Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Mining · United States · 2016–2026

Isle de Jean Charles relocation and a $744.6m Chevron coastal-loss verdict

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
What the record lacks: 1 none on record · 2 insufficient · 1 not measured See the gaps

Residents moved from Isle de Jean Charles, an island that has lost 98% of its land since 1955, with money from a $98 million federal grant. A Louisiana jury ordered Chevron to pay $744.6 million over coastal land loss, but no payment has been made.

What?
A $98 million federal grant funded relocation from Isle de Jean Charles, and a jury ordered Chevron to pay $744.6 million over coastal land loss in a neighbouring parish. DeSmog
Where?
Isle de Jean Charles, Louisiana, USA; Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana Inside Climate News
When?
Grant 2016; complaint December 2023; resident complaints 2024; jury verdict April 2025 WWNO / Le Louisianais
Who?
Gained
  • Louisiana Office of Community Development and Louisiana Land Trust — Control of the relocation money after it arrived, which passed from the tribe's plan to the state office and its contractor DeSmog
  • Buyers not linked to the tribe — Remaining island lots can be sold to people who have no link to the tribe DeSmog
Lost
  • Isle de Jean Charles residents — 98% of the island's land lost since 1955; the island once had 78 homes and about 400 residents Inside Climate News
Harmed
  • Relocated residents — Reported cracks, leaks and toilet failures in new homes, and no flood insurance WWNO
Why?
Land loss attributed to oil and gas canals, pipelines, Mississippi River levees and sea level rise Inside Climate News
How?
The tribe wrote its own plan in 2013; after the money arrived, control passed to the state office and its contractor DeSmog
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Inside Climate News reported that the island lost 98% of its land between 1955 and 2021, and cited oil and gas canals, pipelines, Mississippi River levees and sea level rise as causes.

DeSmog reported that a $98 million grant went to the Louisiana Office of Community Development in 2016, and that $48 million was set aside for relocating the Jean Charles Choctaw tribe.

WWNO reported that the tribe's December 2023 complaint to HUD said restrictions on relocated residents' island homes were not applied to newcomers, and that new homes had cracks, leaks and toilet failures.

The Associated Press reported that a Plaquemines Parish jury in April 2025 ordered Chevron to pay $744.6 million, of which $575 million was for land loss; Chevron says it is not the cause of the land loss, and no payment has been made.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    1. 2025-04Ongoing
      Plaquemines Parish v. Chevron (coastal land loss)
      Jury trial, Louisiana; federal court from 2026 · Civil · Plaquemines Parish → Chevron

      Jury award of $744.6 million, of which $575 million was for land loss. The claim was $2.6 billion. No payment has been made, and the case moved to federal court in 2026. Associated Press (via WSLS)

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: a 515-acre sugar cane field in Schriever bought for about $11.7 million (KATC, secondary summary).
    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: the tribe's HUD complaint was withdrawn in January 2026; the reason is not known (EarthRights).
    • None on record Not found: the current status of the Plaquemines case in federal court, and whether any payment has been ordered since 2025.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

    Law and courts

    Arbitration
    A private dispute process in which an appointed arbitrator, instead of a court, decides the case.