Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Mining · United States · 2026

US takes about 15% stake in MP Materials and sets $110/kg rare earth price floor

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 2 none on record · 2 insufficient · 1 not measured See the gaps

The US government took about a 15% stake in rare earth producer MP Materials and set a 10-year price floor of $110 per kilogram for NdPr. The sources reviewed do not set out the environmental effects of the company's operations.

What?
The US government took about a 15% stake in MP Materials and set a 10-year price floor for NdPr. Al Jazeera
Where?
United States. Al Jazeera
When?
Reported on 2 February 2026. Al Jazeera
Who?
Gained
  • MP Materials — About 15% government stake and a 10-year price floor of $110 per kilogram for NdPr Al Jazeera
Lost
None on record
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
A government equity stake plus a minimum price for NdPr; Project Vault, a stockpile, was funded with $10 billion from EXIM and $2 billion from private sources. Al Jazeera
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Al Jazeera reported that the US took about a 15% stake in MP Materials and gave the company a 10-year price floor of $110 per kilogram for NdPr.

Al Jazeera reported that Project Vault, a US critical minerals stockpile, was set up with $10 billion from EXIM and $2 billion from private sources.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: the US Department of Defense became MP Materials' largest shareholder; no source is given.
    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: a market price of about $60 per kilogram for NdPr; no source is given.
    • None on record The sources reviewed do not say what the government paid for its stake or who bears the cost of the price floor.
    • None on record The sources reviewed do not describe the environmental effects of MP Materials' operations.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.