Kahuzi-Biega National Park: Batwa evictions and killings
- More than 6,000 people were displaced or listed for relocation.Batwa evicted at the park's 1975 expansion without food, support, compensation or resettlement.
- At least 20 people died.Killed in three operations in 2019–2021, per MRG (April 2022), via Mongabay.
- 29 people died.Batwa reported killed in 2017–2022 (University of Arizona page).
- 1 people died.A 17-year-old Batwa shot dead by patrolling rangers on 26 August 2017; his father was wounded in the arm.
Batwa were evicted without compensation when Kahuzi-Biega National Park in DR Congo was expanded in 1975. In April 2022 Minority Rights Group reported that park guards and soldiers killed at least 20 Batwa in 2019–2021.
Figure reported by an advocacy group via press coverage. Another account counts 29 Batwa killed in 2017–2022 (different period).
Status As of November 2024: the African Commission's 19 recommendations had not been implemented and the government had not responded; no proceedings against the park's funders were found.
- Wildlife Conservation Society — Took over management of the park in April 2022 under a partnership agreement; it had previously been a funder. University of Arizona (Indigenous peoples resource page)
- Batwa communities — Land of the park, from which more than 6,000 were evicted in 1975 without compensation or resettlement. University of Arizona (Indigenous peoples resource page)
- Batwa villages — At least 20 killed, 15 raped, two burned alive and hundreds displaced in 2019–2021, per MRG. Mongabay
- A 17-year-old Batwa — Shot dead by rangers on 26 August 2017 while gathering medicinal plants. Survival International
What happened
Kahuzi-Biega National Park in South Kivu, DR Congo, was founded in 1970. In the park's 1975 expansion, more than 6,000 Batwa, a forest people, were evicted without food, support, compensation or resettlement, according to a University of Arizona page. Some returned to ancestral land in October 2018.
The park's funders include Germany's development bank KfW (since 2008), on behalf of the German development ministry (BMZ), together with the German agency GIZ (since 1983), USAID and the Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS). KfW and GIZ funding is reported as €66 million since 2008 across six reserves including Kahuzi-Biega. WCS took over management of the park in April 2022 under a partnership agreement.
In April 2022 Minority Rights Group (MRG) published the report "To Purge the Forest by Force", based on about 600 sources including more than 550 eyewitnesses. It reported three operations in 2019–2021 against at least seven Batwa villages by park guards and soldiers of the Congolese army (FARDC): at least 20 people killed, 15 raped, two burned alive and hundreds displaced. A separate account by the University of Arizona page counts 29 Batwa killed in 2017–2022. In August 2017 a 17-year-old Batwa was shot dead by patrolling rangers while gathering medicinal plants at the park boundary; his father, who was wounded, complained to KfW and GIZ in September 2017.
WCS denied involvement in military operations. KfW asked the Congolese parks authority ICCN to investigate and said it funds no weapons or ammunition. BMZ paused support to ICCN in 2019–2020 after reporting in the German daily taz and resumed it in May 2020. In 2020 a military court in Bukavu convicted 10 ecoguards from Kahuzi-Biega and Salonga parks of murder, rape and torture. ICCN's inquiry commission, funded by Germany, rejected most of the allegations in 2022.
The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, in Communication 588/15, found that the 1970s eviction violated the African Charter. It made 19 recommendations, including return of titled land, compensation and a public apology. The recommendations are not binding. As of November 2024 they had not been implemented and the government had not responded. A land case has been before the Congolese Supreme Court since 2013.
- 1970Kahuzi-Biega National Park founded
- 1975Park expanded; more than 6,000 Batwa evicted without compensation or resettlement
- 2008KfW begins funding the park (GIZ since 1983)
- 2013Land case filed before the Congolese Supreme Court (reported ongoing)
- 2017A 17-year-old Batwa shot dead by rangers (26 Aug); father complains to KfW and GIZ (Sep)
- 2018Some Batwa return to ancestral land (Oct)
- 2019Three operations by park guards and soldiers begin (2019–2021, per MRG); BMZ pauses support to ICCN (2019–2020)
- 2020BMZ resumes support (May); Bukavu military court convicts 10 ecoguards
- 2022MRG report (Apr); WCS takes over park management (Apr); ICCN commission rejects most allegations; African Commission decision
- 2023France reported to drop a funding plan (Jul)
- 2024Commission decision published (Jun); recommendations unimplemented as of Nov
What was said
“underwritten by the German and US governments”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Reported three operations in 2019–2021 against at least seven Batwa villages by park guards and FARDC soldiers: at least 20 killed, 15 raped, two burned alive, hundreds displaced.
MongabayReported that the MRG report described the operations as an institutional policy approved and planned at the highest level of park management.
Survival InternationalDenied involvement in military operations.
MongabayRejected most of the allegations in 2022.
University of Arizona (Indigenous peoples resource page)Convicted 10 ecoguards from Kahuzi-Biega and Salonga parks of murder, rape and torture in 2020.
University of Arizona (Indigenous peoples resource page)29 Batwa reported killed in 2017–2022.
University of Arizona (Indigenous peoples resource page)Found the 1970s eviction violated the African Charter and made 19 recommendations, including return of titled land, compensation and a public apology.
MongabayHow it looked
Shown
- The park is a UNESCO World Heritage site (inscribed 1980)UNESCO World Heritage listing
Recorded
- More than 6,000 Batwa were evicted at the 1975 expansion without food, support, compensation or resettlement.
- MRG's April 2022 report documented three operations in 2019–2021 against at least seven Batwa villages: at least 20 killed, 15 raped, two burned alive, hundreds displaced; perpetrators named as park guards and FARDC soldiers.
- 29 Batwa were reported killed in 2017–2022.
- A military court in Bukavu convicted 10 ecoguards from Kahuzi-Biega and Salonga of murder, rape and torture in 2020.
- The African Commission found the 1970s eviction violated the African Charter and made 19 non-binding recommendations; none implemented as of November 2024.
- France reportedly dropped a funding plan in July 2023.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Wildlife Conservation Society (2022): Denied involvement in military operations. · Mongabay
- KfW (2022): Asked ICCN to investigate and said it funds no weapons or ammunition. Said it finances only on the basis of applicable law. · Mongabay
- German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) (2019–2020): Paused support to ICCN in 2019–2020 after reporting in the daily taz, and resumed it in May 2020. · Mongabay
- ICCN (Congolese parks authority) (2022): Its inquiry commission, funded by Germany, rejected most of the allegations. · University of Arizona (Indigenous peoples resource page)
- Government of DR Congo (November 2024): Had not responded to the African Commission's recommendations. · Mongabay
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2020Claimant wonConviction of 10 ecoguards from Kahuzi-Biega and Salonga parksBukavu military court · Criminal · State prosecution (not detailed in the sources) → 10 ecoguards from Kahuzi-Biega and Salonga parks (unnamed in the sources)
The court convicted 10 ecoguards of murder, rape and torture. The sources do not say which incidents the convictions covered or how many related to Kahuzi-Biega. University of Arizona (Indigenous peoples resource page)
- 2022 (published June 2024)Claimant wonAfrican Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, Communication 588/15African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights · International court · Batwa evicted from Kahuzi-Biega → Government of DR Congo
The Commission found that the 1970s eviction violated the African Charter and made 19 recommendations, including return of titled land, compensation and a public apology. The recommendations are not binding; none had been implemented as of November 2024. Mongabay
- 2013–OngoingLand case concerning Kahuzi-BiegaSupreme Court of DR Congo · Civil · Not stated in the sources → Not stated in the sources
The land case has been before the Congolese Supreme Court since 2013; no ruling is recorded.
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Accounts
- Disputed Were the 2019–2021 operations against Batwa villages organised violence, and by whom?
- Disputed Do the park's foreign funders bear responsibility for the operations?
- Disputed How many Batwa were killed?
- Disputed Will the African Commission's recommendations be implemented?
- None on record Government of DR Congo: Had not responded as of November 2024.
Record
- Disputed Counts of Batwa killed differ by period: at least 20 in 2019–2021 (MRG) and 29 in 2017–2022 (University of Arizona page).
- Unclear Whether the father of the 17-year-old shot in 2017 also died: a 2018 UN communication cited by the University of Arizona page records that he did, which conflicts with the record of his September 2017 complaint to KfW and GIZ.
- None on record The date of the African Commission's decision: recorded as 2022 (published June 2024) in one account and as 2022 or 2024 in others.
- None on record No proceedings against the park's funders (KfW, GIZ, USAID, WCS) were found.
- Unclear No ruling is recorded in the land case before the Congolese Supreme Court, pending since 2013.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: a claim that half of the Batwa evicted from the park died within twenty years; it could not be traced to a primary source.
Did the harm stop?
No end to the harm is recorded. The African Commission's recommendations, including return of titled land and compensation, had not been implemented as of November 2024.
Who paid?
Batwa communities: evicted from the park's land in 1975 without compensation and, per MRG, subjected to killings, rapes and displacement in 2019–2021.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Rangers in DRC gorilla park abused Indigenous villagers, report saysMongabay · 2022-04
- Historic DRC decision on Batwa park evictions faces implementation hurdlesMongabay · 2024-11-19
Communities and civil society
- To Purge the Forest by Force: Organized violence against Batwa in Kahuzi-Biega National ParkMinority Rights Group · 2022-04-05
- Survival International news item on the Kahuzi-Biega report and the 2017 shootingSurvival International · 2022-04-06
Researchers
- Kahuzi-Biega National ParkUniversity of Arizona (Indigenous peoples resource page) · undated
Connected cases
- WWF-funded ranger units accused of torture and killings in Asia and Africa Multiple countries · 2006–2023
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: Funder, then park manager from April 2022; there: Took over management of Kahuzi-Biega park in April 2022
- KfW (Bank) — here: Funder (since 2008); there: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report
- USAID (Government) — here: Funder; there: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report
- ICCN (DR Congo park agency) (Government) — here: Congolese parks authority; there: Co-managed Salonga with WWF; its inquiry rejected most claims in 2022
- Endorois and Lake Bogoria enzyme extraction (Kenya) Kenya · 1970–2026
- Minority Rights Group (NGO) — here: Author of the April 2022 report; there: Published the report on non-implementation of the Endorois decision
- African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (International organisation) — here: Found the 1970s eviction violated the African Charter; there: Found the eviction a rights violation (2010); resolution 197 on the World Heritage listing (2011)
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- USAID (Government) — here: Funder; there: Donor to NRT (nearly $20m, 2015–2020; funding ended January 2025)
- Survival International (NGO) — here: Reported the shooting of a 17-year-old Batwa; there: Critic of the project's carbon claims
- Report says a man died after ecoguard beating in Republic of the Congo park Republic of the Congo · 2017
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: Funder, then park manager from April 2022; there: conservation NGO; no response found in the sources reviewed
- USAID (Government) — here: Funder; there: funder named in the report
- Salonga National Park ranger abuses (DR Congo) DR Congo · 2002–2020
- KfW (Bank) — here: Funder (since 2008); there: German development bank; funder of Salonga
- ICCN (DR Congo park agency) (Government) — here: Congolese parks authority; there: Congolese parks authority; co-manager of Salonga
- UNESCO World Heritage listings and Indigenous rights Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Ethiopia, Uganda · 1991–2025
- Survival International (NGO) — here: Reported the shooting of a 17-year-old Batwa; there: Issued written warning to African Parks (June 2023)
- African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (International organisation) — here: Found the 1970s eviction violated the African Charter; there: African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights
- WWF independent review (Pillay panel) and US funding suspension International · 2019–2020
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: Funder, then park manager from April 2022; there: Grantee under US review
- USAID (Government) — here: Funder; there: Source of the CARPE funds routed through the US Fish and Wildlife Service
- African Parks Odzala-Kokoua abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2010–2025
- Survival International (NGO) — here: Reported the shooting of a 17-year-old Batwa; there: Raised the allegations with African Parks in June 2023
- Ecopetrol Lizama well blowout (Colombia) Colombia · 2018–2021
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: Funder, then park manager from April 2022; there: Conservation organisation listing Ecopetrol among its corporate supporters
- Halmahera nickel complex (IWIP, Weda Bay) and the Hongana Manyawa Indonesia · 2018–2026
- Survival International (NGO) — here: Reported the shooting of a 17-year-old Batwa; there: Source of Hongana Manyawa figures
- Kaziranga shoot-on-sight killings (India) India · 2013–2017
- Survival International (NGO) — here: Reported the shooting of a 17-year-old Batwa; there: Source of the 106-in-20-years figure (not verified)
- Messok Dja ecoguard abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2008–2020
- Survival International (NGO) — here: Reported the shooting of a 17-year-old Batwa; there: NGO; reported the draft findings
- Olkaria geothermal projects (Kenya) Kenya · 2013–2017
- KfW (Bank) — here: Funder (since 2008); there: Financier
- Pillay panel finds no proof WWF directed ranger abuses it supported Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2006–2020
- ICCN (DR Congo park agency) (Government) — here: Congolese parks authority; there: park authority; co-manager of Salonga
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (Government) — here: Ministry on whose behalf KfW funds the park; there: Funder of the Crowther Lab via the foundation
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- Minority Rights Group (NGO) — here: Author of the April 2022 report; there: NGO documenting the 2024 evictions
- Tobacco groups' diversification into oil, food and shipping United States · 2005–2026
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: Funder, then park manager from April 2022; there: Conservation organisation; trustee role documented
- Tropical Forest Forever Facility Brazil · 2025
- German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (Government) — here: Ministry on whose behalf KfW funds the park; there: Pledged 1 billion euros over 10 years (via Germany's environment ministry)
- USAID funding for Kenya's Northern Rangelands Trust ended in 2025 Kenya · 2025
- USAID (Government) — here: Funder; there: Donor whose funding ended; agency closed 1 July 2025
- WWF-supported ecoguards in Cameroon and CAR (Lobéké, Dzanga-Sangha) Cameroon · 2008–2020
- Survival International (NGO) — here: Reported the shooting of a 17-year-old Batwa; there: Filed OECD complaint against WWF (2016)