Edelman: API contract, Energy Citizens and the COP30 contract
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The public relations firm Edelman worked for the American Petroleum Institute from 2005 to 2016 and later won the communications contract for the COP30 climate summit in Brazil. The record shows it holding fossil-fuel and climate-related work at the same time.
Estimate by Clean Creatives, 2025 edition.
Status As of September 2026: Clean Creatives' latest report recorded more than 1,300 agency contracts with fossil-fuel clients; no response from Edelman on COP30 found.
- Edelman — Fees from API (more than 10% of revenue in 2010) and a US$835,000 COP30 contract. DeSmog
What happened
From 2005 to 2016 Edelman worked for the American Petroleum Institute (API), the US oil industry lobby. According to DeSmog, the contract made up more than 10% of the firm's revenue in 2010. In 2009 Edelman helped build "Energy Citizens", a structure set up against climate legislation.
In 2014 Edelman's plan for the TransCanada pipeline was leaked, and Edelman and TransCanada parted ways, according to DeSmog.
In June 2024 Edelman won a Titanium Lion at the Cannes Lions festival for a campaign for the port operator DP World. DP World is also recorded as a founding funder of the Earthshot Prize.
In 2025 Edelman received a US$835,000 contract for Brazil's COP30 summit. The record states that in the same period it also worked for Shell, Petrobras and Chevron, and that its oil and gas adviser arranged meetings with the summit secretariat on behalf of the fuel distributor Vibra Energia.
Clean Creatives, a campaign against agency work for fossil-fuel clients, counted 1,217 contracts between 709 agencies and fossil-fuel clients in 74 countries in its 2025 report and estimated that 5.64% of Edelman's revenue came from them. Its September 2026 edition recorded more than 1,300 contracts and 802 agencies.
- 2005Edelman begins work for the American Petroleum Institute (to 2016)
- 2009Edelman helps build "Energy Citizens"
- 2010API contract is more than 10% of Edelman's revenue, according to DeSmog
- 2014Edelman's TransCanada plan leaked; Edelman and TransCanada part ways
- 2024Edelman wins a Titanium Lion at Cannes for a DP World campaign (June)
- 2025Edelman receives a US$835,000 COP30 contract; Clean Creatives 2025 report estimates 5.64% of its revenue is fossil-fuel work
- 2026Clean Creatives September edition: more than 1,300 contracts, 802 agencies
How it looked
Shown
- Edelman presented as the winner of a Titanium Lion at Cannes in June 2024.Edelman · Edelman
Recorded
- API contract from 2005 to 2016; more than 10% of Edelman's revenue in 2010.
- Edelman helped build Energy Citizens in 2009.
- COP30 contract worth US$835,000 in 2025; Edelman's oil and gas adviser arranged meetings for Vibra Energia with the summit secretariat in the same period.
- Clean Creatives estimate: 5.64% of Edelman's revenue from fossil-fuel contracts (2025).
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Record
- None on record Edelman's own response to the reporting on the COP30 contract and the Vibra meetings is not on record in the sources reviewed.
- Disputed The sources reviewed give conflicting counts of 2025 contracts for the two largest holding groups: one passage lists Omnicom 118 and WPP 88, another Omnicom 120 and WPP 82.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: that the TransCanada plan proposed wearing down opponents by distraction and creating fake grassroots groups, and that Edelman said in 2015 it would not work with climate deniers.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: claimed savings of 17.7 million tonnes of carbon dioxide a year from the DP World "Move to -15" campaign; the page carrying the figures could not be opened.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: that Edelman is a family firm and the world's largest independent public relations firm.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: a link between the Cannes award and a Shell account; the source was a weak event page.
Did the harm stop?
The sources reviewed record no harm to nature attributable to this matter and no end date for the activities described.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Company or project
- Edelman, first legacy PR firm to win a Titanium LionEdelman · 2024-06
Press and investigations
- Edelman (profile)DeSmog ·
- Advertising contracts with Big Oil hit record high as profits soar from war in IranDeSmog (citing Clean Creatives F-List) · 2026-09-17
Connected cases
- Earthshot Prize funders, DP World and Edelman Cannes award United Kingdom · 2020–2026 Related matter
- Edelman (Company) — here: Public relations firm; API contractor 2005–2016; COP30 communications contract; there: Agency that made the campaign
- DP World (Company) — here: Client of the Cannes-winning campaign; Earthshot funder; there: Founding funder; client of the award-winning campaign
- Clean Creatives (NGO) — here: Campaign counting agency contracts with fossil-fuel clients; there: Campaign group listing agencies' fossil-fuel contracts
- Hill & Knowlton and Edelman: PR for fossil fuel clients and climate summits Egypt · 2005–2025
- Edelman (Company) — here: Public relations firm; API contractor 2005–2016; COP30 communications contract; there: PR firm with American Petroleum Institute and COP30 contracts
- American Petroleum Institute (Association) — here: Client 2005–2016; there: Edelman contract client, 2005 to 2016
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: agency client
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Founding member; named among five members compared by Unearthed
- Brazil REDD+ forest credits: Suruí project suspended; 2024 Amazonas concessions probed Brazil · 2013–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: minority investor in Carbonext
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Reported to hold a stake in Carbonext
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute
- Cordillera Azul National Park carbon project Peru · 2008–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Credit buyer
- Corporate suits against Greenpeace (TotalEnergies, Shell, Resolute) France, United Kingdom, United States · 2019–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Claimant against Greenpeace UK and Greenpeace International
- Court cancels Shell's Wild Coast seismic exploration rights South Africa · 2022–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Holder of the seismic exploration rights
- Germany rejects 215,000 carbon credits from Chinese oil-sector projects Germany · 2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Named among companies that used the credits, as reported
- Gorgon LNG carbon storage fell short; gap closed with credits Australia · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Gorgon partner (IEEFA)
- Groningen gas field Netherlands · date not stated
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Claimant in arbitration against the Netherlands
- Hill & Knowlton, the Frank Statement and the TIRC United States · 1953–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Client at the time of COP27
- Ken Saro-Wiwa and the Ogoni Nine; Wiwa v Shell Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Operator through SPDC; defendant in Wiwa v Shell and the Dutch case; sold SPDC in 2025
- Leonard Leo network and the anti-ESG campaign United States · 2020–2026
- American Petroleum Institute (Association) — here: Client 2005–2016; there: Met SFOF and state treasurers in 2022
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Operator through SPDC; sold SPDC in 2025
- Norway Longship and Northern Lights CCS; Sleipner Norway · 1991–2025
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Northern Lights partner
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Parent of SPDC; halted Ogoniland production in 1993; sold SPDC to Renaissance in March 2025
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: 1t.org pledger (2021 list)
- Producers funded 90% of EDF's 2013 methane study, HPPR reported United States · 2013
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Producer funder of the study
- Quest CCS (Shell, Alberta) Canada · 2015–2020
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Facility owner
- Rainforest credits investigation Global · 2009–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Named credit buyer
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Cargo owner (Shell International Petroleum); claimant against cargo underwriters
- Shell and Greenpeace settle Penguins FPSO case; Greenpeace pays RNLI £300,000 United Kingdom · 2023–2024
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Claimant
- Shell buys Australian carbon-farming firm Select Carbon in August 2020 Australia · 2020–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: acquirer of Select Carbon
- Shell nature-based solutions and carbon-neutral driving ads Netherlands · 2019–2023
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Fuel seller; advertiser of carbon-neutral driving; author of the Sky 1.5 scenario
- Shell Nigeria pipeline spill ruling (Hague Court of Appeal, 2021) Nigeria · 2021–2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Parent group of Shell Nigeria
- Shell reserves overstatement case: investors settle for $352.6 million United States · 2006
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: company whose reserves were restated
- Shell Rocky Mountain Arsenal insurance case United States · 1987–2010
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: Policyholder; co-payer of Arsenal cleanup
- Shell's 1.5C scenario relied on 700 million hectares of new forest Global · 2019–2021
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: author of the Sky 1.5 scenario; offered carbon-neutral driving
- Shell's 2022 stake in Brazilian REDD+ developer Carbonext Brazil · 2022
- Shell (Company) — here: Client in 2025 per the record; there: bought a minority stake in Carbonext in 2022