Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Plastic waste and recycling claims · Global · 2017–2025

Plastic Bank and rePurpose collector schemes

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured. Disputed
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 3 none on record · 1 not disclosed · 5 insufficient · 1 not measured · 1 disputed See the gaps
Accounts of the harm differ
Are the collection totals real and is collector pay above market?
  • Company or project Plastic Bank: More than 160 million kg collected by April 2025; collectors are paid an above-market price.
  • Company or project SC Johnson: Its partnership with Plastic Bank accounts for more than 20 million kg (1 billion bottles). SC Johnson
  • Communities and civil society WWF: Does not recommend the terms “plastic neutral”, “plastic neutrality” or “net zero plastic”, calling them ambiguous and inherently misleading while a company sells plastic. WWF

Two companies pay people to collect plastic and sell the result to brands as plastic credits or recycled-content claims. Their collection totals are the companies' own figures; no independent audit was found.

More than 160 million kg by April 2025Plastic collected, as claimed by Plastic Bank
Company claim. No independent audit found.

Status As of the latest sources reviewed (2025): the companies' collection totals are unaudited; no investigation of collector pay found.

What?
Companies pay collectors for plastic and sell the collected material or credits to brands, which use them in recycled-content or plastic-offset claims. Henkel
Where?
Haiti, the Philippines, Indonesia, Egypt and Brazil (Plastic Bank partnerships); India (rePurpose project). Henkel
When?
Henkel partnership from 2017; collection claim as of April 2025. Henkel
Who?
Gained
  • Plastic Bank and rePurpose Global (sellers); partner brands including Henkel and SC Johnson (claims) — Revenue and sustainability claims; amounts not disclosed in the sources reviewed
Lost
None on record
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Brands buy collection and credit schemes to support recycled-content and plastic-offset claims; WWF says terms such as “plastic neutral” are misleading while a company sells plastic. WWF
How?
Collectors are paid bonuses per kg; collected material is sold on; credits are priced per kg (rePurpose, about USD 0.50 per kg per EIB). European Investment Bank
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Plastic Bank is a company that pays collectors for plastic and sells the collected material to brands. According to Henkel, its partnership with Plastic Bank began in 2017 in Haiti, was extended for five years in 2019, and later covered the Philippines, Indonesia and Egypt. SC Johnson has said its partnership covers more than 300 collection points in the Philippines, Indonesia and Brazil.

Plastic Bank has claimed that more than 160 million kg of plastic had been collected by April 2025. SC Johnson has claimed that its partnership with Plastic Bank accounted for more than 20 million kg, equal to 1 billion bottles. Plastic Bank pays collectors in bonuses. The sources reviewed record the bonus as about PHP 8–15 per kg in the Philippines (Inquirer, 2023) and BRL 0.35 per kg in Brazil. The company describes its price as above market; that description is the company's own and has not been independently checked.

rePurpose Global sells plastic credits. The European Investment Bank described a credit price of about USD 0.50 per kg in a story on an Indian plastic project; rePurpose's own business page states about USD 0.25 per lb of footprint. Neither price has been independently verified.

WWF's revised 2025 position on plastic crediting says it does not recommend the terms “plastic neutral”, “plastic neutrality” or “net zero plastic”, which it calls ambiguous and inherently misleading while a company sells plastic. The UK Food Standards Agency has no agreed definition of “ocean plastic”-type claims, and Changing Markets describes such claims as a common form of greenwashing.

The sources reviewed contain no independent audit of Plastic Bank's collection figures and no investigation of what collectors are paid.

  1. 2017Henkel partnership with Plastic Bank begins, starting in Haiti
  2. 2019Henkel extends the partnership by five years; later covers the Philippines, Indonesia and Egypt
  3. 2023Inquirer reports collector bonus of about PHP 8–15 per kg in the Philippines
  4. 2025Plastic Bank claims more than 160 million kg collected (April); WWF publishes revised plastic crediting position

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Are the collection totals real and is collector pay above market?
Company or project
Plastic Bank

More than 160 million kg collected by April 2025; collectors are paid an above-market price.

Company or project
SC Johnson

Its partnership with Plastic Bank accounts for more than 20 million kg (1 billion bottles).

SC Johnson
Communities and civil society
WWF

Does not recommend the terms “plastic neutral”, “plastic neutrality” or “net zero plastic”, calling them ambiguous and inherently misleading while a company sells plastic.

WWF

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • More than 160 million kg of plastic collected by April 2025
    Plastic Bank (company claim)
  • More than 20 million kg (1 billion bottles) collected through the SC Johnson partnership
    SC Johnson (company claim) · SC Johnson
  • More than 300 collection points in the Philippines, Indonesia and Brazil
    SC Johnson (company claim)
  • Collectors paid an above-market price
    Plastic Bank (self-verified claim)

Recorded

  • Collector bonus of about PHP 8–15 per kg in the Philippines (Inquirer, 2023) and BRL 0.35 per kg in Brazil
  • No independent audit of Plastic Bank's collection totals found in the sources reviewed
  • No investigation of collector pay found in the sources reviewed
  • WWF does not recommend the terms “plastic neutral”, “plastic neutrality” or “net zero plastic”

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
No figure published.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Currency: USD · Window: n/a. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • plastic-bank (2025): Claims more than 160 million kg collected by April 2025; says it pays an above-market price (self-verified).
  • sc-johnson: Claims its Plastic Bank partnership accounts for more than 20 million kg, equal to 1 billion bottles. · SC Johnson

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Independent audit of collection totals
None found
The 160 million kg figure is Plastic Bank's own claim
Plastic collected, as claimed
160 million kg+
Plastic Bank, by April 2025
Investigation of collector pay
None found
“Above-market price” is self-verified

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Nature

  • Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
  • Disputed Are the collection totals real and is collector pay above market?

Court

Figures

  • Insufficient Collector bonus philippines: Reported by Inquirer (2023); not independently verified.
  • Insufficient Collector bonus brazil: Reported; not independently verified.
  • Insufficient Credit price repurpose: EIB story on an Indian plastic project; not independently verified.

Record

  • None on record No independent audit of Plastic Bank's collection claims has been found in the sources reviewed.
  • None on record No investigation of collector pay has been found; the claim that collectors receive an above-market price is the company's own.
  • Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: the collector bonus rates (about PHP 8–15 per kg in the Philippines; BRL 0.35 per kg in Brazil).
  • Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: rePurpose Global's credit price of about USD 0.50 per kg (EIB story) and about USD 0.25 per lb of footprint (rePurpose's own page).
  • Not disclosed Plastic Bank's revenue, the price brands pay, and certification fees are not disclosed in the sources reviewed.

Did the harm stop?

Not on record. The sources reviewed do not describe any halt to the schemes.

Who paid?

Not established in the sources reviewed. Brands pay for the material or credits; the prices are not disclosed except the figures noted above.

Sources

Voices on record: ✓ Company or project✓ Government and regulators— Courts— Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers✓ Standard-setters and registries

Company or project

Government and regulators

  1. Indian plastic solution
    European Investment Bank ·

Communities and civil society

Standard-setters and registries

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Carbon and conservation finance

Offset
Using carbon credits to balance emissions released elsewhere, so that a buyer can claim lower or zero net emissions.