Drone strike on the Chornobyl New Safe Confinement, 14 February 2025, and the repair funding
- Radiation levels inside and outside remained normal and stable after the strike, the IAEA said on X. AP (via Fox19)
- My arch lost its primary safety functions, including the confinement capability, according to the IAEA assessment reported in December 2025. NucNet
A drone struck the New Safe Confinement over the destroyed Unit 4 of the Chornobyl plant on 14 February 2025. The IAEA reported, as relayed by NucNet, that the structure had lost its primary safety functions; the EBRD put the repair cost at no less than EUR 500 million and Ukraine's Energy Ministry at EUR 412 million.
Preliminary estimates. EBRD (April and October 2026): at least EUR 500 million. Ukraine's Energy Ministry (1 April 2026): EUR 412 million for the full repair of the Arch.
Status As of October 2026: the G7 committed EUR 260 million on 15 October 2026; a donor conference was scheduled for 9 November 2026; no repair contractor is on record.
- Chornobyl NPP / NSC operator — The arch lost its primary safety functions; dismantling of unstable 1986 Shelter structures cannot resume until repaired (plant statement, March 2026) Chornobyl NPP (state enterprise)
- Donors to the ICCA — Funding repairs with grants and pledges, including the G7's EUR 260 million, Germany's EUR 50 million and EU and UK contributions EBRD
- Ukraine's national budget — EUR 31 million allocated, per Nuclear Engineering International Nuclear Engineering International
- Confinement of the destroyed Unit 4 — Outer cladding breached by a hole of about 6 m; about 50% of the north roof damaged by burning; corrosion risk Greenpeace Ukraine
What happened
At about 01:50 local time on 14 February 2025 a drone hit the New Safe Confinement (NSC), the EBRD-financed arch over the destroyed Unit 4 of the Chornobyl plant. The IAEA said, according to BASE, that the drone started a fire and made a hole of about 6 m in diameter through both layers of the structure, with no elevated radiation. The IAEA said on X, as reported by AP, that “Radiation levels inside and outside remain normal and stable” and that the inner containment shell was not breached; it did not attribute blame. Fires in the cladding smouldered until 7 March 2025 (BASE).
Damage assessments followed. A Greenpeace Ukraine mission, with figures from a Chornobyl NPP lead engineer, reported on 20 March 2025 that about 50% of the north roof was damaged by burning, that the crane system was damaged and that snow and water could enter, risking corrosion; Greenpeace wrote that the structure “no longer functions as designed and licensed”. The IAEA's assessment, reported by NucNet on 8 December 2025, said the NSC had lost its primary safety functions, including the confinement capability, with no permanent damage to load-bearing structures or monitoring systems. In March 2026 the plant said full restoration had to be complete by 2030 to prevent accelerated corrosion, and that dismantling of unstable 1986 Shelter structures could not resume until the repair was done. Temporary closure of the hole in the outer cladding was completed in October 2025.
Ukraine and Russia gave opposing accounts of the strike. President Zelensky said on 14 February 2025 that a Russian drone with a high-explosive warhead had hit the structure; Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov said that any claim of strikes on nuclear infrastructure was not true. Ukraine's Prosecutor General Ruslan Kravchenko said on 22 April 2026 that the attack was likely intentional, based on impact angle and a pre-determined route; the Prosecutor General's Office described the drone as Shahed-type. McKenzie Intelligence Services, commissioned by Greenpeace, said the drone was a Russian Geran-2. The IAEA did not attribute blame.
Repair cost estimates differ. In June 2025 the EBRD said emergency repairs could exceed EUR 100 million and that an exact estimate was not yet possible. On 1 April 2026 Ukraine's Energy Ministry said preliminary estimates indicated EUR 412 million for the full repair of the Arch; EBRD President Odile Renaud-Basso said in April 2026 that at least EUR 500 million was needed, preliminary and possibly rising, with work to start in 2028 and finish in 2030. Pledges to the EBRD-managed ICCA included EU and UK contributions in June 2025 (up to EUR 31.7 million, per the EBRD), a EUR 30 million reallocation from the ICCA administrative budget that, according to Ukraine's Ministry of Energy, the donors' assembly was to make on 1 April 2026, EUR 50 million from Germany announced on 19 August 2026 and a G7 commitment of EUR 260 million announced on 15 October 2026. A donor conference in Paris was scheduled for 9 November 2026.
On 9 March 2026 Chornobyl NPP, the EBRD, Bouygues and Vinci, members of the Novarka consortium that built the NSC, met to discuss a renewed consortium, “NOVARKA-2”, and the two companies were assessing costs in their proposals. A separate drone strike on 7 June 2026 damaged a fuel reception building at the Central Spent Fuel Storage Facility, a few hundred metres from spent-fuel containers; the IAEA said, according to BASE, there was no elevated radiation.
- 2025Drone hits the NSC (14 Feb); fires in the cladding extinguished (7 Mar); Greenpeace Ukraine reports roof damage (20 Mar); EU and UK contribute to the ICCA (June); outer-cladding hole closed temporarily (Oct); IAEA assessment reported (8 Dec)
- 2026Ukraine allocates EUR 31m (Feb); NSC contractors meet (9 Mar); donors' assembly to reallocate EUR 30m and Ministry estimates EUR 412m (1 Apr); Prosecutor General says attack likely intentional (22 Apr); restoration account opened (26 Apr); Germany pledges EUR 50m (19 Aug); G7 commits EUR 260m (15 Oct); donor conference scheduled in Paris (9 Nov)
What was said
“Radiation levels inside and outside remain normal and stable”
“Putin is certainly not preparing for negotiations.”
“There is no talk about strikes on nuclear infrastructure, nuclear energy facilities, any such claim isn't true”
“this targeted attack on an object containing dangerous forces is unequivocally a war crime”
“Obviously, flights over nuclear facilities are carried out exclusively for intimidation and terror”
“had lost its primary safety functions, including the confinement capability”
“Limited temporary repairs have been carried out on the roof, but timely and comprehensive restoration remains essential”
“no one will be able to handle this task better than the companies that designed and built the Confinement.”
“Preliminary estimates indicate that EUR 412 million will be required for the full repair of the Arch”
“We need a firm commitment of funding by the end of 2027”
“Initial preliminary estimates point to half a billion euros”
“A deal was signed today to open a restoration account for the New Safe Confinement and for the first tranche”
“The EBRD is grateful to the G7 nations for their continued leadership and commitment to nuclear safety at Chornobyl.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
A Russian drone with a high-explosive warhead hit the arch (14 February 2025); the attack was likely intentional, based on impact angle and a pre-determined route (22 April 2026).
Interfax-Ukraine“There is no talk about strikes on nuclear infrastructure, nuclear energy facilities, any such claim isn't true” (14 February 2025).
AP (via Fox19)The drone was a Russian Geran-2, almost certainly pre-programmed (Greenpeace wording).
Greenpeace UkraineEUR 412 million for the full repair of the Arch (1 April 2026).
Interfax-UkraineAt least EUR 500 million, preliminary and possibly rising (April 2026); “Initial preliminary estimates point to half a billion euros”; at least EUR 500 million (15 October 2026).
EBRDAttributes a EUR 500 million damage estimate to the IAEA.
Kyiv IndependentHow it looked
Shown
- A claim that a Russian drone with a high-explosive warhead hit the structure, and a statement that the strike showed that Russia was not preparing for negotiationsPresident Zelensky of Ukraine · AP (via Fox19)
- A denial that any strike on nuclear infrastructure had taken placeKremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov · AP (via Fox19)
- An assessment that the attack was likely intentional, from impact angle and a pre-determined routeProsecutor General of Ukraine · Interfax-Ukraine
- An identification of the drone as a Russian Geran-2, almost certainly pre-programmedMcKenzie Intelligence Services, commissioned by Greenpeace · Greenpeace Ukraine
Recorded
- No radiation increase was recorded after the strike (IAEA, per BASE; Chornobyl NPP sensor network as of 20 March 2025, per Greenpeace Ukraine).
- The IAEA recorded loss of the confinement function and a corrosion risk; no release was measured. It recommended humidity control, an updated corrosion-monitoring programme and upgraded integrated automated monitoring (NucNet).
- The strike broke the tightness of the outer cladding, disabled the anti-corrosion protection of metal structures and damaged critical systems, according to Chornobyl NPP (10 March 2026).
- The IAEA did not attribute the strike to any party (AP).
- Original structure: cost EUR 1.5 billion, funded by 45 donor countries and institutions, with a 2007 design-and-build contract of EUR 935 million (Nuclear Engineering International).
- Contributions to EBRD-managed Chornobyl programmes since 1995: about EUR 2 billion (EBRD, June 2025).
- Contributions to EBRD-managed Chornobyl programmes since 1995: over EUR 2.5 billion (EBRD, October 2026).
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- russia-gov (14 February 2025): “There is no talk about strikes on nuclear infrastructure, nuclear energy facilities, any such claim isn't true” (Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov). · AP (via Fox19)
- iaea (14 February 2025): Did not attribute blame; “Radiation levels inside and outside remain normal and stable”. · AP (via Fox19)
- ebrd (15 October 2026): “The EBRD is grateful to the G7 nations for their continued leadership and commitment to nuclear safety at Chornobyl.” · EBRD
- chornobyl-npp (10 March 2026): Full restoration must be complete by 2030; the companies that built the Confinement are best placed to handle the task. · Chornobyl NPP (state enterprise)
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2025–No defendant leftUkraine's criminal case over the drone strike on the New Safe ConfinementProsecutor General's Office of Ukraine · Criminal · Prosecutor General's Office of Ukraine → No defendant named
Greenpeace Ukraine reported that the Prosecutor General's Office opened a criminal case. On 22 April 2026 Prosecutor General Ruslan Kravchenko said the attack was likely intentional, based on impact angle and a pre-determined route. A department official, Yuriy Belousov, was quoted as describing the attack as “unequivocally a war crime”; no court has ruled and no charges against named persons are on record. Interfax-Ukraine
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Money
- None on record Compensation paid by a party held responsible — None on record.
Accounts
Record
- Disputed Figures differ: the repair cost is given as EUR 412 million for the full repair of the Arch (Ukraine's Ministry of Energy, 1 April 2026) and at least EUR 500 million (EBRD, April and October 2026). Kyiv Independent attributes a EUR 500 million damage estimate to the IAEA.
- Unclear Unclear: the scope of each repair estimate.
- Disputed Figures differ: the original NSC cost is given as EUR 1.5 billion (Nuclear Engineering International) and EUR 2.1 billion (Kyiv Post).
- Disputed Figures differ: the EBRD gave international contributions to its Chornobyl programmes of about EUR 2 billion (June 2025) and over EUR 2.5 billion (October 2026), and its own resources as more than EUR 800 million (June 2025) and more than EUR 700 million (October 2026).
- Disputed Figures differ: June 2025 contributions to the ICCA are given as up to EUR 31.7 million (EU up to EUR 25 million, UK up to EUR 6.7 million; EBRD) and EUR 42.5 million including France (Nuclear Engineering International).
- Disputed Figures differ: Ukraine's allocation after the strike is given as EUR 31 million (Nuclear Engineering International, February 2026) and UAH 1.6 billion (Euromaidan Press).
- Disputed Figures differ: the date of the IAEA assessment mission is given as November 2025 (Chornobyl NPP) and reported in early December 2025 (NucNet).
- None on record None on record: a repair contractor award; Bouygues and Vinci were still assessing cost in March 2026.
- None on record None on record: charges against named persons in the criminal case over the strike.
- None on record None on record: deposit of the G7 commitment of EUR 260 million into the ICCA; the EBRD describes it as a commitment.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: an exact repair estimate in June 2025 (the EBRD said it was not yet possible); NucNet (December 2025) gave no repair cost figure; Chornobyl NPP (March 2026) gave no restoration cost figure.
- Disputed Disputed: responsibility for the strike. Ukraine says a Russian drone hit the structure; Russia denies strikes on nuclear infrastructure; the IAEA did not attribute blame.
Did the harm stop?
Fires in the cladding smouldered until 7 March 2025 (BASE). A temporary closure of the hole in the outer cladding was completed in October 2025; the EBRD president said in April 2026 that repair work would start in 2028 and finish in 2030.
Who paid?
Donors through the EBRD-managed ICCA, the G7 (EUR 260 million committed), Germany (EUR 50 million) and Ukraine's national budget are funding repairs, as grants and pledges. None on record: payment by a party held responsible.
Sources
Company or project
- On the eve of the ICCA Assembly, Chornobyl NPP, EBRD and Bouygues and Vinci discussed key tasks for restoring NSC functionalityChornobyl NPP (state enterprise) · 2026-03-10
Government and regulators
- On the current situation in UkraineBASE (Federal Office for the Safety of Nuclear Waste Management, Germany) · 2022–2026 (running chronology)
Press and investigations
- Russia denies striking Chernobyl reactor shell after Ukrainian claimsAP (via Fox19) · 2025-02-14
- Russia attack on Chornobyl reactor confinement in 2025 intentional – prosecutor generalInterfax-Ukraine · 2026-04-22
- Chornobyl NSC restoration plan advancesNuclear Engineering International · 2026-03-18
- EBRD eyes $585M to repair Chornobyl shelterKyiv Post · 2026-spring
- Donors allocate EUR 30 mln for initial restoration work on NSCInterfax-Ukraine · 2026-04-01
- Arch at ChNPP to be repaired no earlier than 2030Liga.net · 2026-04
- Germany allocates 50 million euros to restore Chornobyl NPPKyiv Independent · 2026-08-20
- Funding pledge and tributes paid at conference marking Chernobyl anniversaryWorld Nuclear News · 2026-04-27
- Ukraine opens fund to restore Chornobyl shelterEuromaidan Press · 2026-04-26
Communities and civil society
- Fifty percent of north roof structure of Chornobyl New Safe Confinement shelter severely damagedGreenpeace Ukraine · 2025-03-20
International bodies
- EU and UK make contributions to EBRD-managed Chornobyl ICCA fundEBRD · 2025-06-26
- EBRD welcomes G7 commitment to finance urgent repairs to ChornobylEBRD · 2026-10-15
Connected cases
- Chornobyl Exclusion Zone: Russian occupation of 2022 and fires, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Chornobyl NPP (state specialised enterprise) (Company) — here: Plant operator; reported damage and restoration plan; there: State enterprise; reported looting losses of USD 135m
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate; there: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on damage and radiation, per BASE and NucNet; there: Reported on radiation, trenches and fires, per BASE
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Criminal case over the strike; there: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025)
- BASE (Federal Office for the Safety of Nuclear Waste Management, Germany) (Public authority) — here: German regulator whose chronology records IAEA statements; there: German regulator whose chronology records IAEA statements
- Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant under Russian control, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on damage and radiation, per BASE and NucNet; there: Reported on power losses and cooling water, per BASE; staff at the plant since 1 September 2022
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate; there: Disputes Russian ownership; Prosecutor General opened proceedings
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Criminal case over the strike; there: Opened proceedings on 4 March 2022
- BASE (Federal Office for the Safety of Nuclear Waste Management, Germany) (Public authority) — here: German regulator whose chronology records IAEA statements; there: German regulator whose chronology records IAEA statements
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Account of responsibility; named in the claims and suspicion notices
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate; there: Co-author of the PDNA and RDNA reports; prosecuting authorities; claimant of environmental damage
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Criminal case over the strike; there: Criminal proceedings; ICC data
- Khimki forest and the M11 Moscow–St Petersburg toll motorway (km 15–58) Russia · 2007–2025
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate; there: Memorandum signatory 2009; stated it was not financing the first stage
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Land-transfer order; Medvedev and Ivanov statements
- Vinci (Company) — here: Member of the Novarka consortium; discussed repair; there: Leader of the NWCC consortium; concession operator
- Ukraine’s criminal proceedings over wartime environmental harm Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: No response on record
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate; there: Prosecuting state
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Criminal case over the strike; there: Charged the Neutron Source officers; reported the Askania-Nova conviction
- Kerch Strait storm, November 2007: Volgoneft 139 fuel-oil spill and sulphur-ship sinkings Russia · 2007–2018
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Government claimants; military clean-up reported
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate; there: Affected state; damage estimate over USD 1 billion
- Register of Damage for Ukraine, the Claims Commission convention and the money meant to pay claims Ukraine · 2024–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Owner of immobilised central bank assets
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate; there: Claimant State; B3.1 filer
- Sakhalin-2: 2006 approval revocation, Gazprom stake purchase, 2009 damage-claim settlement and lender exits Russia · 2005–2009
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate; there: Stopped considering the financing in 2007
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: President Putin present at the December 2006 protocol
- Ukraine's Joint Implementation credits and Kyoto unit sales to Japan and Spain, 2008–2021 Ukraine · 2008–2021
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate; there: Seller of AAUs; host of the JI projects
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Criminal case over the strike; there: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018)
- Usinsk pipeline spill (Komi, 1994) and the World Bank and EBRD emergency loans Russia · 1994–2004
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate; there: Lender: US$25 million loan to the Russian Federation
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Borrower of both loans; on-lent them to Komineft
- War-related greenhouse-gas emissions and Ukraine’s planned climate damage claim Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: No response on record
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate; there: Intended claimant
- Almaty CHP-2 coal-to-gas conversion, Kazakhstan Kazakhstan · 2017–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate; there: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn
- Ammonia release at Sumykhimprom (Sumy) and nitric-acid explosions at Rubizhne, 2022 Ukraine · 2022–2024
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Criminal case over the strike; there: Notified suspicion to five Russian officers; stated the damage and ammonia figures
- Arctic Sunrise seizure at the Prirazlomnaya platform: ITLOS bond, PCA arbitration, 2019 settlement and ECtHR judgment Russia · 2012–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Respondent; did not appear before ITLOS or the PCA tribunal; settled in 2019
- Askania-Nova Biosphere Reserve under occupation, 2022– Ukraine · 2022–2025
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Criminal case over the strike; there: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court
- Baikal Natural Territory: expertise exemptions and clear-cutting rules Russia · 2020–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Sets the list of objects under Article 25.1(3); Deputy Prime Minister statements
- Baikal omul industrial fishing ban (from 2017) Russia · 2016–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Funded releases, hatchery and research vessel
- Baikalsk Pulp and Paper Mill: closure and waste clean-up Russia · 1966–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Decree No. 1; funded wages and clean-up; named contractors
- Baikonur launch accidents 1999–2007: Kazakh claims and the compensation agreed Kazakhstan · 1999–2007
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Respondent in the intergovernmental talks
- Baikonur lease, rocket-stage drop zones and fuel monitoring; Proton phase-out and Baiterek Kazakhstan · 1994–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year
- Carpathian beech, IKEA's supply chain and FSC certification: Earthsight's 2020 findings and the responses Ukraine · 2018–2025
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Criminal case over the strike; there: Notified officials of suspicion in 2025 logging cases
- Cosmos 1408 anti-satellite test (Russia) Russia · 2021
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Conducted the test
- Degelen Mountain plutonium security operation (United States–Kazakhstan–Russia) Kazakhstan · 1996–2012
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure
- ESPO oil pipeline rerouted away from the Baikal shore (2006) Russia · 2005–2008
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: President ordered the reroute; Prime Minister approved the route
- French nuclear tests in the Algerian Sahara: buried waste, maps and compensation Algeria · 1960–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on damage and radiation, per BASE and NucNet; there: 1999 fact-finding mission; 2005 report
- Fukushima treated water discharge and Chinese seafood ban Japan · 2023–2025
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on damage and radiation, per BASE and NucNet; there: Assessed the discharge plan
- Great Man-Made River Project (Libya) and the Nubian Sandstone Aquifer Libya · 1983–2019
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on damage and radiation, per BASE and NucNet; there: Assessment of the Nubian Sandstone Aquifer System
- Hardwood logging in the Russian Far East and exports to China Russia · 2001–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Officials' statements 2020 and 2023
- Indorama Agro cotton project (Uzbekistan) Uzbekistan · 2021–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate; there: Lender; operator of the accountability mechanism handling the complaint
- Norilsk diesel spill Russia · 2020–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Declared federal emergency; federal budget received the award
- Nornickel Sulphur Programme: SO2 targets, spending and measured emissions at Norilsk and Kola Russia · 2015–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Resolution No. 353 of 12 March 2022; emissions-quota experiment postponed
- Oyu Tolgoi copper-gold mine: Gobi water, Undai River diversion, herder complaints and project finance Mongolia · 2004–2025
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate; there: Lender and arranger; Project Complaint Mechanism
- Proton-M crash at Baikonur, 2 July 2013: Kazakhstan’s KZT 13.69bn damage claim against Russia Kazakhstan · 2013–2016
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Russian side in the compensation talks
- Russia's 1 January 2022 ban on exports of unprocessed softwood and valuable hardwood logs Russia · 2020–2025
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Issued the instruction, duties and quotas
- Russia's forest-fire control zones and federal fire-service funding Russia · 2015–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Reserve-fund Order No. 2740-r (2026); Decree No. 382 issued by the President
- Russia's national carbon-unit system under Federal Law 296-FZ Russia · 2021–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Adopted Decree No. 234 of 2026
- Russian forest-climate projects: RUSAL fire-protection units and Sakhalin larch planting Russia · 2019–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Federal Law 492-FZ and reserve-account rules
- Russian Joint Implementation credits under the Kyoto Protocol, 2009–2012 Russia · 2009–2015
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Approved projects through the Designated Focal Point
- Sakhalin carbon-neutrality experiment under Federal Law 34-FZ Russia · 2022–2028
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Set the payment rate; federal law 34-FZ
- Sakhalin-2 and Sakhalin-1 in 2022: transfer decrees, the ecological-audit deduction clause and write-downs Russia · 2022–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Decree No. 416 and the orders on the stake sale
- Sary-Shagan test range lease to Russia: rent, a 1992–1996 compensation clause and an ecological commission Kazakhstan · 1992–2016
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Lessee; treaty obligations on rent, compensation and ecological consequences
- Semipalatinsk test site: measured contamination, land reallocation and the Nuclear Safety Zone Kazakhstan · 1949–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on damage and radiation, per BASE and NucNet; there: 1998 assessment of radiological conditions
- Semipalatinsk test site: state compensation to residents under Kazakhstan’s 1992 law Kazakhstan · 1949–2025
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on damage and radiation, per BASE and NucNet; there: 1998 assessment of radiological conditions at the site
- Siberian wildfire season of 2019: Krasnoyarsk, Irkutsk and Yakutia Russia · 2019
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Prime Minister ordered arson checks (1 August 2019)
- Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics: environmental pledges and the Mzymta valley Russia · 2007–2018
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Host government; Putin and Kozak statements
- Soviet whaling catches and the reports to the IWC, 1948–1979 Russia · 1948–1994
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure; there: Supplied original catch data to the IWC Scientific Committee in 1994
- Strikes on Iranian nuclear sites, 2025 and 2026: IAEA statements on contamination and the Bushehr reactor Iran · 2025–2026
- International Atomic Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Reported on damage and radiation, per BASE and NucNet; there: Source of statements on contamination and risk
- Suspicion notices over UAH 49.2 million in farmland demining contracts, Mykolaiv oblast Ukraine · 2024–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Criminal case over the strike; there: Notified six people of suspicion
- Turkish holdings' coal expansion alongside renewables (Cenal, Akbelen, İçdaş) Türkiye · 2021–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate; there: Lender
- Ukraine's ban on raw-log exports and the EU–Ukraine Association Agreement arbitration, 2015–2026 Ukraine · 2015–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate; there: Imposed the export ban and the zero quotas; respondent
- Ukraine's mine contamination, the farmland demining programme and mine-action money Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate; there: Sets contamination figures; runs the demining strategy
- Ukraine’s official count of war damage to the environment Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Ukraine (Government) — here: Attributes the strike to a Russian drone; Energy Ministry estimate; there: Publisher of the damage figures
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate; there: Lender to Indorama Agro (USD 70 million)
- Western gray whales off Sakhalin and the company-funded IUCN advisory panel Russia · 2004–2022
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate; there: Lender whose conditions shaped the panel process before leaving the financing