 'first warning to the Niamey junta'; Niger's authorities confirmed the sabotage. AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
How?
Financed by CNPC Finance (HK) loans to WAPCo-Niger and WAPCO-Bénin; Niger's authorities confirmed sabotage of a pipeline section at Tesker in June 2024. AFP via Le360 Afrique
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

On 20 September 2018 the Government of Niger and CNODC/CNPC signed a framework agreement, followed by a Niger–Benin bilateral agreement on 23 January 2019. WAPCo-Niger was incorporated on 26 April 2019 and construction started in Niger in September 2019. Works were launched in Benin on 20 May 2021; the pipeline became operational in November 2023, and the first cargo of about 1 million barrels left Benin's waters in May 2024, according to the Benin government as reported by AFP.

Niger's environmental and social impact assessment, presented by the Bureau National d'Évaluation Environnementale (BNEE) in March 2023, covers 1,293 km in Niger across 16 departments (Diffa 150 km, Zinder 421, Maradi 231, Tahoua 211, Dosso 280), with 6 pumping stations and 37 valve stations. Its stated negative impacts include loss of farmland and pasture, loss of rural livelihoods, occupation of forest zones (the Foga Béri forest) and disruption of the surface flows of the Niger River, described as a wetland. Horizontal directional drilling is planned for river crossings, and a convention lets BNEE monitor impacts. The study's stated target is 'zero accidents/incidents, zero pollution'. In Benin the route crosses 5 departments, 17 communes and 141 villages.

AidData records a loan from CNPC Finance (HK) Ltd to WAPCo-Niger (CNPC 85%, Niger 15%) of about $1.04 bn, an estimate whose face value is unknown, at an estimated rate of 8.05% and collateralised by crude sale proceeds. For Benin, the government said works costing 608 billion FCFA were funded by WAPCO-Bénin; AidData estimates a CNPC Finance (HK) loan of about $840 m. On 20 November 2023 Benin's energy minister said expropriation compensation had been paid under law no. 2020-04 of 8 May 2020, and that some expropriated people at Ifangni, Avrankou and Adjarra still occupied the land despite their commitment to vacate it on receiving payment.

On 16–17 June 2024 a section of the pipeline was sabotaged in Tesker department, Zinder region. The armed group FPL claimed the attack in a statement signed by Mahamoud Sallah, calling it a 'first warning to the Niamey junta' and demanding the cancellation of an advance agreed with CNPC, and Niger's authorities confirmed the sabotage. Télé Sahel showed a crude slick over more than 370 metres in the bush, with many dead birds and vegetation covered in crude. Zinder prosecutor Ousmane Baydo opened an inquiry, and the governor, Col. Issoufou Labo, said everyone who contributed would be arrested and tried for their 'terrorist act'. In Benin, three Nigerien nationals arrested at Sèmè-Kpodji in June 2024 received 18-month suspended sentences for impersonation and use of falsified computer data.

  1. 2018Framework agreement between the Government of Niger and CNODC/CNPC (20 September)
  2. 2019Niger–Benin bilateral agreement (23 January); WAPCo-Niger incorporated (26 April); construction starts in Niger (September)
  3. 2021Works launched in Benin (20 May)
  4. 2023Niger's impact assessment presented by BNEE (March); Benin communiqué on compensation (20 November); pipeline operational (November)
  5. 2024First cargo of about 1 million barrels (May); sabotage in Tesker (16–17 June); arrests and suspended sentences in Benin (June)

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

“first warning to the Niamey junta”

“everyone who contributed will be arrested and tried for their terrorist act”

“the largest investment ever made in Benin's history since independence”

“their commitment to vacate the land on receiving their expropriation payments”

Benin's energy minister's communiqué, on expropriated people who still occupied the land · 20 November 2023 · translated from French · AllAfrica (from acotonou.com)

“zero accidents/incidents, zero pollution”

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

Recorded

  • Niger's impact assessment lists loss of farmland and pasture, loss of rural livelihoods, occupation of forest zones (Foga Béri forest) and disruption of the surface flows of the Niger River as negative impacts.
  • Niger section: loan of about $1.04 bn from CNPC Finance (HK) Ltd to WAPCo-Niger (CNPC 85%, Niger 15%) at an estimated rate of 8.05%, collateralised by crude sale proceeds (AidData estimates).
  • Benin section: 608 billion FCFA funded by WAPCO-Bénin; AidData estimates a CNPC Finance (HK) loan of about $840 m and expected Benin revenue of $884.6 m in transit fees and $109 m in taxes.
  • Benin's expropriation compensation was paid under law no. 2020-04 of 8 May 2020.
  • June 2024 sabotage in Tesker: a crude slick over more than 370 metres, dead birds and vegetation covered in crude.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
Clean-up of the June 2024 Tesker spill—
No amount on record.
Mitigation costs listed as a component of Niger's environmental and social management plan—
The presentation lists the component without figures.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
CNPC Finance (HK) loan for the Niger section (AidData estimate)≈ $1bn
Face value unknown.
CNPC Finance (HK) loan for the Benin section (AidData estimate)≈ $840m
Total cost given on AidData's page for the Niger section$1.3bn
Niger's 15% stake in WAPCo-Niger, valued in a World Bank publication of April 2022 (via AidData)≈ $372m
Expected Benin revenue from transit fees (AidData; period not stated)$885m
Expected Benin revenue from taxes (AidData; period not stated)$109m
Benin section, as stated by the Benin government: 608 billion FCFA—
FCFA figure; no conversion.
Currency: USD · Window: 2018–2024. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • niger-government (June 2024): The governor of Zinder said everyone who contributed to the sabotage would be arrested and tried for their terrorist act; the Zinder prosecutor opened an inquiry. · AFP via Le360 Afrique
  • benin-government (20 November 2023): The energy minister said expropriation compensation had been paid under law no. 2020-04 of 8 May 2020. · AllAfrica (from acotonou.com)
  • benin-government (20 May 2021): Described the Benin section as the largest investment in Benin's history since independence. · Gouvernement du Bénin

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

  1. 2024–No defendant left
    Zinder prosecutor's inquiry into the June 2024 sabotage
    Zinder prosecutor's office · Criminal · Zinder prosecutor Ousmane Baydo → No defendant named

    The prosecutor opened an inquiry after the 16–17 June 2024 sabotage at Tesker. The governor said all who contributed would be arrested and tried. No outcome is on record. AFP via Le360 Afrique

  2. 2024–2024Claimant won
    Sentences in Benin of three Nigerien nationals arrested at Sèmè-Kpodji
    Court in Benin (not named) · Criminal · Prosecutors → Three Nigerien nationals

    In June 2024 three Nigerien nationals arrested at Sèmè-Kpodji received 18-month suspended sentences for impersonation and use of falsified computer data (AFP). AFP via Connaissance des Énergies

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Pipeline length in Niger
1,293 km
16 departments; Niger's impact assessment (BNEE, 2023)
June 2024 slick
Over 370 m
Tesker, Zinder region, with many dead birds (AFP via Le360)
Niger section loan
About $1.04 bn
CNPC Finance (HK) Ltd; AidData estimate
Benin section
608 billion FCFA
Funded by WAPCO-Bénin, per the Benin government

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Money

  • None on record Clean-up of the June 2024 Tesker spill — No amount on record.
  • None on record Mitigation costs listed as a component of Niger's environmental and social management plan — The presentation lists the component without figures.
  • None on record Benin section, as stated by the Benin government: 608 billion FCFA — FCFA figure; no conversion.

Record

  • None on record None on record: a volume, clean-up cost or compensation figure for the June 2024 Tesker spill.
  • None on record None on record: the outcome of the Zinder prosecutor's inquiry into the June 2024 sabotage.
  • None on record None on record: a statement from WAPCO or CNPC on spills.
  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the cost of the mitigation measures in Niger's environmental and social management plan; the BNEE presentation lists them as a component without figures.
  • None on record None on record: environmental impact assessment information on AidData's project pages for the pipeline.
  • None on record None on record: any mention of compensation or environmental impacts in the Benin government's 2021 launch article.
  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the face value of the CNPC Finance (HK) loan for the Niger section; $1.04 bn is AidData's estimate.
  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the total compensation paid in Niger and Benin, and the number of affected people.

Did the harm stop?

None on record.

Who paid?

The pipeline is financed by loans from CNPC Finance (HK) Ltd to WAPCo-Niger and WAPCO-Bénin, collateralised in Niger by crude sale proceeds. No source states who paid for the June 2024 clean-up.

Sources

Voices on record: — Company or project✓ Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society✓ Researchers

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Science and environment

Wetland
Land that is saturated or covered with water for long periods, such as marshes, swamps and peat bogs.