Cases / Mining · Mozambique · 2024
Syrah declares force majeure at Mozambique graphite mine after unrest
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Syrah declared force majeure at its Balama graphite mine in Mozambique because of unrest, and defaulted on US DFC and DOE loans, Club of Mozambique reported. The sources reviewed do not set out the effect on the local environment or communities.
What?
Syrah declared force majeure at its Balama graphite mine in Mozambique because of unrest. Club of Mozambique
Where?
Balama, Mozambique. Club of Mozambique
When?
Reported between December 2024 and June 2026. Club of Mozambique
Who?
Gained
- Tesla — Supply agreement with Syrah maintained in June 2026 Club of Mozambique
Lost
- US DFC and US DOE, as lenders — Syrah defaulted on loans from both Club of Mozambique
Harmed
None on recordWhy?
The force majeure is attributed to unrest at the mine; the cause of the unrest is not stated in the sources reviewed. Club of Mozambique
How?
Syrah declared force majeure and defaulted on US loans, Club of Mozambique reported. Club of Mozambique
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Club of Mozambique reported that Syrah declared force majeure at its Balama graphite mine because of unrest.
Club of Mozambique reported that Syrah defaulted on loans from the US International Development Finance Corporation and the US Department of Energy.
The same report said a Tesla supply agreement with Syrah was maintained in June 2026.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not describe the cause of the unrest or who was involved.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not give the amounts of the DFC and DOE loans.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a search-result list also names a Syrah loan default; no page for it is among the sources reviewed.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not describe environmental or community impacts at Balama.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- Syrah declares force majeure for its graphite mine in MozambiqueClub of Mozambique · 2024-12 / 2026-06
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- 45Q lobby coalition's founding director was named to head DOE carbon office United States · 2011–2025
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: administers carbon management funds
- ACCCE clean coal advertising and forged letters (US) United States · 2008–2009
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Ran the Clean Coal programme, 1986–1993
- Belize blue bond Belize · 2021–2041
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Insurer
- Boké bauxite mining and the CBG expansion Guinea · 1974–2025
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Lender
- Cobalt child labour lawsuits against tech firms (DR Congo) DR Congo · 2024
- Tesla (Company) — here: supply agreement counterparty; there: Technology company named in the headline of the US ruling report
- El Salvador debt-for-nature swap El Salvador · 2024–2025
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Political risk insurer
- Gabon debt-for-nature swap Gabon · 2023
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Political risk insurer
- Galápagos debt-for-nature swap Ecuador · 2023–2041
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Political-risk insurer
- Galápagos debt-for-nature swap used US$656 million of US political risk insurance Ecuador · 2023
- US International Development Finance Corporation (Public finance agency) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Political risk insurer for the new bond
- Hanford contractors settle false-claims suits as cleanup estimates rise United States · 1943–2086
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Owner of the Hanford site; published the 2025 cost estimate
- Leaked DOE list marks first tranches for two direct air capture hubs 'terminate' United States · 2021
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: ran the hub funding and the list
- Occidental buys Holocene as US carbon removal staff is cut to one person United States · 2023–2025
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Federal department whose carbon removal staff was reduced
- Occidental Stratos direct air capture plant (Texas) United States · 2023–2026
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Funder of DAC hubs; Assistant Secretary Brad Crabtree from April 2022
- Sellafield decommissioning and Hanford cleanup budgets United States · 1943–2086
- US Department of Energy (Government) — here: lender; loan defaulted; there: Hanford owner and funder