Cobalt child labour lawsuits against tech firms (DR Congo)
In March 2024 a US appeals court held that buying cobalt from a global supply chain was not participation in a venture using child labour. A Paris prosecutor also decided not to prosecute in a Congo complaint against Apple.
As reported by Reuters via Kitco. The plaintiffs' allegations and the case name are not in the record available.
Status As of the latest record in the file (October 2026): the March 2024 US appeals court ruling went for the companies, the Paris prosecutor decided not to prosecute, and no later ruling was found.
- Technology companies named in the suits — A US appeals court held that buying cobalt from a global supply chain was not participation in a child-labour venture. Kitco
- DR Congo state budget — The cobalt royalty rose from 2% to 10% under the 2018 mining code. No record was found that this gain reached communities or nature.
- Communities near cobalt and copper mines — Amnesty International reported forced evictions linked to mining expansion. Amnesty International UK
What happened
In March 2024 a US appeals court ruled that buying cobalt from a global supply chain did not amount to participation in a venture using child labour. The report, carried by Kitco from Reuters, was headlined as the court siding with Apple, Tesla and other technology companies. The alleged harm took place in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo).
In France, a Paris prosecutor decided that there were no grounds to prosecute in a complaint concerning Apple that had been brought in the name of Congo. Reuters reported the decision; the date is not stated in the record available.
DR Congo's own cobalt policy changed during the same period. The government suspended cobalt exports in February 2025, according to an International Energy Agency policy record, and later set an annual export quota of 96,600 tonnes for 2026 and 2027. The cobalt price nearly doubled between February and October 2025. Under the country's 2018 mining code the cobalt royalty rose from 2% to 10%.
- 2018DR Congo mining code raises the cobalt royalty from 2% to 10%
- 2023Amnesty International reports forced evictions linked to cobalt and copper mining expansion (September)
- 2024US appeals court rules that buying cobalt from a global supply chain is not participation in a child-labour venture (March)
- 2025DR Congo suspends cobalt exports (February); the cobalt price nearly doubles by October
- 2026Annual cobalt export quota of 96,600 tonnes applies for 2026 and 2027
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Held in March 2024 that purchasing cobalt from a global supply chain was not 'participation' in a child-labour venture.
KitcoDecided that there were no grounds to prosecute.
Environmental Peacebuilding AssociationHow it looked
Shown
Recorded
- A US appeals court held in March 2024 that purchasing cobalt from a global supply chain was not 'participation' in a child-labour venture.
- A Paris prosecutor decided not to prosecute in the Congo complaint concerning Apple.
- DR Congo suspended cobalt exports in February 2025.
- Amnesty International reported in September 2023 that the expansion of cobalt and copper mining in DR Congo involved forced evictions.
- A Financial Times and Lighthouse Reports investigation, with a study in Nature Communications, estimated that DR Congo's cobalt exports from 2000 to 2024 carried more than 2,000 tonnes of natural uranium.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2024-03Defendant wonUS appeals court ruling on cobalt purchases and child labourUS appeals court (court not named in the record) · Civil · Not stated in the record → Technology companies; the report headline names Apple and Tesla
The court held that buying cobalt from a global supply chain was not participation in a child-labour venture. The harm occurred in DR Congo. Kitco
- No defendant leftCongo complaint concerning Apple, ParisParis prosecutor's office · Criminal · Congo (complainant as described in the record) → Apple
The prosecutor decided that there were no grounds to prosecute. The date of the decision and the content of the complaint are not in the record. Environmental Peacebuilding Association
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Accounts
Record
- None on record No record was found that the DR Congo state's gain from the higher cobalt royalty reached communities or nature.
Did the harm stop?
The record available does not show any change in cobalt sourcing practice resulting from the lawsuits. DR Congo suspended exports in February 2025 and set a quota for 2026 and 2027.
Who paid?
The record available does not say who bore the cost of the alleged child labour. Amnesty International reported forced evictions linked to cobalt and copper mining expansion.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Paris prosecutor decision not to prosecute in the Congo complaint concerning Apple (Reuters)Environmental Peacebuilding Association ·
Communities and civil society
- DR Congo: huge expansion of cobalt and copper mining wrecking lives, new reportAmnesty International UK · 2023-09
International bodies
- Temporary suspension of cobalt export from the Democratic Republic of CongoInternational Energy Agency · 2025-02
Connected cases
- Angolan diamond mine tailings leak: DR Congo reports 12 dead, about 4,400 patients Angola · 2021
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: Government that suspended cobalt exports and set a quota; there: Reported 12 deaths and about 4,400 patients
- DR Congo oil blocks auction after forest deal Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2022–2026
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: Government that suspended cobalt exports and set a quota; there: Licensing authority
- DR Congo's 2018 mining code raises cobalt royalty from 2% to 10% DR Congo · 2018
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: Government that suspended cobalt exports and set a quota; there: Government that signed the mining code
- DRC replaces cobalt export ban with 96,600-tonne annual quota Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2025
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: Government that suspended cobalt exports and set a quota; there: Set the export ban and then the quota
- Former EPA chief Lisa Jackson named interim chair of Conservation International United States · 2012–2026
- Apple (Company) — here: Technology company named in the Paris complaint and, per the report headline, in the US suit; there: Jackson's most recent employer before Conservation International
- Microsoft forestry carbon deals and the Apple Restore Fund Brazil · 2024
- Apple (Company) — here: Technology company named in the Paris complaint and, per the report headline, in the US suit; there: Restore Fund sponsor
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- International Energy Agency (International organisation) — here: Source of the export-suspension policy record; there: International body (assessment of carbon capture)
- Syrah declares force majeure at Mozambique graphite mine after unrest Mozambique · 2024
- Tesla (Company) — here: Technology company named in the headline of the US ruling report; there: supply agreement counterparty
- US and DRC sign minerals partnership giving US firms first offer on mining sites Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2026
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: Government that suspended cobalt exports and set a quota; there: signatory to the partnership
- Vida Manglar mangrove project Colombia · 2021
- Apple (Company) — here: Technology company named in the Paris complaint and, per the report headline, in the US suit; there: Co-funder, mostly as a philanthropic donation