Paris court finds Volvic recycling claims misleading; Coca-Cola, Nestlé change labels
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
A Paris court found Volvic's “100% recyclable”, “100% recycled” and “carbon neutral” bottle claims misleading. The sources report label changes by Coca-Cola and Nestlé, and do not report any change in bottle production.
- Bottle brands (Volvic, Coca-Cola, Nestlé) — The claims supported sales and reputation until the labels changed
What happened
BEUC reported in June 2026 that a Paris court found Volvic's “100% recyclable”, “100% recycled” and “carbon neutral” claims misleading.
BEUC also reported that Coca-Cola changed its label in the EU, and that Nestlé dropped its claims in March 2026.
The EMF final report found that signatory brands raised recycled content from 4.6% in 2018 to 15.9% by 2025, while the recycled share of the global market rose only from 3.4% to 4.2%.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2026-06Outcome not on recordVolvic recyclability and carbon-neutral claimsParis court · unknown · Not stated in the sources reviewed → Volvic
The court found Volvic's “100% recyclable”, “100% recycled” and “carbon neutral” claims misleading, as reported in June 2026. BEUC
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Court
- Unclear Volvic recyclability and carbon-neutral claims: outcome not on record.
Record
- None on record The sources do not say whether fines or damages were ordered in the Volvic ruling.
- None on record The sources do not say whether bottle production changed after the label changes.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the claims are said to exclude caps and labels and to depend on local collection infrastructure; no source is identified for this point.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Communities and civil society
Connected cases
- Coca-Cola plastic pledges and brand audits United States · 2018
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Beverage company; pledges, plastic-credit buyer through affiliates, defendant
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Dropped its claims in March 2026; there: Said it does not buy plastic credits
- Brazil: Operation Greenwashing Brazil · 2024–2025
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Dropped its claims in March 2026; there: Reported credit buyer
- California approves SB 54 packaging rules making producers pay USD 5 billion in 10 years United States · 2026–2032
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: named in CAA program governance
- Coca-Cola and ILSI: influence on obesity policy in China and India China / India · 1978–2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Founder-linked company; ILSI member until January 2021
- Coca-Cola and Unilever revise plastic packaging targets International · 2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Revised its packaging targets
- Coca-Cola reports replenishing 115% of the water it used in 2015 Global · 2015–2016
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Company that announced the 115% figure
- Coca-Cola World Without Waste targets reset Global · 2018–2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Set and reset the World Without Waste targets
- Coca-Cola's partner The Ocean Cleanup reports 25 million kg collected in 2025 International · 2021
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Named global partner since 2021
- Ellen MacArthur plastics pledge off track; Coca-Cola scales back targets Global · 2018–2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: company that cut its packaging targets
- Erikli water brand changes hands in Nestlé–Platinum Equity partnership Turkey · 2026
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Dropped its claims in March 2026; there: Partner in the 4.9 billion euro partnership that includes Erikli
- Great Pacific Garbage Patch and The Ocean Cleanup International waters · 2013–2025
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Global partner since 2021 (river Interceptors); largest share of branded plastic waste in the Cowger et al. 2024 audit (11%)
- Isthmus of Tehuantepec wind farms, including Mareña, faced local opposition Mexico · 2012–2022
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Dropped its claims in March 2026; there: Named corporate buyer of Isthmus wind power
- Kariba REDD+ project (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2011–2025
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Dropped its claims in March 2026; there: Credit buyer
- Keep America Beautiful and plastic industry recycling messages United States · 1953–2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Joined the group later
- Keep America Beautiful founding and Crying Indian ad (US) United States · 1953–2023
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Later member
- Keep America Beautiful, founded by can and bottle makers, opposed bottle deposit laws United States · 1953–1981
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: later member
- Michigan allows Nestlé to take up to 576,000 gallons of groundwater a day United States · 2018
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Dropped its claims in March 2026; there: operator of the groundwater withdrawal
- Nature Conservancy began $10 million partnership with Dow Chemical in 2011 United States · 2007–2021
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: company; relationship with WWF
- Nestlé black cumin patent application draws protest of over 300,000 signatures Switzerland · 2013–2014
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Dropped its claims in March 2026; there: Patent applicant
- New York v PepsiCo and LA County v PepsiCo/Coca-Cola United States · 2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Defendant in the Los Angeles County suit
- Ocean Conservancy withdraws 2015 plastic incineration recommendation Global · 2015–2022
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Co-funder of the 2015 report
- Oregon bottle bill (1971) United States · 1953
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: Later KAB member
- Plastic credits and Philippines PCX Philippines · 2020–2025
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Dropped its claims in March 2026; there: Credit buyer; co-developer of Verra's standard
- Tillamook faces suit over farm imagery as Fairlife settles for $21m United States · 2022
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement
- TNC chief scientist urged conservation groups to partner with companies United States · 2011–2015
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Changed its EU label; there: WWF partner (reported)
- Verra plastic credits Philippines · 2022–2025
- Nestlé (Company) — here: Dropped its claims in March 2026; there: Co-developer of the Verra standard; Nestlé Philippines bought burning credits