BP acquires majority stake in Finite Carbon, a US forest carbon developer
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
BP bought a majority stake in forest-carbon developer Finite Carbon in December 2020. South Pole left the Kariba forest-carbon scheme in Zimbabwe in October 2023, saying it was disappointed with how the operator ran it on the ground.
- BP — majority stake in Finite Carbon, a forest-carbon developer BP
What happened
BP announced in December 2020 that it had acquired a majority stake in Finite Carbon, which its press release calls the largest US forest carbon offset developer.
South Pole, a carbon consultant, said on 27 October 2023 that it was leaving the Kariba REDD+ project in Zimbabwe, as Argus reported.
South Pole strongly denied knowingly selling worthless credits, as swissinfo reported (no source URL recorded).
BP's stake in South Pole is reported but not verified (see unknown).
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: BP took a minority stake in South Pole in March 2009.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Finite Carbon had 50 forest-carbon schemes covering 3 million acres.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: more than 60% of Kariba credits exist only on paper, and Verra cited 15.2 million excess credits.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Kariba credits were inflated at least five times.
- Not disclosed Not stated in the sources reviewed: the amounts BP paid for Finite Carbon and for its South Pole stake; the South Pole amount is not disclosed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Company or project
- BP Alternative Energy PLC took a minority interest in South Pole Carbon Asset Management LtdLenz & Staehelin · 2009-03
Press and investigations
- South Pole pulls plug on KaribaArgus Media · 2023-10-27
Connected cases
- Bolivian carbon scheme claimed 55 million tonnes; review found at most 5.8 million Bolivia · 1997–2010
- BP (Company) — here: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon; there: company; partner in the scheme; donor to TNC
- BP “Beyond Petroleum” campaign and carbon footprint calculator United Kingdom · 2000–2025
- BP (Company) — here: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon; there: Launched the “Beyond Petroleum” brand and the carbon footprint calculator
- BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status Iraq · 2021–2022
- BP (Company) — here: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon; there: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- BP (Company) — here: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon; there: Well operator and lease holder; pleaded guilty; paid $20.8bn civil settlement; self-insured
- BP's Gulf spill used Corexit; Nalco board had ex-BP and Exxon executives United States · date not stated
- BP (Company) — here: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon; there: Company responsible for the spill response and dispersant choice
- COP28 decision promoted carbon capture and left room for transition fuels United Arab Emirates · 2023
- BP (Company) — here: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon; there: Member of the Global CCS Institute; three of six executives worked or work here
- Danone, Unilever and BP scaled back sustainability goals between 2021 and 2025 Global · 2021–2025
- BP (Company) — here: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon; there: Oil company that cut low-carbon investment in 2025
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- South Pole (Company) — here: carbon consultant that left the Kariba scheme in 2023; there: Carbon asset developer and marketer
- McKinsey advice to COP28 presidency and fossil clients United Arab Emirates · 2011–2025
- South Pole (Company) — here: carbon consultant that left the Kariba scheme in 2023; there: Developer and marketer of Kariba credits
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- BP (Company) — here: acquirer of a majority stake in Finite Carbon; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters
- Verra registry fee structure, auditor ties and the Follow the Money response United States · 2007–2026
- South Pole (Company) — here: carbon consultant that left the Kariba scheme in 2023; there: Developer and marketer of Kariba credits