Hanford contractors settle false-claims suits as cleanup estimates rise
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Bechtel and URS, now part of AECOM, paid $125 million in 2016 and $57.8 million in 2020 to settle claims over billing at the Hanford nuclear site. The US Department of Energy now estimates the cleanup at $364 billion to $589.4 billion, finishing in 2086; the stake for nature is nuclear waste beside the Columbia River.
- Bechtel — Hanford contracts continued after the settlements
- US federal taxpayers — Fund the cleanup through the Energy Department budget Tri-Cities Business News
- Columbia River and nearby communities — Nuclear waste stored on the riverbank awaiting treatment
What happened
The US Justice Department settled claims that Bechtel and URS charged the government for defective nuclear material and used federal contract money for a lobbying campaign, for $125 million in November 2016 (Justice Department).
In September 2020 Bechtel and AECOM settled a suit over billing for idle labour hours at Hanford for $57.8 million, when the waste treatment plant was estimated at $16.8 billion (ENR).
In April 2025 the Department of Energy estimated the Hanford cleanup at $364 billion to $589.4 billion and projected completion in 2086 (Tri-Cities Business News).
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record Not linked to a URL: the waste plant cost is about four times its 2000 estimate.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Bechtel has managed the estimated $17 billion Hanford vitrification plant for more than 22 years.
- None on record Not stated: Bechtel's profit on the Hanford contracts.
- None on record Not stated: whether the 2016 and 2020 settlements included an admission of liability.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- United States settles lawsuit against Energy Department contractorsUS Department of Justice · 2016-11
- Report: Hanford cleanup to cost tens of billions moreTri-Cities Business News · 2025-04
Connected cases
- Sellafield decommissioning and Hanford cleanup budgets United States · 1943–2086 Related matter
- Bechtel (Company) — here: Hanford contractor; party to the 2016 and 2020 settlements; there: Hanford waste treatment plant contractor
- AECOM (Company) — here: Former URS, now AECOM; party to the 2020 settlement; there: Owner of URS, Hanford contractor
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate; there: Hanford owner and funder
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Government party in the settled cases
- 45Q lobby coalition's founding director was named to head DOE carbon office United States · 2011–2025
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate; there: administers carbon management funds
- ACCCE clean coal advertising and forged letters (US) United States · 2008–2009
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate; there: Ran the Clean Coal programme, 1986–1993
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Prosecutor and civil claimant
- Dark Basin hacking of climate groups (#ExxonKnew) United States · 2023
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Prosecuting authority (Southern District of New York)
- Exxon Valdez: the spill, insurance and court cases United States · 1989–2015
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Prosecutor and civil claimant
- Kerr-McGee / Anadarko fraudulent transfer settlement United States · 2014–2015
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Announced the settlement
- Leaked DOE list marks first tranches for two direct air capture hubs 'terminate' United States · 2021
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate; there: ran the hub funding and the list
- Monsanto faces US bribery charge over Indonesian environmental review Indonesia · 2005
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: prosecuting authority; issued the press release
- Montrose DDT insurance case United States · 1947–2020
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Announced the December 2000 DDT settlement
- Mosaic settles US hazardous-waste case over phosphogypsum handling United States · 2015
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Co-signatory of the settlement
- NextEra unit ESI Energy admits at least 150 eagle deaths at US wind farms United States · 2012–2022
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: prosecutor that described the permit policy
- Occidental buys Holocene as US carbon removal staff is cut to one person United States · 2023–2025
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate; there: Federal department whose carbon removal staff was reduced
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate; there: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022
- Ohio HB6 bribery scandal United States · 2017–2026
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Prosecuted; recorded a $230m payment by the company
- Roundup litigation, settlements and legal shield (Bayer/Monsanto) United States · 2009–2026
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Supported Monsanto in Durnell
- Syrah declares force majeure at Mozambique graphite mine after unrest Mozambique · 2024
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate; there: lender; loan defaulted
- US bird flu indemnity and egg prices United States · 2022–2026
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Egg-price inquiry
- US indictment alleges Adani solar bribery; three charges later dismissed India · 2024–2026
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Prosecution; requested dismissal of three charges
- US Supreme Court blocks state cancer-warning suits against pesticide makers United States · 2026
- US Department of Justice (Government) — here: Counterparty to the 2016 settlement; there: Supported Monsanto in the case