Belize blue bond
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
A debt buyback tied to protecting 30% of Belize's ocean. Protection stands at 20.3%; about $6 million in grants were approved in three and a half years.
UNCTAD expert and TNC figures.
- Government of Belize — Retired a $553m bond with a $364m loan, cutting the debt's face value by about $189m (about 12% of GDP, estimate); Prime Minister John Briceño said Belize "realized over 1.1 billion dollars in savings". LSE International Development blog
- Blue-bond investors, including the Swedish pension fund Alecta — Receive the interest on $364m of DFC-insured blue bonds; Alecta bought only after the insurance was in place. The spread between what Belize pays and what investors receive is $84m (UNCTAD expert) or $86m (TNC) over the deal's life. LSE International Development blog
- US DFC and its reinsurers, including Chubb — Premiums for insuring the loan, part of the $84–86m lifetime spread; the DFC cover was $610m, of which Chubb and others reinsured $300m. Chubb
- Credit Suisse — Arranged and underwrote the blue bonds; it said it had "provisioned to cover ongoing transaction costs" and declined to state its earnings.
- The Nature Conservancy — About $14m of deal costs included repaying a $10.5m TNC loan.
- Holders of the "superbond" — Accepted a 45% haircut when Belize bought the bond back at 55 cents on the dollar. LSE International Development blog
- Government of Belize — Pays premiums and costs of $84–86m over the deal's life; interest on the blue loan starts at 3% and rises to 6% in 2026. Bloomberg Línea
What happened
In November 2021, announced at COP26, Belize bought back its $553 million "superbond" at 55 cents on the dollar.
It funded the buyback with a $364 million loan from a subsidiary of The Nature Conservancy (TNC). Credit Suisse financed the loan by issuing blue bonds through a Cayman Islands vehicle. The US DFC insured the loan; the Swedish pension fund Alecta bought the bonds after the insurance was in place.
Belize committed about $180 million to ocean conservation over 20 years and to protect 30% of its ocean by 2026.
- 2021Buyback at 55 cents; blue loan from TNC subsidiary
- 2024Ocean protection 20.3%
- 2025About $6m in grants approved; protection still 20.3%
- 202630% target year
What was said
“We realized over 1.1 billion dollars in savings.”
“I find this profoundly concerning.”
How it looked
Shown
- 30% of the ocean protected
- $1.1 billion saved
Recorded
- Protected: 20.3% (2024 and 2025)
- Grants approved in 3.5 years: about $6m
- Credit Suisse declined to state its earnings
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
- 2021PaidUS DFC, with reinsurers → Blue loan investors
DFC insured the blue loan; the bond buyer purchased only after the insurance was in place. No claim reported.
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.
Money
- Not disclosed Credit Suisse earnings — Not disclosed.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Record
- None on record Credit Suisse's earnings on the transaction.
- Disputed Two official figures for grants allocated conflict (BZ$12m vs BZ$14.6m).
- Not measured No independent ecological evaluation.
Did the harm stop?
No specific harm was named. The protection target has not been reached.
Who paid?
Belize, through premiums and costs; bondholders who accepted a 45% haircut.
Sources
Company or project
- Chubb supports landmark debt-for-nature restructuring project in BelizeChubb · 2021-12-20
Press and investigations
- Belize blue bond turns twoAmandala · 2023
- Blue bond updateSan Pedro Sun · 2025
- How Wall Street's new ESG money maker promises nature conservation in emerging marketsBloomberg Línea · 2023
Researchers
- Do debt-for-nature swaps work? Learning from BelizeLSE International Development blog · 2023-02-28
Connected cases
- Gabon debt-for-nature swap Gabon · 2023 Related matter
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Sponsor of the project
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: Insurer; there: Political risk insurer
- Barbados debt-for-nature swap Barbados · 2022
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Guarantor (US$50m)
- Credit Suisse (now UBS) (Bank) — here: Bond arranger; there: Global lead arranger
- El Salvador debt-for-nature swap El Salvador · 2024–2025
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Not named for this transaction; a JPMorgan executive sits on its board
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: Insurer; there: Political risk insurer
- Galápagos debt-for-nature swap Ecuador · 2023–2041
- Credit Suisse (now UBS) (Bank) — here: Bond arranger; there: Bond arranger
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: Insurer; there: Political-risk insurer
- Galápagos debt-for-nature swap used US$656 million of US political risk insurance Ecuador · 2023
- Credit Suisse (now UBS) (Bank) — here: Bond arranger; there: Issued the new bond, per the sources
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: Insurer; there: Political risk insurer for the new bond
- Bahamas debt-for-nature swap Bahamas · 2024
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Conservation organisation involved in the transaction
- Bezos Earth Fund: first grants and SBTi funding United States · 2020–2026
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Recipient of $100m (first round)
- Biomas restoration initiative Brazil · 2022
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Nature NGO; director Sérgio Rial was chairman of Santander Brasil when it co-founded Biomas
- Bloomberg, Steyer and Bezos money shapes coal and nature campaigns United States · 2008–2026
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Environmental group that received Bezos Earth Fund money
- Boké bauxite mining and the CBG expansion Guinea · 1974–2025
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: Insurer; there: Lender
- Bolivian carbon scheme claimed 55 million tonnes; review found at most 5.8 million Bolivia · 1997–2010
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: conservation group; set up the scheme with BP
- BP Deepwater Horizon: the spill, the court cases and the recovery claims United States · 2010–2031
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Recipient of BP funding
- Coral reef parametric insurance, Quintana Roo Mexico · 2018–2026
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Co-designer of the cover; author of the July 2026 case study
- Kenyan water-tower forest evictions followed a 2018 killing by forest guards Kenya · 2016–2024
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: reported water fund operator
- Mosaic settles US hazardous-waste case over phosphogypsum handling United States · 2015
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Conservation organisation listing Mosaic as a corporate partner
- Nature Conservancy began $10 million partnership with Dow Chemical in 2011 United States · 2007–2021
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: conservation group; cooperation partner
- Nature Conservancy gas drilling on Texas City Prairie Preserve United States · 1995–2014
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Landowner and driller
- Palau National Marine Sanctuary Palau · 2015
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Donor group member; former employer of the Agriculture Minister; Micronesia director named in the bill
- Pará state pre-sold 12 million REDD+ credits; federal prosecutors sue to cancel Brazil · 2023–2026
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Named by the MPF as having a conflict of interest
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Water fund overlapping Embobut
- Seychelles 2016 debt-for-nature swap listed among TNC Nature Bonds Seychelles · 2016
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Runs the Nature Bonds programme that lists the Seychelles pilot
- Syrah declares force majeure at Mozambique graphite mine after unrest Mozambique · 2024
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: Insurer; there: lender; loan defaulted
- TNC chief scientist urged conservation groups to partner with companies United States · 2011–2015
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Employer of Kareiva; Dow Chemical partner; subject of the essay
- TNC Hawaii coral reef parametric insurance United States · 2022–2026
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Policyholder
- US Senate probes Nature Conservancy land sales to its own trustees United States · 2003
- The Nature Conservancy (NGO) — here: Lender (via subsidiary); there: Organisation whose land sales were the subject of the inquiry