Coca-Cola reports replenishing 115% of the water it used in 2015
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
In 2016 Coca-Cola said it had returned 115% of the water it used in 2015, through 248 initiatives. What is at stake for nature is whether water taken from a basin is actually returned to that basin.
- The Coca-Cola Company — Publicised the 115% figure as a water replenishment result. Christian Science Monitor
What happened
In August 2016 Coca-Cola said it had replenished 115% of the water it used in 2015, about 192 billion litres, through 248 initiatives, the Christian Science Monitor reported.
According to the same report, some initiatives benefited the water sources the company draws from, and others served communities not directly affected by its withdrawals.
The same report recalled that a bottling plant in northern India had been closed in 2014 after extracting excessive groundwater.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether the initiatives restored the same groundwater or surface water the company drew, or what their measured effect was.
- None on record Not stated: how the company counted its water use, and whether the 248 initiatives were independently checked.
- None on record Not stated: the local effect of the groundwater extraction at the northern India plant, or any remediation after its 2014 closure.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Coca-Cola 115% water replenishment report (2015 water use)Christian Science Monitor · 29.08.2016
Connected cases
- California approves SB 54 packaging rules making producers pay USD 5 billion in 10 years United States · 2026–2032
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: named in CAA program governance
- Coca-Cola and ILSI: influence on obesity policy in China and India China / India · 1978–2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Founder-linked company; ILSI member until January 2021
- Coca-Cola and Unilever revise plastic packaging targets International · 2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Revised its packaging targets
- Coca-Cola plastic pledges and brand audits United States · 2018
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Beverage company; pledges, plastic-credit buyer through affiliates, defendant
- Coca-Cola World Without Waste targets reset Global · 2018–2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Set and reset the World Without Waste targets
- Coca-Cola's partner The Ocean Cleanup reports 25 million kg collected in 2025 International · 2021
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Named global partner since 2021
- Ellen MacArthur plastics pledge off track; Coca-Cola scales back targets Global · 2018–2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: company that cut its packaging targets
- Great Pacific Garbage Patch and The Ocean Cleanup International waters · 2013–2025
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Global partner since 2021 (river Interceptors); largest share of branded plastic waste in the Cowger et al. 2024 audit (11%)
- Keep America Beautiful and plastic industry recycling messages United States · 1953–2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Joined the group later
- Keep America Beautiful founding and Crying Indian ad (US) United States · 1953–2023
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Later member
- Keep America Beautiful, founded by can and bottle makers, opposed bottle deposit laws United States · 1953–1981
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: later member
- Nature Conservancy began $10 million partnership with Dow Chemical in 2011 United States · 2007–2021
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: company; relationship with WWF
- New York v PepsiCo and LA County v PepsiCo/Coca-Cola United States · 2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Defendant in the Los Angeles County suit
- Ocean Conservancy withdraws 2015 plastic incineration recommendation Global · 2015–2022
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Co-funder of the 2015 report
- Oregon bottle bill (1971) United States · 1953
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Later KAB member
- Paris court finds Volvic recycling claims misleading; Coca-Cola, Nestlé change labels France · 2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: Changed its EU label
- Tillamook faces suit over farm imagery as Fairlife settles for $21m United States · 2022
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement
- TNC chief scientist urged conservation groups to partner with companies United States · 2011–2015
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: Company that announced the 115% figure; there: WWF partner (reported)