Uzbek cotton clusters took farmers' land and set quotas, rights group reports
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Human Rights Watch reported in February 2026 that cotton and wheat farmers in Uzbekistan face quotas, threats to their land, beatings and detention. Land and purchasing were moved into non-tender clusters, and state banks and taxpayers absorbed the losses.
- Cluster owners, including Senator Murtazo Rakhmatov — Non-tender control of land and purchasing; his cluster took over 22,400 ha from 475 farmers, per the case file
- Indorama Agro — Development-bank loans from IFC (60 million), EBRD (70 million) and ADB (15 million dollars), repaid early in January 2025, per the case file
- Central state — EU GSP+ trade preference (28 million euro) and World Bank financing (800 million dollars), as listed in the case file
- Cotton farmers — Land-lease terms shortened and planting imposed, per the case file
- Workers in the Indorama Agro area — About 14,500 jobs lost, per the case file
- Farmers — Quotas, threats to land, beatings and detention, per HRW Human Rights Watch and Uzbek Forum
- Taxpayers — Cluster losses of 6 trillion som were covered by state banks and taxpayers, with a rescue of 3 + 3 trillion som, per the case file
- A blogger who supported farmers — Sentenced to 6.5 years in prison, per the case file
What happened
Human Rights Watch reported in February 2026 that cotton and wheat farmers face quotas, threats to their land, beatings and detention.
Kun.uz reported in April 2023 that 134 clusters covered more than 1 million hectares.
Land and cotton purchasing were moved into non-tender clusters, and Senator Murtazo Rakhmatov, who set up the first cluster, became head of the Cluster Union.
In April 2025, 89 civil society organisations made an urgent call to the IFC and EBRD on Indorama Agro, which the case file says repaid its loans early in January 2025.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: ILO figures of about 4% (2020) and about 1% (2021) for forced cotton pickers, based on 11,000 interviews in 2021.
- None on record The sources do not say what the 134 and 157 cluster counts in the HRW report cover, or how many farmers each cluster holds.
- None on record The 3.2 billion dollar export figure cited by Kun.uz is not tied to the clusters in the sources reviewed.
- None on record The case file says eight officials were punished in 2025 for 74 violations; the sources do not say whether this covers the cluster abuses.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
Communities and civil society
- Farmers Have No FreedomHuman Rights Watch and Uzbek Forum · 2026-02-16
- Urgent Call on the IFC and the EBRD89 civil society organisations · 2025-04-03
Connected cases
- Indorama Agro cotton project (Uzbekistan) Uzbekistan · 2021–2026 Related matter
- Indorama Agro (Company) — here: Company with cluster operations and development-bank loans; there: Cotton producer and borrower
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- Government of Uzbekistan (Government) — here: Government that set up the cluster system; there: Government
- Indorama Agro (Company) — here: Company with cluster operations and development-bank loans; there: Cotton cluster operator, borrower
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Published the 2026 report; there: Human rights investigator
- Boké bauxite mining and the CBG expansion Guinea · 1974–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Published the 2026 report; there: Researcher and reporter
- Cambodia REDD+ indigenous consultation failure Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Published the 2026 report; there: Author of the 2024 report
- Chepang man dies in army custody after Chitwan park detention; homes reportedly burned Nepal · 2020
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Published the 2026 report; there: Reported the case
- ICVCM approves three REDD+ methods; older Verra methods left out Global · 2023–2024
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Published the 2026 report; there: published the 2024 report on the voluntary carbon market
- Marange diamonds and the Kimberley Process (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · 2008–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Published the 2026 report; there: NGO that reported the killings
- Ngorongoro and Loliondo relocations Tanzania · 1992–2026
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Published the 2026 report; there: NGO; reported services cut
- Plastic waste imports into Türkiye (Adana) Türkiye · 2016–2026
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Published the 2026 report; there: Reported health impacts on recycling workers and residents (2022)
- Southern Cardamom REDD+ project and the arrest of Pork Nget (Cambodia) Cambodia · 2015–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Published the 2026 report; there: Author of the 2024 report
- UK packaging recycling notes (PRN) system and export fraud United Kingdom · 2009–2025
- Human Rights Watch (NGO) — here: Published the 2026 report; there: NGO; interviewed workers in Turkey
- World Bank $800m Uzbekistan operation; Tanzania project halted Uzbekistan · 2017–2025
- Government of Uzbekistan (Government) — here: Government that set up the cluster system; there: recipient of the policy operation