Cases / Mining · Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2026
US and DRC sign minerals partnership giving US firms first offer on mining sites
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The US-DRC Strategic Partnership Agreement gives American companies first right of offer on mining sites in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The sources reviewed do not set out its environmental terms.
What?
The US-DRC Strategic Partnership Agreement gives US companies first right of offer on mining sites. Mongabay
Where?
Democratic Republic of the Congo. Mongabay
When?
Reported in February 2026. Mongabay
Who?
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
The agreement sets a first right of offer for US companies on mining sites; critics quoted by Mongabay call it minerals for security. Mongabay
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Mongabay reported that the US-DRC Strategic Partnership Agreement gives US companies first right of offer on mining sites.
Mongabay reported that critics describe the deal as minerals in exchange for security and a loss of sovereignty.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not give the terms of the agreement or name the mining sites covered.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not state the environmental or community effects of the mining sites.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the DRC produces the large majority of world cobalt and holds about 3% of the battery and electric vehicle value chain; no source is given.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a journalistic investigation and a study estimated over 2,000 tonnes of natural uranium in cobalt exports from 2000 to 2024; no source is given.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a neighbourhood of about 39,000 people in Kolwezi is threatened with eviction for copper-cobalt expansion; no source is given.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- Angolan diamond mine tailings leak: DR Congo reports 12 dead, about 4,400 patients Angola · 2021
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: Reported 12 deaths and about 4,400 patients
- Cobalt child labour lawsuits against tech firms (DR Congo) DR Congo · 2024
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: Government that suspended cobalt exports and set a quota
- DR Congo oil blocks auction after forest deal Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2022–2026
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: Licensing authority
- DR Congo's 2018 mining code raises cobalt royalty from 2% to 10% DR Congo · 2018
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: Government that signed the mining code
- DRC replaces cobalt export ban with 96,600-tonne annual quota Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2025
- Government of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: Set the export ban and then the quota
- EU Deforestation Regulation delays and trade pressure European Union · 2022
- United States Government (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: Asked for delay
- Pillay panel finds no proof WWF directed ranger abuses it supported Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2006–2020
- United States Government (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: funder of WWF's work
- Pribilof fur seal harvest and Alaska Commercial Company United States · 1870–1983
- United States Government (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: Paid compensation to Aleut residents, 1979 and 1983
- US and Cook Islands deal raises concerns over seabed mining talks Cook Islands · 2026
- United States Government (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: Party to the seabed minerals deal
- US takes about 15% stake in MP Materials and sets $110/kg rare earth price floor United States · 2026
- United States Government (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: took stake and set price floor
- US withdrawal from 66 international bodies and Paris/UNFCCC United States · 2025–2027
- United States Government (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: Withdrawing state
- WHO Pandemic Agreement and the PABS annex Global · 2025–2026
- United States Government (Government) — here: signatory to the partnership; there: Withdrew from WHO; participation in the negotiations halted