Dicamba drift (Bader Farms) and EPA re-registration
- Courts Jury (2020) and 8th Circuit: Found Monsanto and BASF liable; compensatory award of USD 15 million upheld, punitive damages overturned on appeal.
- Company or project Bayer: Did not admit crime or liability; attributed the damage to illegal application by third parties.
A peach grower, Bader Farms, won a jury verdict over dicamba drift from Monsanto and BASF products. Courts vacated the over-the-top dicamba registration in 2020 and 2024, and the EPA re-registered it in February 2026.
Set aside in 2020; about USD 300 million was to go to farmers (sources reviewed figures).
Status As of February 2026: EPA re-registered over-the-top dicamba for 2026 and 2027; the new registration was challenged in court; no ruling found.
- Monsanto (Bayer) and BASF — Sold dicamba and Xtend seed; platform revenue is not published; Xtend soybeans on 44 million acres in 2018.
- Bader Farms — Won a USD 15 million compensatory award, upheld on appeal.
- Neighbouring farms — 3.6 million acres damaged in 2017; 3,101 drift complaints.
What happened
Monsanto (now Bayer) and BASF sold the herbicide dicamba and dicamba-tolerant Xtend seed. Xtend seed went on sale in 2015, when no approved dicamba existed for spraying over the crop. In the Bader Farms case the company's agronomy lead accepted that the companies had anticipated drift.
For 2017 Monsanto forecast 2,765 drift complaints; 3,101 came. It raised its complaint budget from USD 2.4 million to USD 6.5 million. The complaint form was designed to collect data to defend Monsanto, and the company had a no-settlement policy. Universities were barred by contract from testing the volatility of XtendiMax. In a farmer survey, 24% said they planted dicamba-tolerant soybeans only to protect themselves from a neighbour's spraying. In 2017, 3.6 million acres were damaged.
In 2020 a jury found that Monsanto and BASF had agreed to a joint venture and conspiracy over the drift. On appeal the 8th Circuit upheld liability and the USD 15 million compensatory award; the USD 250 million punitive award was overturned, and a retrial on punitive damages was sought. Bayer's CEO said the company did not admit crime or liability and attributed the damage to illegal application by third parties.
Courts vacated the dicamba registration twice, in 2020 and 2024. In 2020 Bayer set aside up to USD 400 million for 2015-2020 drift damage, about USD 300 million of it for farmers, with payment conditioned on yield records and evidence of dicamba. The EPA re-registered dicamba in February 2026 for 2026 and 2027, and the new registration was also challenged in court.
- 2015Xtend seed goes on sale; no approved over-the-top dicamba existed at the time
- 20173,101 drift complaints against 2,765 forecast; 3.6 million acres damaged
- 2018Xtend soybeans planted on 44 million acres
- 2019Xtend platform on 60 million acres
- 2020Courts vacate dicamba registration (first time); Bader jury verdict; Bayer sets aside up to USD 400 million
- 2024Court vacates the registration again
- 2026EPA re-registers dicamba (February), for 2026 and 2027; challenged in court
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Found Monsanto and BASF liable; compensatory award of USD 15 million upheld, punitive damages overturned on appeal.
Did not admit crime or liability; attributed the damage to illegal application by third parties.
Re-registered over-the-top dicamba for tolerant soybean for 2026 and 2027 (February 2026).
SDSU ExtensionHow it looked
Shown
Recorded
- Monsanto forecast 2,765 drift complaints for 2017; 3,101 were received.
- The complaint budget rose from USD 2.4 million to USD 6.5 million.
- In a farmer survey, 24% said they planted dicamba-tolerant soybeans only to protect themselves from a neighbour's dicamba.
- The registration for over-the-top dicamba was vacated by courts in 2020 and 2024.
- The EPA approved over-the-top dicamba for tolerant soybean for 2026 and 2027.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- bayer (2020): Its CEO said the company did not admit crime or liability in the settlement and attributed the damage to illegal application by third parties.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2020Reduced on appeal$15m Compensatory damages upheld (USD million)Bader Farms v Monsanto and BASFMDL; jury trial, then 8th Circuit · Civil · Bader Farms (peach grower) → Monsanto (Bayer) and BASF
A 2020 jury found the companies had agreed to a joint venture and conspiracy over dicamba drift. The 8th Circuit upheld liability and the USD 15 million compensatory award; the USD 250 million punitive award was overturned and a retrial on punitive damages was sought. Bader also reached a settlement whose amount was not disclosed.
- 2024-02Claimant wonVacatur of the over-the-top dicamba registrationUS federal court · Administrative · → EPA
Courts vacated the registration in 2020 and 2024. National Agricultural Law Center
- OngoingChallenge to the February 2026 dicamba registrationnot on record · Administrative · → EPA
The new registration was also challenged in court. SDSU Extension
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
- Disputed Who was responsible for dicamba drift damage?
Accounts
- Disputed Should over-the-top dicamba be registered?
Record
- Not disclosed Revenue of the Xtend platform is not published.
- Not disclosed The amount of the Bader Farms settlement is not disclosed.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: a sales projection for 'defensive planting' appears only in an advocacy group's account; the underlying document was not seen.
Did the harm stop?
The registration was vacated in 2020 and 2024; the EPA re-registered over-the-top dicamba in February 2026 for 2026 and 2027.
Who paid?
Bader Farms received a jury award of USD 15 million in compensatory damages (upheld) plus an undisclosed settlement; Bayer set aside up to USD 400 million for 2015-2020 drift damage.
Sources
Researchers
- EPA approves dicamba over-the-top applications on tolerant soybean for 2026 and 2027SDSU Extension · 2026-02
- The deal with dicamba: court vacates over-the-top registrationNational Agricultural Law Center · 2024-02
Connected cases
- Jury awards $250 million punitive damages over dicamba drift, later overturned United States · 2020–2022 Related matter
- Bayer buys Monsanto for $66bn; four firms hold most seed and pesticide sales Global · 2018
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: Acquired company; patent holder in the saved-seed case
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Acquirer of Monsanto (2018); large seed and pesticide seller
- BASF (Company) — here: Dicamba seller; co-defendant in the Bader case; there: Bought businesses sold to win approval
- Monsanto/Bayer PCB and Roundup insurance suit v AIG United States · 1967–2026
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: Original insured; PCB and Roundup defendant
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Claimant in the suit against AIG; owner of Monsanto
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator; the sources reviewed say it told Bayer it would not accept a cancer warning
- Roundup litigation, settlements and legal shield (Bayer/Monsanto) United States · 2009–2026
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: Roundup maker; defendant
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Parent company of Monsanto; settlement payer
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Approved the Roundup label; said it would not accept a cancer warning
- Court reverses $60 million punitive award in dicamba case United States · 2015–2026
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Party in the dicamba litigation
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Approved over-the-top dicamba use for 2026 and 2027
- Glyphosate safety review retracted over undisclosed Monsanto ghostwriting Global · 2000–2025
- Greens report: parts of German glyphosate assessment copied Monsanto file Germany · 2015–2025
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: Company whose licence file and studies are at issue
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: US regulator; former staff moved to Monsanto; Rowland remark reported
- Major agrochemical firms buy biological input makers and sell organic-approved lines Multiple countries · 2012–2023
- PCB pollution and the Monsanto Anniston settlement United States · 2002–2025
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: Defendant in the Anniston and later PCB settlements
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Owner of Monsanto; party to the 2020 settlements; plaintiff against AIG
- The four biggest agrochemical firms each bought a biologicals company, 2012 to 2026 Global · 2012–2026
- US Supreme Court blocks state cancer-warning suits against pesticide makers United States · 2026
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: Petitioner; defendant in the state suits
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Approved the labels; announced the paraquat review
- 1,4-dioxane in Tide: Prop 65 settlement and New York limit United States · 2011–2024
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator; revised risk determination
- 3M PFOS: internal evidence, EPA penalty and Minnesota settlement United States · 1979–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator; TSCA charge closed 2006
- ADM Decatur carbon storage site leaks about 8,000 tons, EPA finds United States · 2023–2024
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: regulator that found a violation
- AES coal ash sold as road fill in Guayama, Puerto Rico; arsenic above standard United States · 2021
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Federal regulator promising action
- After Sackett ruling, NRDC says at least 60% of individual wetlands are unprotected United States · 2023
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Defendant in Sackett; named in reported 2025 and 2026 proposals to narrow the test (not verified)
- Alliance to End Plastic Waste and Renew Oceans (Ganges) India · 2019–2026
- BASF (Company) — here: Dicamba seller; co-defendant in the Bader case; there: Founding member
- Bayer's carbon program pays farmers per practice, not per tonne United States · 2024
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Runs the programme; measures, verifies and holds the carbon assets
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Suspended BP from new federal contracts, 2012–2014
- Brazilian court halts Bayer licence fees on Intacta soy after patent expiry Brazil · date not stated
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Licence holder that sought fees on Intacta soy
- Cali Fund (digital sequence information) Global · 2024–2026
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Company commenting on legal uncertainty
- California v. ExxonMobil: plastics recycling claims and the Baytown plant United States · 2021–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Rejected the mass balance method for its Safer Choice label, per ProPublica
- Chemours spin-off liabilities United States · 2015–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator in the December 2005 PFOA case
- Diamond Shamrock Lister Avenue dioxin, Passaic River United States · 1984–1993
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Selected the 2016 lower Passaic remedy
- DuPont PFOA (C8) at Washington Works, Parkersburg, and the Tennant farm United States · 1981–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator; 2005 penalty
- Earth Day 1970 seed money came from a senator, two unions and a foundation United States · 1970–1990
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: 1990 anniversary sponsor
- EPA repeals 2009 greenhouse gas endangerment finding on legal grounds United States · 2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Issued the repeal
- EU banned-pesticide exports European Union · 2018–2026
- BASF (Company) — here: Dicamba seller; co-defendant in the Bader case; there: Largest exporter (over 33,000 t in 2024)
- EU bans three neonicotinoid pesticides outdoors in 2018; Turkey follows in part European Union · 2018
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: neonicotinoid manufacturer; bee-health programme; court challenge
- Exxon Valdez: the spill, insurance and court cases United States · 1989–2015
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Federal regulator in the 1991 settlement
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Withdrew the Range Resources emergency order in 2012
- French regulator fines Monsanto 400,000 euros over lobbying file France · 2021
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: Company fined over the lobbying file
- GE ran a 'Let Nature Clean Up the Hudson' campaign against EPA dredging United States · 2009–2015
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator that ordered and certified the dredging
- GenX chemical found in Cape Fear River, a DuPont and Chemours replacement for PFOA United States · 2009
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Found in 2021 that GenX was more toxic than previously thought
- Gulf of Mexico dead zone (Mississippi nutrient runoff) United States · 1985–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Clean Water Act regulator
- Halmahera nickel complex (IWIP, Weda Bay) and the Hongana Manyawa Indonesia · 2018–2026
- BASF (Company) — here: Dicamba seller; co-defendant in the Bader case; there: Withdrew from a project with Eramet in 2024
- Harrison campaign against Silent Spring and Burson-Marsteller crisis PR United States · 1962–1997
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: Client of Harrison's firm; published a parody of Carson
- Holcim Geocycle and brand-cement plastic co-processing Global · 2021–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator; found no meaningful climate benefit from burning plastic instead of coal in kilns (as reported)
- Indian indigo area and exports fell sharply, 1895 to 1956 India · 1895–1956
- BASF (Company) — here: Dicamba seller; co-defendant in the Bader case; there: Named as an early seller of synthetic indigo (reported, not verified)
- Make Sunsets stratospheric balloon launches (Mexico) Mexico · 2022–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator that requested information
- Marine genetic sequence patents (BASF) and BBNJ Global · 2018–2026
- BASF (Company) — here: Dicamba seller; co-defendant in the Bader case; there: Holder of 47% of counted patented marine sequences (reported)
- Monsanto admits illegal pesticide use in Hawaii and pays $10.2 million United States · 2019
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: Company that admitted the violation
- Monsanto faces US bribery charge over Indonesian environmental review Indonesia · 2005
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: company charged with bribery
- Mosaic settles US hazardous-waste case over phosphogypsum handling United States · 2015
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator that inspected the sites and signed the settlement
- Nonylphenol ethoxylates: Swiss ban and EU restriction Switzerland · 1984–2014
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Published the nonylphenol ethoxylate action plan
- Pará state pre-sold 12 million REDD+ credits; federal prosecutors sue to cancel Brazil · 2023–2026
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Named buyer
- Paraquat bans, UK production for export and Chinese exports United Kingdom · 1989–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator; interim decision of 2021 and January 2025 announcement
- Paraquat litigation (Syngenta/Chevron) and the Paraquat Papers United States · 1958–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator; 2021 interim decision and 2025 withdrawal
- PFAS water utility settlements by 3M, DuPont, Chemours and Corteva United States · 2023–2036
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator; drinking-water limits for PFOA and PFOS
- Portland Harbor Superfund cleanup plan (Willamette River, Oregon) United States · 2016–2017
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator; issued the draft plan and the final Superfund decision
- PPL Therapeutics collapse and transgenic sheep cull (Scotland, New Zealand) United Kingdom · 1987–2004
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Partner reported to have withdrawn in 2003
- Sri Lanka fertiliser ban Sri Lanka · 2021
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Crop-protection company that commented on the transition
- Starbase launch site, Boca Chica, Texas: environmental review, penalties and Starship debris United States · 2022–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Federal environmental regulator; found Clean Water Act violations
- Stockholm Convention agrees chlorpyrifos phase-out with 22 uses exempted United States · 2021–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: regulator
- Trump's EPA keeps Biden-era veto on Alaska's Pebble mine United States · 2023–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Issued and reaffirmed the veto
- US bans DDT in 1972; bald eagle breeding pairs rebound United States · 1972–2019
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: issued the 1972 DDT ban
- US coal ash ponds, groundwater contamination and EPA delay United States · 2015–2026
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Regulator
- US power-plant sulfur emissions fell over 95%, EPA says United States · 1990–2022
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: published the programme results
- US Superfund tax and funding shortfall United States · 1980–2025
- US Environmental Protection Agency (Public authority) — here: Regulator; re-registered dicamba in February 2026; there: Administers Superfund; reports responsible-party commitments
- US Supreme Court ruled that replanting patented seed infringes the patent United States · 1996–2013
- Monsanto (Company) — here: Seller of dicamba and Xtend seed; defendant in the Bader case; there: Plaintiff in Bowman; won
- Verra suspends three REDD+ schemes in Brazil's Portel over public land overlap Brazil · 2023–2025
- Bayer (Company) — here: Owner of Monsanto; set aside up to USD 400 million for drift damage; there: Buyer of credits from the Portel schemes