Landmines and explosive remnants of the Iran–Iraq war in Iran's western provinces
- Government and regulators IRMAC (Iran Mine Action Center): Initial estimate of undefined contamination 42,000 km², reportedly reduced by 90% by February 2020. Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)
- Government and regulators IRMAC (Iran Mine Action Center), February 2014: Remaining contamination of 250 km². Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)
- Government and regulators Defence Minister Hossein Dehghan: In 2014 said 4,500 km² of contamination in the five western provinces had been reduced to 280 km². Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)
- Government and regulators Iran's Ministry of Defence: Headline of 8 April 2014: "In Iran 28,000 hectares of land are landmine-contaminated". Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)
- Government and regulators Iran's mine action authorities: Have consistently reported that the war left 4,200 km². Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)
Mined and contaminated land left by the 1980–88 war in five provinces bordering Iraq is being cleared by a state programme and by commercial operators in oil and gas areas. Official contamination figures differ widely between years, and Iran's mine action centre declined to provide data in 2025.
Report S/23322, para. 134. Later official contamination figures differ between sources and are listed under disputes.
Status As of May 2025: IRMAC declined to provide information to Mine Action Review; clearance and survey figures for 2023 and 2024 were not reported.
- Agricultural land in the western provinces — Some 20 per cent of affected land may see rehabilitation delayed by unidentified minefields (UN team, 1991) United Nations Security Council
- People in border areas — At least 10 persons killed, maimed or wounded daily, as claimed by the Ministry of Health in 1991 United Nations Security Council
What happened
The 1980–88 war left mined and contaminated land in five western provinces bordering Iraq: Ilam, Khuzestan, Kermanshah, Kurdistan and West Azerbaijan. In 1991 a UN expert team recorded that unidentified minefields "may delay the rehabilitation of some 20 per cent of the affected agricultural land".
Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid) reported that, according to the Iran Mine Action Center (IRMAC), the "initial estimation of undefined 'contamination'" was 42,000 km², of which Ilam held 17,000, Khuzestan 15,000, Kermanshah 7,000, Kurdistan 1,500 and West Azerbaijan 1,500, and that by February 2020 this "had reportedly been reduced by '90%'". Mine Action Review 2017 recorded other figures: Defence Minister Hossein Dehghan said in 2014 that 4,500 km² of contamination in the five western provinces "had been reduced to 280km2"; the Ministry of Defence headline of 8 April 2014 read "In Iran 28,000 hectares of land are landmine-contaminated"; Iran's mine action authorities "have consistently reported that the war left 4,200km2"; and IRMAC gave remaining contamination of 250 km² in February 2014.
Some remaining contamination was said to lie in "impassable mountainous areas" or in marshes. Kermanshah was declared "free from landmines" in 2012, but casualties followed days later. In 2020 IRMAC listed flooding that displaces munitions, mines sinking "up to six metres below the surface", degradation of mines and vegetation as clearance challenges. PEDEC, the development arm of the National Iranian Oil Company, "contracts and monitors commercial operators conducting clearance of Iran's oil and gas producing areas"; no amounts are given.
Mine Action Review also recorded reports and allegations that Iran has laid new anti-personnel mines for border security, which Iran's government reportedly describes as "defence tools". It recorded that Iran is not a party to the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention and so has no Article 5 clearance deadline. President Hassan Rouhani said in May 2017, as reported in Iran Daily, that countries that supplied Iraq with mines did not give Iran technology to clear them; the Defence Minister said in April 2023 that "Iran has acquired the knowledge to produce demining equipment".
- 1991UN expert team records that unidentified minefields may delay rehabilitation of some 20 per cent of affected agricultural land
- 2012Kermanshah declared "free from landmines"; casualties followed days later
- 2014Defence Minister: contamination in five western provinces reduced from 4,500 km² to 280 km²; IRMAC gives 250 km² (February); Ministry of Defence headline of 28,000 hectares (8 April)
- 2020IRMAC presentations: initial 42,000 km² estimate reportedly reduced by 90% (February)
- 2025IRMAC declined to provide information to Mine Action Review (May)
What was said
“may delay the rehabilitation of some 20 per cent of the affected agricultural land”
“Iran has acquired the knowledge to produce demining equipment”
“In May 2025, Mine Action Review made renewed inquiries to IRMAC. IRMAC declined to provide information”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Initial estimate of undefined contamination 42,000 km², reportedly reduced by 90% by February 2020.
Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)Remaining contamination of 250 km².
Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)In 2014 said 4,500 km² of contamination in the five western provinces had been reduced to 280 km².
Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)Headline of 8 April 2014: "In Iran 28,000 hectares of land are landmine-contaminated".
Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)Have consistently reported that the war left 4,200 km².
Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)Recorded reports and allegations that Iran has laid new anti-personnel mines for border security.
Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)Reportedly describes them as "defence tools".
Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)How it looked
Shown
- In Iran 28,000 hectares of land are landmine-contaminated.Iran's Ministry of Defence, headline of 8 April 2014, as reported by Mine Action Review 2017 · Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)
Recorded
- IRMAC's initial estimate of undefined contamination was 42,000 km², reportedly reduced by 90% by February 2020 (Mine Action Review 2025).
- Iran is not a party to the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention.
- PEDEC contracts and monitors commercial operators clearing Iran's oil and gas producing areas.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Iran Mine Action Center (IRMAC) (May 2025): Declined to provide information in response to Mine Action Review's renewed inquiries. · Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)
- Government of Iran (May 2017; April 2023): President Rouhani said countries that supplied Iraq with mines did not give Iran technology to clear them; the Defence Minister said Iran had acquired the knowledge to produce demining equipment. · Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid)
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
- Disputed Size of the remaining mine and ordnance contamination in the western provinces
Accounts
- Disputed Whether Iran has laid new anti-personnel mines for border security
Record
- Disputed Disputed: official contamination figures differ between sources: IRMAC's initial estimate of 42,000 km² reportedly reduced by 90% by 2020; the Defence Minister's 4,500 km² reduced to 280 km² (2014); the Ministry of Defence's 28,000 hectares (2014); 4,200 km² as consistently reported by the mine action authorities; and IRMAC's 250 km² (February 2014).
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: IRMAC declined to provide information in response to Mine Action Review's renewed inquiries of May 2025.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: release, clearance and survey figures for 2023 and 2024 are recorded as "Not reported", as is anti-personnel mine contamination.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: Iran has not reported publicly on its release of mined areas in 2016 or on demining in the three previous years (Mine Action Review 2017).
- None on record None on record: a national demining budget in any source consulted; the sums paid to commercial operators in oil and gas areas are not given.
- Unclear Unclear: whether Iran has a national mine action standard on environmental management; Iran's environment ministry reportedly regulates environmental practices in mine action to some extent.
- None on record None on record: insurance.
Did the harm stop?
Not stopped: contamination remained in 2020 and some of it was said to lie in impassable mountainous areas and marshes; no 2023 or 2024 clearance figures were reported.
Who paid?
None on record. PEDEC, the National Iranian Oil Company's development arm, contracts commercial clearance in oil and gas areas; no amounts are given.
Sources
Communities and civil society
- Iran: Clearing the Mines 2025Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid) · 2025
- Iran: Clearing the Mines 2017Mine Action Review (Norwegian People's Aid) · 2017
International bodies
- Letter from the Secretary-General with the second and final report of the UN team of experts (resolution 598, para. 7), S/23322United Nations Security Council · 1991-12-24
Connected cases
- Iran–Iraq war (1980–88): environmental damage recorded by the UN expert team in 1991 and Iran's damage estimate Iran · 1980–1991 Related matter
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Source of the damage figures; later reparations demands
- Ukraine's mine contamination, the farmland demining programme and mine-action money Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Desalination plants hit in the 2026 war: Qeshm Island and Bahrain Iran · 2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Foreign minister's statement on Qeshm
- Electricity and diesel for groundwater pumping in Iran: subsidies and payments Iran · 2014–2024
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Sets energy prices; Majlis ordered the Central Bank funding
- Hamoun wetlands, Helmand water and the EU/UNDP restoration project Iran · 1973–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Party to the 1973 Helmand treaty
- Hoor al-Azim wetland, oil-field development and dikes in Khuzestan Iran · 2007–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Government of Iran
- Hyrcanian forests logging moratorium: announced budgets, partial allocation and the 2025 Elit fire Iran · 2015–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Enacted the ban and set the budgets
- Iran's 2026 war-damage estimate of about USD 270bn and its calls for compensation and environmental accountability Iran · 2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Source of the damage estimate and the compensation demands
- Iran's Clean Air Law and urban air pollution in Tehran and Ahvaz Iran · 2017–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Budget allocations for the law
- Iran's Groundwater Restoration and Balancing Plan: unlicensed wells, sealing, meters and budgets Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Government; plan and budget bills
- Lake Urmia decline and the Urmia Lake Restoration Program Iran · 1995–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Funded the programme
- Land subsidence on the Tehran plain and across Iran Iran · 1968–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Government; ministries and the Cartographic Center report subsidence data
- Mazut burning in Iranian power plants, 2020–2025 Iran · 2020–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Presidency; decisions on mazut use
- Persian Gulf and Oman Sea desalinated water transfer to Kerman, Yazd and Isfahan Iran · 2016–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Ordered the lines into operation; ministers made statements
- Plans to move Iran's capital to the Makran coast, 2024–2025 Iran · 2024–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Proposed the relocation; president, vice president, spokeswoman and foreign minister made statements
- Rafsanjan pistachio plain: aquifer decline, subsidence and export revenue Iran · 1960–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Government; ministries cited on pistachio exports and water markets
- South Pars and Assaluyeh: sulphur dioxide emissions and the pollution levy Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Cabinet approved the improvement document and the 2020 decision
- Strikes on Iranian nuclear sites, 2025 and 2026: IAEA statements on contamination and the Bushehr reactor Iran · 2025–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Foreign minister's statements on Bushehr
- Strikes on Iranian oil and gas facilities, June 2025 and March 2026, and damage at Qatar's Ras Laffan Iran · 2025–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Owner of the struck facilities; source of the state-media accounts
- Strikes on Tehran fuel depots, March 2026: smoke, black rain and Iran's "ecocide" claim Iran · 2025–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Characterised the attack as ecocide; wrote to the UN
- UN Compensation Commission "F4" environmental claims by Iran for the 1990–91 Gulf War Iran · 1990–2013
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Claimant
- Zagros oak forests: the UNDP/GEF Central Zagros project, its evaluation and the fires of 2024–2026 Iran · 2005–2026
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Allocated 13,193,669 to the project
- Zayandeh Rud and the Gavkhouni wetland: water transfers and farmers' protests in Isfahan Iran · 1953–2025
- Government of Iran (Government) — here: Runs the state demining programme; there: Promised farmers' aid and compensation