Cases / Mining / tailings dam · Angola · 2021
Angolan diamond mine tailings leak: DR Congo reports 12 dead, about 4,400 patients
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
The DR Congo government reported 12 deaths and about 4,400 patients after a tailings leak from the Catoca diamond mine in Angola. Al Jazeera reported that no one had accepted responsibility, and the sources reviewed do not describe effects on rivers or wildlife.
What?
A tailings leak from the Catoca diamond mine in Angola was followed by 12 deaths reported by the DR Congo government. Al Jazeera
Where?
Catoca diamond mine, Angola; deaths and illnesses reported by the DR Congo government. Al Jazeera
When?
2021; Al Jazeera reported the figures on 2 September 2021. Al Jazeera
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
- People affected in DR Congo — 12 deaths and about 4,400 patients reported by the DR Congo government Al Jazeera
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
A tailings leak from the mine; the sources reviewed do not describe its cause. Al Jazeera
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
The DR Congo government reported 12 deaths and about 4,400 patients after the leak, according to Al Jazeera.
Al Jazeera reported that responsibility for the leak had not been accepted.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not describe the cause of the leak, the rivers affected, or any clean-up or compensation.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say who benefits from the mine's output.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- DRC government says 12 dead following Angola mine tailings leakAl Jazeera · 2021-09-02
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- Cobalt child labour lawsuits against tech firms (DR Congo) DR Congo · 2024
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: Reported 12 deaths and about 4,400 patients; there: Government that suspended cobalt exports and set a quota
- DR Congo oil blocks auction after forest deal Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2022–2026
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: Reported 12 deaths and about 4,400 patients; there: Licensing authority
- DR Congo's 2018 mining code raises cobalt royalty from 2% to 10% DR Congo · 2018
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: Reported 12 deaths and about 4,400 patients; there: Government that signed the mining code
- DRC replaces cobalt export ban with 96,600-tonne annual quota Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2025
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: Reported 12 deaths and about 4,400 patients; there: Set the export ban and then the quota
- US and DRC sign minerals partnership giving US firms first offer on mining sites Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2026
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: Reported 12 deaths and about 4,400 patients; there: signatory to the partnership