Strikes on Iranian nuclear sites, 2025 and 2026: IAEA statements on contamination and the Bushehr reactor
- After the 22 June 2025 strikes, Iran reported no increase in radiation outside Fordow, Isfahan and Natanz, UN News relayed. UN News
- No radiological consequence was expected from the damage to the entrance buildings of the Natanz plant, the IAEA said on 3 March 2026. Kuwait Times (Reuters)
- 1 people died.Security guard killed near Bushehr on 4 April 2026, per the AEOI.
- International bodies IAEA (Rafael Grossi): "The possibility of dispersion in the atmosphere of radioactivity is very high if you get to the core of the reactor." NucNet
- Company or project Rosatom: "The radiation situation at the site is normal." NucNet
- Government and regulators Atomic Energy Organization of Iran: "no financial, technical, or human damage occurred" on 17 March; on 4 April reported one security guard killed and a side building damaged. Al Jazeera
- Government and regulators Abbas Araghchi, Iran's Foreign Minister: Said Bushehr had been "bombed" four times since 28 February and "Radioactive fallout will end life in GCC capitals, not Tehran". Al Jazeera
The IAEA's Director General said in June 2025 that radioactivity outside Natanz was at normal levels while radiological and chemical contamination inside the facility was possible. In March and April 2026 statements by the IAEA, Rosatom, Iran's Atomic Energy Organization and Iran's foreign minister addressed a projectile hit and strikes near the Bushehr power station.
As reported by AP; contamination inside the facility was described as possible. The IAEA had no staff in Iran in March 2026.
Status As of 5 April 2026 (latest dated source): the AEOI reported missiles hitting close to Bushehr; the IAEA had no staff in Iran.
- Atomic Energy Organization of Iran — One security guard killed and a side building damaged near Bushehr, 4 April 2026 (AEOI) Al Jazeera
- Natanz facility interior — Radiological and chemical contamination possible inside, according to the IAEA Director General Naharnet (AP)
- Persian Gulf region — Risk of atmospheric dispersion if the Bushehr reactor core were reached (Grossi, conditional) NucNet
What happened
Natanz was hit on 13 June 2025. IAEA Director General Rafael Grossi said on 16 June, as reported by AP, that "The level of radioactivity outside the Natanz site has remained unchanged and at normal levels", that radiological and chemical contamination inside the facility was possible, and that the risk could be managed with protective equipment such as respirators. CEOBS summarised IAEA statements of 20 June 2025: damage to the Pilot Fuel Enrichment Plant and potential damage to the underground plant at Natanz; the IAEA "believes that there is radioactive and chemical contamination at both sites"; at Isfahan on 13 June four buildings were damaged, including a uranium conversion plant, with off-site radiation "unchanged"; at Arak on 18 June "no nuclear material was onsite".
After strikes on 22 June 2025, UN News reported on 23 June that Grossi said "Craters are now visible at the Fordow site" and that "no one including the IAEA, is in a position to have fully assessed the underground damage at Fordow"; Iran reported no increase in radiation outside Fordow, Isfahan and Natanz; on Bushehr, Grossi said "the risk is real".
In the war that began on 28 February 2026, the IAEA said on 3 March that it could "now confirm some recent damage to entrance buildings of Iran's underground Natanz Fuel Enrichment Plant" with "No radiological consequence expected and no additional impact detected at FEP itself". The same Reuters report said the IAEA had no staff in Iran and relied on satellite imagery, and that Rosatom had halted construction of new Bushehr units, leaving 639 Russian personnel on site.
On 17 March 2026 the IAEA said Iran informed it that "a projectile hit the premises" of the Bushehr nuclear power plant, with no damage or injuries reported. Grossi said: "This is the reddest line of all that you have in nuclear safety" and "The possibility of dispersion in the atmosphere of radioactivity is very high if you get to the core of the reactor". Rosatom said "The radiation situation at the site is normal", and Iran's Atomic Energy Organization (AEOI) said "no financial, technical, or human damage occurred" (NucNet, 19 March). On 4 April, according to the AEOI, missiles hit close to Bushehr, killing one security guard and damaging a side building. Iranian Foreign Minister Abbas Araghchi said Bushehr had been "bombed" four times since 28 February and wrote "Radioactive fallout will end life in GCC capitals, not Tehran"; AEOI head Mohammad Eslami wrote to Grossi asking the IAEA to condemn the attacks (Al Jazeera, 5 April). CEOBS wrote on 27 March of Israeli strikes on Natanz and "repeated strikes in proximity to the Bushehr reactor".
- 2025Natanz hit (13 Jun); Grossi on radioactivity outside Natanz (16 Jun); Arak (18 Jun); strikes of 22 Jun and Grossi's statement on Fordow and Bushehr (reported 23 Jun)
- 2026War begins (28 Feb); IAEA confirms damage to Natanz entrance buildings (3 Mar); projectile hits Bushehr premises (17 Mar); CEOBS overview (27 Mar); missiles hit near Bushehr per AEOI (4 Apr)
What was said
“The level of radioactivity outside the Natanz site has remained unchanged and at normal levels”
“no one including the IAEA, is in a position to have fully assessed the underground damage at Fordow”
“This is the reddest line of all that you have in nuclear safety”
“The possibility of dispersion in the atmosphere of radioactivity is very high if you get to the core of the reactor”
“The radiation situation at the site is normal”
“no financial, technical, or human damage occurred”
“Radioactive fallout will end life in GCC capitals, not Tehran”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
"The possibility of dispersion in the atmosphere of radioactivity is very high if you get to the core of the reactor."
NucNet"no financial, technical, or human damage occurred" on 17 March; on 4 April reported one security guard killed and a side building damaged.
Al JazeeraSaid Bushehr had been "bombed" four times since 28 February and "Radioactive fallout will end life in GCC capitals, not Tehran".
Al JazeeraHow it looked
Shown
- Bushehr had been "bombed" four times since 28 February 2026.Abbas Araghchi, Iran's Foreign Minister, as reported by Al Jazeera · Al Jazeera
- Missiles hit close to Bushehr, killing one security guard and damaging a side building.Atomic Energy Organization of Iran, as reported by Al Jazeera · Al Jazeera
Recorded
- Grossi: radiological and chemical contamination inside the Natanz facility was possible while radioactivity outside was at normal levels (16 June 2025).
- The IAEA confirmed damage to entrance buildings of the underground Natanz plant on 3 March 2026 and expected no radiological consequence.
- The IAEA said Iran informed it that a projectile hit the premises of the Bushehr plant on 17 March 2026.
- Neither Iran nor Russia published images of the Bushehr damage, according to NucNet.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- International Atomic Energy Agency (2025–2026): Said off-site radioactivity at Natanz was at normal levels in June 2025 and that Iran informed it of a projectile hit at Bushehr on 17 March 2026. · NucNet
- Rosatom (2026-03-19): Said the radiation situation at the Bushehr site was normal. · NucNet
- Atomic Energy Organization of Iran (2026-03 to 2026-04): Said no financial, technical or human damage occurred on 17 March; reported a security guard killed in the 4 April strikes near Bushehr; its head asked the IAEA to condemn the attacks. · Al Jazeera
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Disputed Radiological risk at the Bushehr power station after the March–April 2026 strikes
Record
- Not measured Not measured: independent off-site sampling; the IAEA statements reported give contamination as confined inside the facilities, with Iran's regulator as the main data source for off-site levels.
- Insufficient Insufficient: "no one including the IAEA, is in a position to have fully assessed the underground damage at Fordow" (Grossi, June 2025).
- Insufficient Insufficient: the IAEA had no inspectors in Iran in March 2026 and relied on satellite imagery (Reuters).
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: neither Iran nor Russia published images of the damage at Bushehr (NucNet).
- Disputed Disputed: after the 17 March 2026 incident Rosatom described the radiation situation at Bushehr as normal and the AEOI reported no damage, while Grossi said dispersion would be very likely if the reactor core were reached and Araghchi wrote that fallout would end life in GCC capitals.
- None on record None on record: legal proceedings and insurance concerning the nuclear sites.
Did the harm stop?
None on record. Statements through April 2026 describe repeated strikes near Bushehr; no end-state is reported.
Who paid?
None on record.
Sources
Press and investigations
- IAEA head warns of radiological, chemical contamination inside Iran's main nuclear siteNaharnet (AP) · 2025-06-16
- IAEA confirms damage to Iran's Natanz plant; Bushehr work haltedKuwait Times (Reuters) · 2026-03-03
- Why an attack on Bushehr nuclear plant would be catastrophic for the GulfAl Jazeera · 2026-04-05
Communities and civil society
- The emerging environmental consequences of the Israel-Iran warConflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) · 2025-06-20
- Iran War: Environmental risk overview as of 27th MarchConflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) · 2026-03-27
International bodies
- IAEA/Grossi on Fordow, Natanz, Isfahan and Bushehr riskUN News · 2025-06-23
Connected cases
- Desalination plants hit in the 2026 war: Qeshm Island and Bahrain Iran · 2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Foreign minister's statement on Qeshm
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Described the environmental risks of damage to desalination plants
- Strikes on Iranian oil and gas facilities, June 2025 and March 2026, and damage at Qatar's Ras Laffan Iran · 2025–2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Published the June 2025 overview
- Strikes on Tehran fuel depots, March 2026: smoke, black rain and Iran's "ecocide" claim Iran · 2025–2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Characterised the attack as ecocide; wrote to the UN
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Published risk summaries and imagery analysis
- Iran's 2026 war-damage estimate of about USD 270bn and its calls for compensation and environmental accountability Iran · 2026 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands
- Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant under Russian control, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of statements on contamination and risk; there: Reported on power losses and cooling water, per BASE; staff at the plant since 1 September 2022
- Rosatom (Company) — here: Operator side at Bushehr; halted construction of new units; there: Russian operator under the decree of 5 October 2022
- Al-Jaili refinery fires and wartime damage in Khartoum, 2023–2025 Sudan · 2023–2025
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Satellite and incident analysis
- Ammonia release at Sumykhimprom (Sumy) and nitric-acid explosions at Rubizhne, 2022 Ukraine · 2022–2024
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Recorded the Rubizhne explosions and plumes
- Azovstal, Mariupol and the Sea of Azov, 2022– Ukraine · 2022–2023
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Satellite damage assessment and pre-war pollution summary
- Baikalsk Pulp and Paper Mill: closure and waste clean-up Russia · 1966–2026
- Rosatom (Company) — here: Operator side at Bushehr; halted construction of new units; there: Parent of the clean-up contractor FEO
- Black Sea dolphin and porpoise deaths since 2022 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Published 2022 mortality summary; states post-mortem results not public
- Chornobyl Exclusion Zone: Russian occupation of 2022 and fires, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of statements on contamination and risk; there: Reported on radiation, trenches and fires, per BASE
- Drone strike on the Chornobyl New Safe Confinement, 14 February 2025, and the repair funding Ukraine · 2025–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of statements on contamination and risk; there: Reported on damage and radiation, per BASE and NucNet
- Electricity and diesel for groundwater pumping in Iran: subsidies and payments Iran · 2014–2024
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding
- French nuclear tests in the Algerian Sahara: buried waste, maps and compensation Algeria · 1960–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of statements on contamination and risk; there: 1999 fact-finding mission; 2005 report
- Fuel-depot fires at Kalynivka, Kriachky and Lutsk, 2022 Ukraine · 2022
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Measurement summaries for Kalynivka and Lutsk
- Fukushima treated water discharge and Chinese seafood ban Japan · 2023–2025
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of statements on contamination and risk; there: Assessed the discharge plan
- Gezira irrigation scheme: wartime losses in Al Gezira State Sudan · 2023–2026
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Satellite analysis of land and vegetation loss
- Great Man-Made River Project (Libya) and the Nubian Sandstone Aquifer Libya · 1983–2019
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of statements on contamination and risk; there: Assessment of the Nubian Sandstone Aquifer System
- Gulf War compensation (UNCC) and Kuwait oil-damage remediation Kuwait · 1991–2025
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Research NGO reporting the environmental claims figures
- Hamoun wetlands, Helmand water and the EU/UNDP restoration project Iran · 1973–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Party to the 1973 Helmand treaty
- Hoor al-Azim wetland, oil-field development and dikes in Khuzestan Iran · 2007–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Government of Iran
- Hyrcanian forests logging moratorium: announced budgets, partial allocation and the 2025 Elit fire Iran · 2015–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Enacted the ban and set the budgets
- Iran–Iraq war (1980–88): environmental damage recorded by the UN expert team in 1991 and Iran's damage estimate Iran · 1980–1991
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Source of the damage figures; later reparations demands
- Iran's Clean Air Law and urban air pollution in Tehran and Ahvaz Iran · 2017–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Budget allocations for the law
- Iran's Groundwater Restoration and Balancing Plan: unlicensed wells, sealing, meters and budgets Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Government; plan and budget bills
- Lake Urmia decline and the Urmia Lake Restoration Program Iran · 1995–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Funded the programme
- Land subsidence on the Tehran plain and across Iran Iran · 1968–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Government; ministries and the Cartographic Center report subsidence data
- Landmines and explosive remnants of the Iran–Iraq war in Iran's western provinces Iran · 1980–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Runs the state demining programme
- Makeshift oil refineries in northeast Syria linked to poisoned streams Syria · 2020
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Published the report on the refineries
- Mazut burning in Iranian power plants, 2020–2025 Iran · 2020–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Presidency; decisions on mazut use
- Mkuju River uranium mine and the Selous boundary change Tanzania · 2009–2025
- Rosatom (Company) — here: Operator side at Bushehr; halted construction of new units; there: Russian state nuclear company; parent of ARMZ and Mantra Tanzania
- Munition residues and war damage in Ukrainian soils: measurements and state damage assessments Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Hosted the April 2024 joint statement on mine action and food security
- Persian Gulf and Oman Sea desalinated water transfer to Kerman, Yazd and Isfahan Iran · 2016–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements
- Plans to move Iran's capital to the Makran coast, 2024–2025 Iran · 2024–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Proposed the relocation; president, vice president, spokeswoman and foreign minister made statements
- Rafsanjan pistachio plain: aquifer decline, subsidence and export revenue Iran · 1960–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Government; ministries cited on pistachio exports and water markets
- Semipalatinsk test site: measured contamination, land reallocation and the Nuclear Safety Zone Kazakhstan · 1949–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of statements on contamination and risk; there: 1998 assessment of radiological conditions
- Semipalatinsk test site: state compensation to residents under Kazakhstan’s 1992 law Kazakhstan · 1949–2025
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of statements on contamination and risk; there: 1998 assessment of radiological conditions at the site
- South Pars and Assaluyeh: sulphur dioxide emissions and the pollution levy Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Cabinet approved the improvement document and the 2020 decision
- South Sudan oil fields: pollution in Unity and Upper Nile South Sudan · 1999–2025
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Analysis of the Sudd and oil-field dumping
- Sudan gold: mercury and cyanide in mining, and the wartime gold trade Sudan · 2008–2026
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Environmental analysis of the war
- Sudan gum arabic belt: wartime production losses and EU and GCF funding Sudan · 2013–2028
- Conflict and Environment Observatory (CEOBS) (NGO) — here: Summarised IAEA statements and reported on strikes near Bushehr; there: Analysis of gum arabic as a funding source for both parties
- UN Compensation Commission "F4" environmental claims by Iran for the 1990–91 Gulf War Iran · 1990–2013
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Claimant
- Zagros oak forests: the UNDP/GEF Central Zagros project, its evaluation and the fires of 2024–2026 Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Allocated 13,193,669 to the project
- Zayandeh Rud and the Gavkhouni wetland: water transfers and farmers' protests in Isfahan Iran · 1953–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr; there: Promised farmers' aid and compensation