Insurers of the Carmichael coal mine
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
By July 2023 campaigners counted 46 insurers that had publicly ruled out cover for Adani's Carmichael coal mine in Queensland. The mine operates, and Bravus has said it holds the insurance it needs without naming any insurer.
Count kept by campaigners (Market Forces); not an audited figure. No later count was found.
Status As of October 2026 (latest research date): the mine operates; 46 insurers were counted by campaigners as having ruled out cover by July 2023; Bravus has not named its insurers.
- Adani (Bravus) — Operates the mine; production above 10 Mt a year and expansion to 16 Mt a year announced in August 2025. World Coal
- Adani (Bravus) — Its broker Marsh ended the relationship (June 2022) and a series of insurers withdrew or declined cover (2018–2023). Market Forces
What happened
The Carmichael coal mine and rail project in Queensland, Australia, is operated under the Bravus name as part of the Adani group. Campaigners asked insurers and brokers to rule out cover for the project from 2018–2019. Adani hired the broker Marsh in 2015 to place cover; invoices were leaked by a Marsh employee and reported by the Sydney Morning Herald in 2020. Liberty Mutual and HDI had insured early site works dating back to 2015, according to Bloomberg.
In December 2018, ten insurers and reinsurers said they would not support the mine: Allianz, AXA, Swiss Re, Munich Re, QBE, Suncorp, FM Global, Generali, Zurich and SCOR. On 20 June 2019 Liberty Mutual confirmed it would not insure the mine. Lloyd's confirmed that some of its members had insured the mine from 2019 but would not name them.
In 2020 the Sydney Morning Herald, citing the leaked Marsh invoices, named XL Australia (AXA) as having charged Adani for cover; AXA said it had no active policies and ruled out future cover. In 2021 Apollo (Lloyd's) said it would not take part in further policies, and Ascot declined to renew. On 24 February 2021 Brit said it did not and would not write policies relating directly to the mine; the campaigners' count was then 31 insurers, 20 of them at Lloyd's.
On 23 June 2022 Marsh, the mine's long-standing broker, confirmed to campaigners that it had ended its commercial relationship; the count was then 44 insurers. In December 2022 Market Forces, citing “insider information”, named Probitas 1492 as insurer of the rail line, Bowen Rail Company and the NQXT port. In July 2023 Probitas said it had stopped covering the mine at the end of 2022 and would not renew the rail cover; it was counted as the 46th insurer to rule out cover. The broker Lockton also declined after talks.
The mine operates, with production above 10 million tonnes a year. In August 2025 Bravus announced an expansion to 16 million tonnes a year and an A$2 billion mining contract with MacKellar. Bravus says it “has the requisite insurance in place for the Carmichael mine and rail Project” and names no insurers. Berkshire Hathaway, Korean Re, Markel and WR Berkley are listed by campaigners as not having ruled out cover.
- 2015Adani hires Marsh to place cover; Liberty Mutual and HDI insure early site works
- 2018Ten insurers and reinsurers say they will not support the mine (Dec)
- 2019Liberty Mutual confirms it will not insure the mine (20 Jun); some Lloyd's members insure it from 2019
- 2020Leaked Marsh invoices reported by the Sydney Morning Herald; AXA says it has no active policies
- 2021Brit statement (24 Feb; count 31); Apollo and Ascot withdraw
- 2022Marsh ends its relationship (23 Jun; count 44); Market Forces names Probitas 1492 (Dec)
- 2023Probitas says it stopped covering the mine at end-2022; counted as the 46th insurer (Jul)
- 2025Bravus announces expansion to 16 Mt a year and an A$2 billion contract (Aug)
What was said
“does not, has never, and will not write any policies relating directly to the Adani Carmichael coal mine itself.”
“would not participate in any further insurance policies for risks associated with this project.”
“We do not currently cover the Carmichael mine's assets, neither directly nor through packages.”
“Aon does not provide insurance broking or other services to the Adani Carmichael project.”
“AXA will stop insuring any new coal construction projects”
“has the requisite insurance in place for the Carmichael mine and rail Project.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
“has the requisite insurance in place for the Carmichael mine and rail Project”; names no insurers.
Confirmed that some of its members insured the mine from 2019 but would not name them.
Insurance Business AustraliaLists Berkshire Hathaway, Korean Re, Markel and WR Berkley as not having ruled out cover, and AIG as having “not ruled out providing insurance”.
Market ForcesNamed Probitas 1492 in December 2022, citing “insider information”, as insurer of the rail line, Bowen Rail Company and the NQXT port.
Market ForcesSaid in July 2023 that it had stopped covering the mine at the end of 2022 and would not renew the rail cover.
Commercial Risk OnlineReported in 2020, from leaked Marsh invoices, that XL Australia (AXA) had charged Adani for cover.
Insurance Business Australia (reporting the Sydney Morning Herald, 2020)Said it had no active policies and ruled out future cover; also “We do not currently cover the Carmichael mine's assets, neither directly nor through packages.”
Market ForcesHow it looked
Shown
- Bravus said it “has the requisite insurance in place for the Carmichael mine and rail Project” and named no insurers.Bravus
Recorded
- Ten insurers and reinsurers said in December 2018 they would not support the mine (Allianz, AXA, Swiss Re, Munich Re, QBE, Suncorp, FM Global, Generali, Zurich, SCOR); this is a campaign-sourced report.
- Liberty Mutual confirmed on 20 June 2019 that it would not insure the mine; Liberty and HDI had insured early site works dating back to 2015.
- Marsh, the long-standing broker, confirmed on 23 June 2022 that it had ended its commercial relationship (as reported by Market Forces).
- Probitas said in July 2023 that it had stopped covering the mine at the end of 2022 and would not renew the rail cover; it was counted as the 46th insurer to rule out cover.
- Lloyd's confirmed that some of its members insured the mine from 2019 and would not name them.
- Production is above 10 million tonnes a year; expansion to 16 million tonnes a year and an A$2 billion mining contract were announced in August 2025.
- Banking on Climate Chaos 2026 names JP Morgan, MUFG, HSBC and BlackRock as financiers of the Adani Group's Carmichael coal mine; it gives no bank-by-bank amounts.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- bravus (undated): “has the requisite insurance in place for the Carmichael mine and rail Project”; names no insurers.
- marsh (23 June 2022): Confirmed that it had ended its commercial relationship with the mine (as reported by Market Forces). · Market Forces
- lloyds (undated): Confirmed that some of its members insured the mine from 2019 but would not name them. · Insurance Business Australia
- probitas (July 2023): Said it had stopped covering the mine at the end of 2022 and would not renew the rail cover. · Commercial Risk Online
- brit (24 February 2021): “does not, has never, and will not write any policies relating directly to the Adani Carmichael coal mine itself.” · Insurance Business Australia
- axa (2020): Said it had no active policies and ruled out future cover (as reported after the 2020 Marsh invoice leak). · Insurance Business Australia (reporting the Sydney Morning Herald, 2020)
- aon (undated): “Aon does not provide insurance broking or other services to the Adani Carmichael project.” · Market Forces
- wtw (undated): Declines to comment on clients; listed by Market Forces as not ruled out. · Market Forces
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
- 2019Cover declinedLiberty Mutual → Adani (Carmichael early site works)
Insured early site works dating back to 2015 (Bloomberg); confirmed on 20 June 2019 that it would not insure the mine. Rainforest Action Network
- Cover declinedHDI Global → Adani (Carmichael early site works)
Insured early site works dating back to 2015 (Bloomberg); Market Forces records that HDI Global “terminated the insurance cover”. The year of termination is not given. Mining.com (via Bloomberg)
- 2019No policy foundAIG → Adani (Carmichael on-ground works)
Market Forces records that AIG “has not ruled out providing insurance” and was insuring on-ground works until 30 September 2019. Market Forces
- 2018Cover declinedAllianz → Adani (Carmichael mine)
One of ten insurers and reinsurers that said in December 2018 they would not support the mine; Market Forces quotes Allianz as no longer offering “single-site/stand-alone insurance coverages related to… coal plants and mines”. Reinsurance News
- 2020Cover declinedAXA (XL Australia) → Adani (Carmichael mine)
One of the ten in December 2018. The Sydney Morning Herald reported in 2020, from leaked Marsh invoices, that XL Australia (AXA) had charged Adani for cover; AXA said it had no active policies and ruled out future cover. Insurance Business Australia (reporting the Sydney Morning Herald, 2020)
- 2018Cover declinedSwiss Re → Adani (Carmichael mine)
One of the ten in December 2018; Market Forces quotes the policy: “Swiss Re's group-wide coal policy prohibits providing re/insurance for thermal coal mines”. Market Forces
- 2018Cover declinedMunich Re, QBE, Suncorp, FM Global, Generali, Zurich, SCOR → Adani (Carmichael mine)
Said in December 2018 that they would not support the mine, as reported by Reinsurance News (a campaign-sourced report). Reinsurance News
- 2021Cover declinedBrit (Lloyd's) → Adani (Carmichael mine)
Said on 24 February 2021 that it “does not, has never, and will not write any policies relating directly to the Adani Carmichael coal mine itself.” Insurance Business Australia
- 2021Cover declinedApollo (Lloyd's) → Adani (Carmichael mine)
Said in 2021 that it “would not participate in any further insurance policies for risks associated with this project”; its existing cover expired in September 2021. Insurance Business Australia
- 2021Cover declinedAscot (Lloyd's) → Adani (Carmichael mine)
Declined to renew its cover in 2021. Insurance Business Australia
- 2023Cover declinedProbitas 1492 (Lloyd's) → Adani (Carmichael mine, rail line, Bowen Rail Company, NQXT port)
Market Forces named Probitas 1492 in December 2022, citing “insider information”. In July 2023 Probitas said it had stopped covering the mine at the end of 2022 and would not renew the rail cover; it was counted as the 46th insurer to rule out cover. Commercial Risk Online
- 2019No policy foundUnnamed Lloyd's members → Adani (Carmichael mine)
Lloyd's confirmed that some of its members had insured the mine from 2019 but would not name them. Insurance Business Australia
- No policy foundBerkshire Hathaway, Korean Re, Markel, WR Berkley → Adani (Carmichael mine)
Listed by campaigners as insurers that have not ruled out cover. The sources give no information on any policy.
- No policy foundUnnamed (Bravus statement) → Bravus (Carmichael mine and rail project)
Bravus says it “has the requisite insurance in place for the Carmichael mine and rail Project” and names no insurers.
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Insurers
Accounts
Record
- None on record Who insures the mine now is not public: Bravus names no insurers and Lloyd's would not name its members.
- Insufficient Campaigners report that the mine is self-insured; this is reported but not independently verified.
- None on record The December 2022 report naming Probitas 1492 as insurer of the rail line, Bowen Rail Company and the NQXT port relied on “insider information”; Probitas's July 2023 statement refers to the mine and the rail cover.
- Not disclosed Premiums, limits and the terms of any cover for the mine are not disclosed.
Did the harm stop?
Insurer withdrawals did not halt the mine: it operates at above 10 million tonnes a year and an expansion to 16 million tonnes a year was announced in August 2025.
Who paid?
Not applicable: the record concerns who insures the project, not a loss event.
Sources
Company or project
- AXA accelerates its commitment to fight climate changeAXA · 2017-12-12
Press and investigations
- Ten re/insurers rule out support for Australian coal mine following climate campaignReinsurance News · 2018-12
- Insurers distance from Adani project amid global coal backlashMining.com (via Bloomberg) · n.d.
- Ascot declines to renew insurance policy for Adani coal mineInsurance Business Australia · 2021
- Brit does not, has never, and will not insure Adani coal mineInsurance Business Australia · 2021-02-24
- Probitas says it will not renew Adani coal mine railwayCommercial Risk Online · 2023-07
- Calls for Lloyd's of London to rule out insurance for Adani coal mineInsurance Business Australia · n.d.
- Bravus commits to increase mine production in central QueenslandWorld Coal · 2025-08-19
- Marsh employee leaks contentious insurance deal documentsInsurance Business Australia (reporting the Sydney Morning Herald, 2020) · 2020
Communities and civil society
- Pressure grows on Adani as Liberty Mutual reveals it will not insure Carmichael projectRainforest Action Network · 2019-06-20
- World's largest insurance broker cuts ties with Adani Carmichael coal mineMarket Forces · 2022-06-23
- Probitas1492 Adani insurersMarket Forces · 2022-12
- Insurers that have ruled out Adani (Stop Adani insurer list)Market Forces · n.d.
- Banking on Climate Chaos 2026Banking on Climate Chaos coalition · 2026
Connected cases
- Village council decisions on Hasdeo coal mine reported irregular India · date not stated Related matter
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- Marsh (Marsh McLennan) (Company) — here: Broker; ended relationship June 2022; there: Reported insurance broker (unconfirmed)
- AXA (Insurer) — here: Insurer; coal policy of December 2017; says it does not cover the mine; there: Ruled out cover (2021)
- Allianz (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Ruled out cover (April 2022)
- Swiss Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Ruled out cover (2021)
- Munich Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Ruled out cover (April 2022)
- Hannover Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer listed as having ruled out the mine; there: Ruled out reinsurance (March 2022)
- Liberty Mutual (Insurer) — here: Insured early site works from 2015; confirmed June 2019 it would not insure the mine; there: Named by campaigners as a holdout (2025)
- Zurich Insurance (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Ruled out cover (2021)
- AIG (Insurer) — here: Not ruled out; insured on-ground works until 30 September 2019; there: Named as still willing to insure (2024, 2025)
- Brit (Insurer) — here: Lloyd's insurer; statement of 24 February 2021; there: Named by campaigners as a holdout (2025)
- SCOR (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Ruled out cover (before March 2022)
- Net-Zero Insurance Alliance collapse and insurers’ fossil underwriting Global · 2021–2025
- Bravus (operator of the Carmichael mine) (Company) — here: Operator of the Carmichael mine and rail project; there: Operator of the Carmichael mine and rail project
- Lloyd's of London (Insurer) — here: Market whose members insured the mine from 2019; there: Insurance market; left NZIA 26 May 2023
- Probitas 1492 (Lloyd's) (Insurer) — here: Lloyd's managing agent; stopped covering the mine at end-2022; there: Lloyd’s syndicate; Adani rail and port cover until 2023
- AXA (Insurer) — here: Insurer; coal policy of December 2017; says it does not cover the mine; there: Founding member; left 25 May 2023
- Allianz (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Founding member; left 25 May 2023
- Swiss Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Founding member; left May 2023
- Munich Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Founding member; left 31 March 2023
- Hannover Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer listed as having ruled out the mine; there: Left NZIA 19 April 2023
- Zurich Insurance (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Founding member; left 5 April 2023
- SCOR (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Founding member; left 25 May 2023
- Vale Brumadinho dam collapse Brazil · 2019–2027
- Aon (Company) — here: Broker asked to rule out the mine; says it provides no services to it; there: Property insurance broker (press reports)
- WTW (Willis Towers Watson) (Company) — here: Broker asked to rule out the mine; declines to comment on clients; there: Civil-liability insurance broker (press reports)
- Allianz (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Civil-liability insurer; led reinsurance consortium (press reports)
- Swiss Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Property insurer, Swiss Re Corporate Solutions (press reports)
- Zurich Insurance (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: D&O insurer, limit about US$150m (press reports)
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- Lloyd's of London (Insurer) — here: Market whose members insured the mine from 2019; there: Excess insurers on Transocean's liability programme; market loss estimate $300–600m
- Swiss Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Reinsurer
- Munich Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Reinsurer
- Hannover Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer listed as having ruled out the mine; there: Reinsurer
- Brillante Virtuoso tanker Yemen (offshore) · 2011–2019
- Brit (Insurer) — here: Lloyd's insurer; statement of 24 February 2021; there: War-risks underwriter
- Markel (Insurer) — here: Listed by campaigners as not having ruled out cover; there: War-risks underwriter
- QBE (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: War-risks underwriter
- Exxon Valdez: the spill, insurance and court cases United States · 1989–2015
- Lloyd's of London (Insurer) — here: Market whose members insured the mine from 2019; there: Lead of 150+ excess insurers; refused cover, paid $780m after suit
- Allianz (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Participant in the excess programme
- AIG (Insurer) — here: Not ruled out; insured on-ground works until 30 September 2019; there: Participant in the excess programme
- Trans Mountain pipeline insurers (Canada) Canada · 2018–2024
- Lloyd's of London (Insurer) — here: Market whose members insured the mine from 2019; there: Insurance market; syndicates on the 2019–20 policy
- Munich Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Insurer through Temple Insurance; reviewed its contract
- Zurich Insurance (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Lead insurer 2019–20; did not renew in July 2020
- Coral reef parametric insurance, Quintana Roo Mexico · 2018–2026
- Swiss Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Developed the initial solution; named as insurer or reinsurer by different sources
- Hannover Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer listed as having ruled out the mine; there: Reinsurer of the 2020 renewal (per Reinsurance News)
- Los Angeles wildfires cause $41bn insured loss; 75% of survivors underinsured United States · 2025
- MAR Fund Mesoamerican Reef parametric insurance Belize · 2021
- WTW (Willis Towers Watson) (Company) — here: Broker asked to rule out the mine; declines to comment on clients; there: Broker and co-creator of the programme
- Munich Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Underwriter
- PFAS insurance disputes (3M, Chemours, DuPont) United States · 2020–2026
- Zurich Insurance (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Insurer; defendant in National Foam v. Zurich
- AIG (Insurer) — here: Not ruled out; insured on-ground works until 30 September 2019; there: Insurer; plaintiff against 3M; defendant in Tonoga through two subsidiaries
- Samarco Fundão dam collapse (Mariana): the settlement and the court cases Brazil · 2015–2026
- WTW (Willis Towers Watson) (Company) — here: Broker asked to rule out the mine; declines to comment on clients; there: Insurance broker (as Willis)
- Allianz (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Civil-liability insurer (about R$70m)
- TNC Hawaii coral reef parametric insurance United States · 2022–2026
- WTW (Willis Towers Watson) (Company) — here: Broker asked to rule out the mine; declines to comment on clients; there: Broker and co-designer
- Munich Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Insurer (Munich Re Group)
- 3M booked US$10.3bn charge for US public water PFAS settlement United States · 2023–2036
- AIG (Insurer) — here: Not ruled out; insured on-ground works until 30 September 2019; there: insurer that sued 3M over coverage
- 3M PFOS: internal evidence, EPA penalty and Minnesota settlement United States · 1979–2026
- AIG (Insurer) — here: Not ruled out; insured on-ground works until 30 September 2019; there: Insurer suing 3M over coverage (October 2024)
- Adani Group became largest shareholder of NDTV India · 2022
- Adani Group (Company) — here: Owner group of the mine; there: largest shareholder
- Bahamas debt-for-nature swap Bahamas · 2024
- AXA XL (Insurer) — here: Named in 2020 as having charged Adani for cover; there: Provider of US$30 million insurance
- Deep-sea mining: TMC, NORI, the NOAA permit and the ISA International waters (Pacific Ocean) · 2022–2026
- Zurich Insurance (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Insurer; says it does not cover the activity
- Galápagos debt-for-nature swap Ecuador · 2023–2041
- AXA XL (Insurer) — here: Named in 2020 as having charged Adani for cover; there: Reinsurer
- Indian state allocated sacred groves to solar parks recorded as barren land India · 2023–2026
- Adani Group (Company) — here: Owner group of the mine; there: Holder of the Nedan village allocation (cancelled) and Baiya oran land (returned)
- Lead paint public nuisance insurance (Santa Clara) United States · 2000–2024
- Lloyd's of London (Insurer) — here: Market whose members insured the mine from 2019; there: Insurers (Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's) in the ConAgra and NL Industries coverage cases
- Love Canal (New York) United States · 1980–1995
- Lloyd's of London (Insurer) — here: Market whose members insured the mine from 2019; there: Primary insurer; plaintiff in coverage actions
- Monsanto/Bayer PCB and Roundup insurance suit v AIG United States · 1967–2026
- AIG (Insurer) — here: Not ruled out; insured on-ground works until 30 September 2019; there: Insurer that declined cover; defendant
- Mount Polley tailings dam failure Canada · 2014–2024
- Aon (Company) — here: Broker asked to rule out the mine; says it provides no services to it; there: Broker (Aon Reed Stenhouse)
- MV Rak Carrier coal and oil spill (Mumbai) India · 2011–2016
- Adani Group (Company) — here: Owner group of the mine; there: Ordered to pay Rs 5 crore for coal left on the seabed
- Net Zero Banking Alliance exits and closure International · 2023–2026
- Munich Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Insurer that left the Net-Zero Insurance Alliance in 2023
- New York appeals court sides with AIG units in PFAS coverage dispute United States · 1961–2022
- AIG (Insurer) — here: Not ruled out; insured on-ground works until 30 September 2019; there: insurer whose units New Hampshire Insurance Co. and Granite State were defendants
- PCB pollution and the Monsanto Anniston settlement United States · 2002–2025
- AIG (Insurer) — here: Not ruled out; insured on-ground works until 30 September 2019; there: Excess insurer; defendant in Bayer's suit over cover for PCB and Roundup settlements
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Adani Group (Company) — here: Owner group of the mine; there: 1t.org pledger
- Prestige Spain · 2002–2026
- Lloyd's of London (Insurer) — here: Market whose members insured the mine from 2019; there: Lead hull insurer
- Record cites CIA file on Onassis for 1954 whaling off Peru Peru · 1954–1956
- Lloyd's of London (Insurer) — here: Market whose members insured the mine from 2019; there: reported insurer of the whaling fine (not verified)
- Rigel scuttling (Calabria) Italy · 1987–2024
- Lloyd's of London (Insurer) — here: Market whose members insured the mine from 2019; there: Insurer named as defrauded in L'Unità
- Roundup litigation, settlements and legal shield (Bayer/Monsanto) United States · 2009–2026
- AIG (Insurer) — here: Not ruled out; insured on-ground works until 30 September 2019; there: Insurer that refused cover
- Salem tanker Senegal (offshore) · 1979–1985
- Lloyd's of London (Insurer) — here: Market whose members insured the mine from 2019; there: Cargo underwriters at Lloyd's (defendant Gibbs)
- The Metals Company deep-sea nodule mining in the Clarion-Clipperton Zone (NOAA permit route) International waters (Pacific Ocean) · 2011
- Swiss Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Insurer stating it does not cover deep-sea mining
- TotalEnergies’ Tilenga oil fields in Uganda: biodiversity claims and insurance Uganda · 2021–2022
- Marsh (Marsh McLennan) (Company) — here: Broker; ended relationship June 2022; there: Reported insurance broker
- TVA Kingston coal ash spill insurance United States · 2008–2014
- Zurich Insurance (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Insurer; TVA sought another $50m in arbitration
- Venezuela 2026 twin earthquakes insurance gap Venezuela · 2026
- Munich Re (Insurer) — here: Reinsurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Reinsurer; source of the $30 billion loss estimate
- W.R. Grace, Libby asbestos and Maryland Casualty United States · 2020–2023
- Zurich Insurance (Insurer) — here: Insurer that said it would not support the mine (Dec 2018); there: Current parent of Maryland Casualty