Crude-oil pipeline spills into Khuzestan rivers: Karkheh 2009 and Marun 2025
- My Marun River carried crude from a ruptured line in May 2025; plants, wildlife, birds and fish were affected for kilometres downstream, according to Aftab News. Aftab News
- Activists said leaks had recurred at the same point on my Marun for about a year, according to Aftab News. Aftab News
- About 90 km of my rivers were polluted.Karkheh heavily contaminated (Radio Farda, 3 March 2009); more than 100 km in a second report of 15 March 2009.
- Roughly 10,000 barrels of oil entered my waters.Head of the Department of Environment, Karkheh.
- Government and regulators Fatemeh Vaez Javadi, head of the Department of Environment (3 March 2009): Roughly 10,000 barrels. Radio Farda
- Press and investigations Radio Farda (15 March 2009): Printed an estimate attributed to Mohsen Rezaei as '6000 thousand barrels'. Radio Farda
A pipeline rupture in February 2009 contaminated about 90 to more than 100 km of the Karkheh River and cut drinking-water supply to several towns; the Department of Environment said the Oil Ministry would not be fined. In May 2025 a crude line crossing the Marun River ruptured, and the Khuzestan Department of Environment demanded repairs and compensation from the National Iranian South Oil Company.
Two Radio Farda reports; the head of the Department of Environment gave roughly 10,000 barrels spilled.
Status As of 29 May 2025: the Khuzestan Department of Environment had demanded repairs, a flaring-reduction plan and compensation from NISOC and warned of judicial action; no court outcome was on record for either spill.
- Ministry of Oil — Not to be fined for the Karkheh spill, according to the head of the Department of Environment Radio Farda
- National Iranian Oil Company — To compensate people harmed by the Karkheh spill, according to the Khuzestan governorate Radio Farda
- Karkheh River — About 90 to more than 100 km contaminated Radio Farda
- Residents of Shush, Dasht-e Azadegan, Hamidiyeh and Hoveyzeh — Water supply cut in 2009 Radio Farda
- Marun River wildlife and plants — Plants, wildlife, birds and fish affected in 2025 Aftab News
What happened
On 1 Esfand 1387 (19 February 2009) the Cheshmeh Khosh–Ahvaz pipeline ruptured at the Karkheh River near Shush in Khuzestan. Radio Farda reported on 3 March 2009 that about 90 km of the river was heavily contaminated, that the head of the Department of Environment, Fatemeh Vaez Javadi, gave the spill as roughly 10,000 barrels, and that water supply to Shush, Dasht-e Azadegan, Hamidiyeh and Hoveyzeh was cut. A second report on 15 March 2009 gave more than 100 km of river contaminated and printed an estimate attributed to Mohsen Rezaei as '6000 thousand barrels'.
Vaez Javadi said the Ministry of Oil would not be fined because the oil entered the river unintentionally, and the Khuzestan governorate said the National Iranian Oil Company would compensate people harmed. Mohsen Rezaei, secretary of the Expediency Council, said 'Carelessness was the cause of the oil spill in the Karkheh' and called for the ministry to be fined. The Prosecutor-General issued a warning to the Oil Ministry over the pollution and warned the Khuzestan prosecutor over delay in filing complaints; the Department of Environment said it would not sue because it considered the spill an 'accident'. No court outcome is on record.
In about the week of 25 May 2025 a line of the Aghajari Oil and Gas Production Company crossing the Marun River near Omidiyeh ruptured. Aftab News reported on 27 May 2025 that a local environmental association said thousands of litres of crude had leaked, that the Behbahan Department of Environment office attributed it to a corroded valve, and that activists said leaks had recurred at that point for about a year. The Behbahan office described the slick as 'patchy', said cleanup took hours and soil was moved to the company's bio-farm, and said legal action to compensate damage to water, forest ecosystem and wildlife would begin after cleanup; no amount was given.
On 29 May 2025 the Khuzestan Department of Environment warned the National Iranian South Oil Company (NISOC) about rising flaring and oil and gas leaks near Ahvaz and Omidiyeh, including the Marun pipeline. It required a flaring-reduction plan within 10 working days, pipeline repairs, sharing of emissions data and 'immediate measures to compensate' for damage, and warned of judicial action otherwise.
- 2009Cheshmeh Khosh–Ahvaz pipeline ruptures at the Karkheh (19 Feb); Radio Farda report with DoE figures (3 Mar); Prosecutor-General's warning to the Oil Ministry reported (15 Mar)
- 2025Marun pipeline rupture (about 25 May); Aftab News report (27 May); Khuzestan DoE demands on NISOC (29 May)
What was said
“Carelessness was the cause of the oil spill in the Karkheh”
“immediate measures to compensate”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Roughly 10,000 barrels.
Radio FardaPrinted an estimate attributed to Mohsen Rezaei as '6000 thousand barrels'.
Radio FardaThe Ministry of Oil would not be fined because the oil entered the river unintentionally; the spill was an 'accident' and the department would not sue.
Radio FardaCarelessness was the cause; the ministry should be fined.
Radio FardaIssued a warning to the Oil Ministry and warned the Khuzestan prosecutor over delay in filing complaints.
Radio FardaThe company made only temporary repairs despite repeated warnings; leaks had recurred at that point for about a year.
Aftab NewsThe rupture was due to a corroded valve; the slick was patchy and cleanup took hours.
Aftab NewsHow it looked
Shown
- The Ministry of Oil 'would not be fined' because the oil entered the river unintentionally; the spill was under controlDepartment of Environment head Fatemeh Vaez Javadi, March 2009 · Radio Farda
- A 'patchy' slick cleaned within hours, with soil moved to the company's bio-farmBehbahan Department of Environment office, May 2025 · Aftab News
Recorded
- Karkheh, 3 March 2009: about 90 km of river heavily contaminated; roughly 10,000 barrels (DoE head); water supply to Shush, Dasht-e Azadegan, Hamidiyeh and Hoveyzeh cut.
- Karkheh, 15 March 2009: more than 100 km contaminated; the Prosecutor-General issued a warning to the Oil Ministry and warned the Khuzestan prosecutor over delay in filing complaints.
- Marun, 27 May 2025: plants, wildlife, birds and fish were affected and the contamination reached kilometres downstream; no measurement was published.
- Khuzestan DoE, 29 May 2025: a flaring-reduction plan due within 10 working days, pipeline repairs, emissions-data sharing and compensation measures, with judicial action warned.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- iran-doe (March 2009; May 2025): In 2009 its head said the Ministry of Oil would not be fined and the spill was under control; in 2025 its Behbahan office said the slick was patchy and cleanup took hours, and its Khuzestan office warned NISOC of judicial action. · Mehr News Agency
- nioc (March 2009): The Khuzestan governorate said in 2009 that the National Iranian Oil Company would compensate people harmed. · Radio Farda
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2009–Outcome not on recordProsecutor-General's warning to the Oil Ministry over the Karkheh spillOffice of the Prosecutor-General · Administrative · Prosecutor-General of Iran → Ministry of Oil
Radio Farda reported on 15 March 2009 that the Prosecutor-General warned the Oil Ministry over the pollution and warned the Khuzestan prosecutor over delay in filing complaints; the Department of Environment said it would not sue. No court outcome is reported. Radio Farda
- 2025–OngoingKhuzestan Department of Environment demands on NISOC after the Marun spillDepartment of Environment, Khuzestan · Administrative · Department of Environment, Khuzestan → National Iranian South Oil Company (NISOC)
On 29 May 2025 the department required a flaring-reduction plan within 10 working days, pipeline repairs, emissions-data sharing and immediate measures to compensate for damage, and warned of judicial action. The Behbahan office said legal action for compensation would begin after cleanup. No amount or outcome is reported. Mehr News Agency
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Disputed Volume spilled into the Karkheh
Money
- None on record Compensation or fine for damage to rivers, Karkheh 2009 or Marun 2025 — None on record; no amount was given for either spill.
Court
- Unclear Prosecutor-General's warning to the Oil Ministry over the Karkheh spill: outcome not on record.
Accounts
Record
- Disputed Figures differ: the head of the Department of Environment gave roughly 10,000 barrels for the Karkheh spill; Radio Farda (15 March 2009) printed an estimate attributed to Mohsen Rezaei as '6000 thousand barrels'.
- Disputed Figures differ: the Karkheh contamination was given as about 90 km on 3 March 2009 and as more than 100 km on 15 March 2009.
- None on record None on record: a precise damage estimate for the Karkheh spill; the head of the Department of Environment said none had been made (March 2009).
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: an official Marun spill volume as of 27 May 2025.
- None on record None on record: insurance cover or payments for either spill.
- None on record None on record: a court outcome for the Karkheh spill or for the 2025 demands on NISOC.
Did the harm stop?
In March 2009 the Department of Environment head said the Karkheh spill was under control. In May 2025 the Behbahan office said the Marun cleanup took hours, while activists said leaks had recurred at the same point for about a year.
Who paid?
None on record. For the Karkheh the Department of Environment head said the Ministry of Oil would not be fined and the Khuzestan governorate said the National Iranian Oil Company would compensate people harmed; for the Marun no amount was given.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Ahmadinejad's order to clean up the Karkheh (in Persian)Radio Farda · 2009-03-03
- Prosecutor-General's warning to the Oil Ministry over Karkheh pollution (in Persian)Radio Farda · 2009-03-15
- Marun River becomes oily (in Persian)Aftab News · 2025-05-27
- Flaring and oil leaks have intensified Khuzestan's environmental pollution (in Persian)Mehr News Agency · 2025-05-29
Connected cases
- Hoor al-Azim wetland, oil-field development and dikes in Khuzestan Iran · 2007–2026
- National Iranian Oil Company (NIOC) (Company) — here: Operator of the Karkheh pipeline; to compensate people harmed, per the governorate; there: State oil company; terminated the South Azadegan contract in 2014
- Department of Environment (Iran) (Public authority) — here: Regulator; decided not to fine in 2009; demanded repairs in 2025; there: Environment regulator; officials' 2021 accounts
- Ministry of Petroleum (Iran) (Government) — here: Oil Ministry warned by the Prosecutor-General in 2009; there: Oil Minister quoted accepting responsibility (2025)
- Iran associated-gas flaring and flare-gas recovery contracts Iran · 2012–2026
- National Iranian Oil Company (NIOC) (Company) — here: Operator of the Karkheh pipeline; to compensate people harmed, per the governorate; there: Parent of NISOC; managing director stated a 2027 collection goal
- National Iranian South Oil Company (NISOC) (Company) — here: Addressee of the 2025 Department of Environment demands; there: Signed 12 flare-gas contracts with private investors on 1 November 2025
- Ministry of Petroleum (Iran) (Government) — here: Oil Ministry warned by the Prosecutor-General in 2009; there: Signs recovery contracts; sets the 2028 target
- Mazut burning in Iranian power plants, 2020–2025 Iran · 2020–2026
- Department of Environment (Iran) (Public authority) — here: Regulator; decided not to fine in 2009; demanded repairs in 2025; there: Environmental regulator; low-sulfur mazut programme
- Ministry of Petroleum (Iran) (Government) — here: Oil Ministry warned by the Prosecutor-General in 2009; there: Supplies mazut to power plants; reports delivery volumes
- South Pars and Assaluyeh: sulphur dioxide emissions and the pollution levy Iran · 2005–2026
- Department of Environment (Iran) (Public authority) — here: Regulator; decided not to fine in 2009; demanded repairs in 2025; there: Regulator; filed court cases and costed damages
- Ministry of Petroleum (Iran) (Government) — here: Oil Ministry warned by the Prosecutor-General in 2009; there: Owner of the South Pars complex; directed to fund pollution-reduction projects
- Asiatic cheetah conservation project in Iran: 25 years of funding and a count of 26 animals Iran · 2000–2026
- Department of Environment (Iran) (Public authority) — here: Regulator; decided not to fine in 2009; demanded repairs in 2025; there: Executing agency; funded the project alone from December 2017
- Gotvand dam on the Karun: a reservoir on a salt formation Iran · 1996–2021
- Department of Environment (Iran) (Public authority) — here: Regulator; decided not to fine in 2009; demanded repairs in 2025; there: Said the environmental impact study was never submitted
- Hamoun wetlands, Helmand water and the EU/UNDP restoration project Iran · 1973–2025
- Department of Environment (Iran) (Public authority) — here: Regulator; decided not to fine in 2009; demanded repairs in 2025; there: National executing agency of the project
- Iran hunting permits for wild sheep and wild goat: Department of Environment prices for foreign hunters, 2018–2025 Iran · 2013–2025
- Department of Environment (Iran) (Public authority) — here: Regulator; decided not to fine in 2009; demanded repairs in 2025; there: Issues the hunting quotas and permits
- Iran's Clean Air Law and urban air pollution in Tehran and Ahvaz Iran · 2017–2025
- Department of Environment (Iran) (Public authority) — here: Regulator; decided not to fine in 2009; demanded repairs in 2025; there: Responsible for 60 provisions of the law
- Lake Urmia decline and the Urmia Lake Restoration Program Iran · 1995–2026
- Department of Environment (Iran) (Public authority) — here: Regulator; decided not to fine in 2009; demanded repairs in 2025; there: Secretary of the ULRP; reports lake levels and progress
- Persian Wildlife Heritage Foundation conservationists: arrests, a death in custody and prison sentences, 2018–2024 Iran · 2018–2024
- Department of Environment (Iran) (Public authority) — here: Regulator; decided not to fine in 2009; demanded repairs in 2025; there: Its head reported the government committee's finding
- Sanchi tanker collision and condensate spill, East China Sea, 2018 Iran · 2018–2022
- National Iranian Oil Company (NIOC) (Company) — here: Operator of the Karkheh pipeline; to compensate people harmed, per the governorate; there: Estimated the financial damage at about US$110 million