Big Tech data-centre emissions accounting (Microsoft, Google, Amazon, Meta)
- Company or project Google: A median Gemini prompt uses 0.24 Wh and 0.26 mL of water, cooling only. PCWorld
- Researchers Researcher Ren, cited by PCWorld: About 50 mL when indirect water is included. PCWorld
- Company or project Mistral AI: A 400-token response used 45 mL of water in its life-cycle analysis (July 2025).
Microsoft, Google, Amazon and Meta report data-centre emissions using accounting rules that count purchased renewable certificates. Company reports, press and researchers give differing pictures of what those figures show about electricity, emissions and water.
Company-reported figures as described by ESG Dive on 13 July 2026; the two years differ and electricity use rose in between, so the figures are not a like-for-like comparison.
Status As of August 2026: the GHG Protocol's Scope 2 consultation is under way; the companies' reported emissions rose over the period; no court case is on record.
- Amazon, Google, Meta and Microsoft — Report electricity as matched with renewable certificates; their reported totals nonetheless rose (Microsoft 23.4% above 2020; Google 51% above 2019; Amazon 80.9 Mt in 2025) DatacenterDynamics
- Electricity customers in the PJM region — Data-centre demand was listed as USD 29.4 billion of USD 63.6 billion in the last four capacity auctions, according to the market monitor
- General utility customers — A Harvard review of about 50 regulatory filings found that the cost of discounts given to big technology companies is spread across them; Microsoft's name was redacted in the filings. Harvard Environmental and Energy Law Program
- Communities in water-scarce areas — 62 of 632 data centres of Amazon, Microsoft and Google are in water-scarce areas SourceMaterial
What happened
Large technology companies report the emissions of their electricity use in two ways. Market-based Scope 2 accounting counts renewable energy certificates the company has bought. Location-based accounting uses the average emissions of the grid where the electricity is used. Unbundled certificates are certificates bought separately from the electricity itself, sometimes in another grid.
Microsoft reported total emissions of 20.29 million tonnes in fiscal 2025, up 25% in a year, and emissions 23.4% above 2020, while its energy use rose 168% over the same period and Scope 3 accounted for more than 97% of the total (ESG Dive; DatacenterDynamics). In its fiscal 2025 report Microsoft stopped counting unbundled certificates and disclosed facility-level data for the first time. Its market-based Scope 2 emissions rose from 258,217 tonnes in fiscal 2024 to about 2.7 million tonnes once those certificates were left out, and Scope 2's share of the total rose from 2% to 13% (ESG Dive; the figures cover different years). Microsoft's stated target is to be carbon negative by 2030. Between January and mid-July 2026 its carbon-removal purchases fell 80% to 8.55 million tonnes against the same period a year earlier (BNEF data, via Let's Data Science).
Google reported 2024 emissions 51% above 2019, against a goal of a 50% cut by 2030; its goal boundary was 11.5 million tonnes and its total including emissions outside the boundary was 15.2 million tonnes (Trellis). Its 2026 report showed electricity up 37%, Scope 1 and 2 emissions down 2% and Scope 3 up 25% (ESG Today). It reported 66% hourly carbon-free energy in 2024 while reporting that 100% of consumption was matched with renewable energy on an annual basis. Google dropped, from 2023, the operational carbon-neutral claim it had held since 2007 through offsets (Bloomberg Law).
Amazon reported 80.9 million tonnes in 2025, up 16%, with Scope 2 up 34%, and a third year of claiming 100% matching with renewable energy (ESG Dive). An employee group, Amazon Employees for Climate Justice, said 68% of its certificates were unbundled. Meta's location-based Scope 2 emissions rose by about 150% between 2019 and 2024, according to a shareholder filing by As You Sow and partners; its market-based Scope 1 and 2 emissions for 2024 are listed as 48,826 tonnes.
The GHG Protocol's 2025 to 2026 consultation on Scope 2 drew 909 responses, 70% of which opposed hourly matching. A new standard is expected at the earliest at the end of 2028. In 2025 Amazon, Meta, Google and Microsoft signed 49% of the 55.9 GW of corporate clean-energy purchase deals recorded by BNEF.
A Harvard Environmental and Energy Law Program review of about 50 regulatory filings found that the cost of discounts given to big technology companies is spread across general utility customers; Microsoft's name was redacted in the filings.
- 2007Google begins maintaining an operational carbon-neutral claim through offsets
- 2019Baseline year for Google's 2030 goal and for the reported Meta location-based Scope 2 rise
- 2020Baseline for the reported Microsoft emissions increase of 23.4%
- 2023Google stops claiming carbon neutrality; Google and BCG say AI could help cut 5–10% of global emissions by 2030 (November)
- 2024Google emissions 51% above 2019; Amazon employee group disputes renewable claim (July)
- 2025DatacenterDynamics: Microsoft emissions up 23.4% on 2020 (May); Microsoft fiscal-2025 total of 20.29 Mt; Amazon 80.9 Mt; four large technology companies sign 49% of global corporate clean-energy purchase deals
- 2026White House pledge on household electricity costs (March); GHG Protocol consultation: 70% of 909 responses oppose hourly matching (July); BNEF: Microsoft carbon-removal purchases down 80% (August)
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Left unbundled certificates out of its fiscal 2025 market-based Scope 2 figure and reported facility-level data.
ESG Dive68% of Amazon's certificates were unbundled; certificates from Canada and Arizona were used for Virginia consumption; the group put the real renewable share at close to 22%.
EngadgetMatched 100% of consumption annually; its hourly carbon-free energy share was 66% globally in 2024, 15% in the Taiwan cloud region and 2% in Hong Kong in 2025.
Google Cloud70% of 909 responses opposed hourly matching; a new standard is expected at the earliest at the end of 2028.
Argus MediaAsked that revisions to Scope 2 reporting be optional; Meta leads the Emissions First coalition.
EngadgetA median Gemini prompt uses 0.24 Wh and 0.26 mL of water, cooling only.
PCWorldA 400-token response used 45 mL of water in its life-cycle analysis (July 2025).
AI could help reduce 5% to 10% of global greenhouse-gas emissions by 2030.
GoogleApplications could cut about 1,400 Mt by 2035, but there is no momentum guaranteeing wide uptake.
How it looked
Shown
- Carbon negative by 2030 (target)Microsoft · ESG Dive
- 100% renewable-energy matching, claimed for a third yearAmazon · ESG Dive
- 100% of consumption matched with renewable energy on an annual basisGoogle · Trellis
- Artificial intelligence could help reduce 5% to 10% of global greenhouse-gas emissions by 2030Google and BCG, November 2023 · Google
- 0.26 mL of water for a median Gemini prompt, cooling onlyGoogle · PCWorld
- More water replenished than withdrawn in fiscal 2025 and a water use effectiveness of 0.27 litres per kWhMicrosoft · Microsoft
- An operational carbon-neutral claim, held from 2007 and dropped from 2023Google · Bloomberg Law
- A net-zero 2030 goal with a 50% cut against 2019Google
Recorded
- Microsoft total emissions 20.29 Mt in fiscal 2025 (up 25%); 23.4% above 2020.
- Google emissions in 2024 were 51% above 2019; hourly carbon-free energy share 66% globally; Taiwan 15% and Hong Kong 2% (2025).
- Amazon emissions 80.9 Mt in 2025 (up 16%).
- Amazon employee group: 68% of certificates unbundled; certificates from Canada and Arizona used for Virginia consumption.
- Of 632 data centres of Amazon, Microsoft and Google, 62 are in water-scarce areas (38 active, 24 planned).
- Data centres were about 180 Mt of CO2, 0.5% of emissions from fuel combustion, and 1.5% of global electricity, per the International Energy Agency as listed.
- Microsoft's energy use rose 168% against 2020; its market-based Scope 2 was 258,217 t in fiscal 2024 and about 2.7 Mt in fiscal 2025 without unbundled certificates.
- Microsoft's carbon-removal purchases from January to mid-July 2026 were 8.55 Mt, 80% below the same period a year earlier.
- A Harvard review of about 50 regulatory filings found that the cost of discounts given to big technology companies is spread across general utility customers.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- microsoft (24 June 2026): Said it replenished more water than it withdrew in fiscal 2025 and that its water use effectiveness was 0.27 L/kWh. · Microsoft
- google (July 2026): Said its 2030 climate goals are getting harder to reach, while reporting that it cut operational emissions; publishes hourly carbon-free energy shares by cloud region. · ESG Today
- google (September 2024): Redesigned its Cerrillos, Chile, data centre to use air cooling after the Environmental Court questioned its groundwater use of at least 7.6 million litres a day. · CNN Chile
- amazon (2025): Reported a third year of 100% matching of electricity with renewable energy. · ESG Dive
- meta (2024): Among the large companies, reports indirect (power-plant) water use; the figure for 2024 is listed as more than 20 times its direct water use.
- microsoft (FY2025 report, covered 13 July 2026): Its fiscal 2025 report left out unbundled certificates and disclosed facility-level data for the first time. · ESG Dive
- google (2023): Dropped its operational carbon-neutral claim from 2023. · Bloomberg Law
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
- Disputed How much water does an AI query use?
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Figures
- Insufficient Location based to reported ratio: Guardian analysis of Google, Microsoft, Meta and Apple data centres 2020 to 2022, republished by eceee; not independently verified.
Accounts
Record
- Disputed How much of Microsoft's reported Scope 2 emissions was offset by unbundled certificates in years other than the two compared is not given in the sources reviewed; the two years differ.
- None on record Amazon's own response to the employee group's 68% figure is not in the sources reviewed.
- Not disclosed OpenAI, Google and Anthropic are among 10 foundation-model companies listed by Stanford's 2025 Foundation Model Transparency Index as not disclosing environmental data (xAI scored 14 of 100); Anthropic had not published Scope 1 to 3 emissions as of March 2026.
- None on record Where the leaked 2022 Amazon Web Services note was published is not stated in the sources reviewed.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: that data-centre emissions of Google, Microsoft, Meta and Apple in 2020 to 2022 were 7.62 times the reported figure on a location-based basis (a Guardian analysis republished by eceee).
- Disputed Reported but not independently verified: the attribution of some outcomes to data centres in specific locations, such as a Quilicura wetland loss and Batam water cuts, where the cause is disputed.
- None on record The sources reviewed give no emissions figure for Google's data-centre electricity on a location basis.
Did the harm stop?
Not as such. Microsoft stopped counting unbundled certificates in fiscal 2025; the sources reviewed do not report the other companies changing their accounting, and each company's reported totals rose over the period.
Who paid?
No allocation of costs is established in the sources reviewed. The PJM market monitor attributed USD 29.4 billion of USD 63.6 billion in the last four capacity auctions to data-centre demand. A Harvard Environmental and Energy Law Program review of about 50 regulatory filings found that the cost of discounts given to big technology companies is spread across general utility customers.
Sources
Company or project
- Carbon free energy for Google Cloud regionsGoogle Cloud · 2025
- Inside Microsoft's two-decade push to cut water intensity while scaling for growthMicrosoft · 2026-06-24
- Accelerating climate action with AIGoogle · 2023-11-20
Press and investigations
- Microsoft's data center expansion drove 25% emissions spikeESG Dive · 2026-07-13
- Microsoft emissions up 23% since 2020, blames AI data centersDatacenterDynamics · 2025-05
- Microsoft's Carbon-Removal Purchases Fall 80% During AI Buildout (from Bloomberg)Let's Data Science · 2026-08-13
- Amazon 2025 emissions jump as AI brings momentum and complexityESG Dive · 2026-07
- GHG Protocol faces pushback on scope 2 reformsArgus Media · 2026-07-29
- Apple, Amazon join push for looser greenhouse emissions reportingEngadget · 2026-04-23
- Experts are skeptical about Google's AI water consumption claimsPCWorld · 2025-08
- Big Tech's data centre push will take water from the world's driest areasSourceMaterial · 2025-04-09
- Google Is No Longer Claiming to Be Carbon NeutralBloomberg Law · 2024-07-08
Communities and civil society
- Notice of Exempt Solicitation - Meta Platforms (PX14A6G)As You Sow and partners, filed with the SEC · 2026-05
Researchers
- Foundation Model Transparency Index: AI companies' informationStanford Report · 2025-12
- Extracting Profits from the Public: How Utility Ratepayers Are Paying for Big Tech's PowerHarvard Environmental and Energy Law Program ·
Connected cases
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- Andhra Pradesh granted Google-linked data centre incentives in October 2025 India · 2025
- Google (Company) — here: Company; reports hourly and annual carbon-free energy matching; there: Company the report describes as linked to the recipient
- California approves SB 54 packaging rules making producers pay USD 5 billion in 10 years United States · 2026–2032
- Amazon (Company) — here: Company; claims 100% renewable matching; there: named in CAA program governance
- California forest offsets buffer pool and wildfire United States · 2020–2025
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits; there: Credit buyer (Klamath East and West)
- Deep-sea mining: TMC, NORI, the NOAA permit and the ISA International waters (Pacific Ocean) · 2022–2026
- Google (Company) — here: Company; reports hourly and annual carbon-free energy matching; there: Pledged not to source deep-sea minerals (2021)
- Delta Blue Carbon mangrove project (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2015–2025
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits; there: Credit buyer
- Frontier buyers' club, Microsoft and the Puro.earth / Exomad Green biochar deal Global · 2020–2030
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits; there: Largest buyer of long-term carbon removal
- Google data centre, Canelones (Uruguay) Uruguay · 2023–2024
- Google (Company) — here: Company; reports hourly and annual carbon-free energy matching; there: Project developer
- Google data centre, Cerrillos (Chile) Chile · 2024
- Google (Company) — here: Company; reports hourly and annual carbon-free energy matching; there: Project developer
- Kenya suspends Microsoft and G42 geothermal data centre plan at Naivasha Kenya · 2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits; there: Planned partner in the geothermal data centre
- Louisiana regulators fast-track second batch of gas plants for Meta data center United States · 2025
- Meta (Company) — here: Company; Scope 2 and gas-plant supply in Louisiana; there: Operator of the Hyperion data center
- Meta kept its news block in Canada during a 2023 wildfire evacuation Canada · 2023
- Meta (Company) — here: Company; Scope 2 and gas-plant supply in Louisiana; there: operator of the platform with the news block
- Microsoft forestry carbon deals and the Apple Restore Fund Brazil · 2024
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits; there: Credit buyer
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Meta (Company) — here: Company; Scope 2 and gas-plant supply in Louisiana; there: Credit buyer
- Pará state pre-sold 12 million REDD+ credits; federal prosecutors sue to cancel Brazil · 2023–2026
- Amazon (Company) — here: Company; claims 100% renewable matching; there: Named buyer
- Querétaro data-centre water use (Mexico) Mexico · 2025
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits; there: Operator of a campus in Querétaro, named by Oxfam
- Quilicura data centres draw about 1.5 billion litres a year; wetland largely dried Chile · 2024
- Google (Company) — here: Company; reports hourly and annual carbon-free energy matching; there: Holder of a water withdrawal right
- Running Tide ocean carbon removal (Maine/Iceland) Iceland · 2017–2024
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits; there: Credit buyer (12,000 credits listed)
- SBTi funding, Scope 3 EAC announcement and CEO exit United Kingdom · 2021–2024
- Amazon (Company) — here: Company; claims 100% renewable matching; there: Past core donor; its SBTi commitment was removed in August 2023
- Sole bidder re.green wins first forest carbon-rights tender in Brazil Brazil · 2020–2026
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits; there: Buyer of re.green reforestation credits
- Wildfires have consumed almost 40% of California's forest offset buffer pool United States · 2020
- Microsoft (Company) — here: Company; reports data-centre emissions and buys carbon-removal credits; there: Buyer of Klamath East and West credits