Degelen Mountain plutonium security operation (United States–Kazakhstan–Russia)
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
A US-managed, three-country operation secured plutonium left in test tunnels and boreholes at the Degelen massif of the former Semipalatinsk Test Site. The White House put the estimated cost at $150 million over eight years; a Belfer Center report describes a 17-year, $150 million operation.
“over eight years” per the White House fact sheet; the Belfer Center describes “a 17-year, $150 million operation”.
Status As of March 2012: the three governments announced completion of the Degelen nonproliferation work; the Belfer Center published its account in August 2013.
- Kazakhstan’s security forces — Received equipment and training from the United States The White House (Obama administration archive)
- United States (Department of Defense CTR Program) — Managed the project for the US; estimated total cost $150 million The White House (Obama administration archive)
What happened
The operation focused on plutonium left in test tunnels and boreholes at the Degelen massif of the former Semipalatinsk Test Site. According to a White House fact sheet of 26 March 2012, over “a dozen weapons’ worth” of nuclear material likely remained at the site and more than 40 tunnels posed enough risk to be included in the work plan.
Under the Nunn-Lugar Cooperative Threat Reduction (CTR) programme, the US Department of Defense sealed 181 test tunnels and 13 test shafts in 1997–2000 and ran three smaller projects in other areas of the site in 2002–2005. A trilateral project with Kazakhstan and Russia was initiated in 2005 and, after an April 2009 US initiative, was completed “almost two years ahead of the original schedule”, according to the fact sheet. The fact sheet states that the Department of Defense’s CTR Program “managed the project for the United States, with technical support from LANL” (Los Alamos National Laboratory), and that the US also gave equipment and training to Kazakhstani security forces. The three presidents announced completion at the Seoul Nuclear Security Summit on 26–27 March 2012.
A report by the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs (Harrell and Hoffman, 15 August 2013) says the work was “based almost entirely on ad-hoc agreements struck at a lower level”, was paused around 9/11, and that Russia revealed only in 2005 that as much as 100 kg of additional plutonium was still unsecured. The Belfer Center paper states that the three governments decided not to involve the IAEA. A monument carries the inscription “1996-2012. The world has become safer.”
The fact sheet gives the “estimated total cost of $150 M over eight years” and says the project was completed within budget. It describes the project as “by far the most extensive nuclear security project at STS”. The Belfer authors called the outcome a “very close call”. The two sources frame the $150 million over different periods: eight years in the White House account, 17 years (1996–2012) in the Belfer title.
- 1996Start of the 1996–2012 period named on the monument inscription
- 2000181 test tunnels and 13 test shafts sealed under CTR (1997–2000)
- 2005Trilateral project initiated; Russia reveals as much as 100 kg of additional unsecured plutonium
- 2009April US initiative; project later completed almost two years ahead of schedule
- 2012Three presidents announce completion at the Seoul Nuclear Security Summit (26–27 Mar); White House fact sheet (26 Mar)
- 2013Belfer Center report “Plutonium Mountain” published (15 Aug)
What was said
“estimated total cost of $150 M over eight years”
“by far the most extensive nuclear security project at STS”
“based almost entirely on ad-hoc agreements struck at a lower level”
“very close call”
“1996-2012. The world has become safer.”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
“estimated total cost of $150 M over eight years”.
The White House (Obama administration archive)“a 17-year, $150 million operation” (1996–2012).
Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs (Harrell, Hoffman)How it looked
Shown
- “by far the most extensive nuclear security project at STS”; completed within budget and almost two years ahead of scheduleWhite House fact sheet, 2012 · The White House (Obama administration archive)
- Monument inscription “1996-2012. The world has become safer.”Monument at the site, as reported by the Belfer Center · Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs (Harrell, Hoffman)
Recorded
- 181 test tunnels and 13 test shafts sealed under CTR in 1997–2000
- More than 40 tunnels posed enough risk to be included in the work plan; over a dozen weapons’ worth of nuclear material likely remained
- The CTR Program managed the project for the United States, with technical support from LANL
- Russia revealed in 2005 that as much as 100 kg of additional plutonium was unsecured (Belfer)
- The three governments decided not to involve the IAEA (Belfer)
- The work rested on ad-hoc agreements rather than a formal treaty (Belfer)
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- us-department-of-defense (26 March 2012): Its Cooperative Threat Reduction Program managed the project for the United States, with technical support from Los Alamos National Laboratory. · The White House (Obama administration archive)
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Accounts
- Disputed Period over which the $150 million was spent
Record
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: a breakdown of the $150 million, and any Russian or Kazakh cost share.
- Disputed Disputed: the period of the $150 million — “over eight years” (White House fact sheet) against a “17-year, $150 million operation” (Belfer Center).
- None on record None on record: court or arbitration proceedings; the work rested on ad-hoc agreements rather than a formal treaty.
- None on record None on record: insurance connected with the operation.
- Not measured Not measured: environmental effects of the operation; its purpose was security, and environmental data for Degelen are recorded in the contamination case.
Did the harm stop?
Sealing of 181 test tunnels and 13 test shafts was completed by 2000; completion of the trilateral project was announced by the three presidents on 26–27 March 2012.
Who paid?
The White House fact sheet gives an estimated total cost of $150 million over eight years and states that the Department of Defense’s Cooperative Threat Reduction Program managed the project for the United States. Not disclosed: Russian and Kazakh cost shares.
Sources
Government and regulators
- Fact Sheet: History of Trilateral Threat Reduction Cooperation at the Former Semipalatinsk Test SiteThe White House (Obama administration archive) · 2012-03-26
Researchers
- Plutonium Mountain: Inside the 17-Year Mission to Secure a Legacy of Soviet Nuclear TestingBelfer Center for Science and International Affairs (Harrell, Hoffman) · 2013-08-15
- New report reveals details of US-Russian-Kazakh collaborationBelfer Center for Science and International Affairs · 2013-08
International bodies
Connected cases
- Semipalatinsk test site: measured contamination, land reallocation and the Nuclear Safety Zone Kazakhstan · 1949–2026 Related matter
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Reallocates test-site land; funds the Nuclear Safety Zone
- Semipalatinsk test site: state compensation to residents under Kazakhstan’s 1992 law Kazakhstan · 1949–2025 Related matter
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Legislator and payer of compensation under the 1992 law
- Baikonur launch accidents 1999–2007: Kazakh claims and the compensation agreed Kazakhstan · 1999–2007
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Claimant; negotiated the settlements
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Respondent in the intergovernmental talks
- Baikonur lease, rocket-stage drop zones and fuel monitoring; Proton phase-out and Baiterek Kazakhstan · 1994–2026
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Lessor of Baikonur
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year
- Proton-M crash at Baikonur, 2 July 2013: Kazakhstan’s KZT 13.69bn damage claim against Russia Kazakhstan · 2013–2016
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Pursued the claim through intergovernmental channels
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Russian side in the compensation talks
- Sary-Shagan test range lease to Russia: rent, a 1992–1996 compensation clause and an ecological commission Kazakhstan · 1992–2016
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Lessor
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Lessee; treaty obligations on rent, compensation and ecological consequences
- Arctic Sunrise seizure at the Prirazlomnaya platform: ITLOS bond, PCA arbitration, 2019 settlement and ECtHR judgment Russia · 2012–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Respondent; did not appear before ITLOS or the PCA tribunal; settled in 2019
- Baikal Natural Territory: expertise exemptions and clear-cutting rules Russia · 2020–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Sets the list of objects under Article 25.1(3); Deputy Prime Minister statements
- Baikal omul industrial fishing ban (from 2017) Russia · 2016–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Funded releases, hatchery and research vessel
- Baikalsk Pulp and Paper Mill: closure and waste clean-up Russia · 1966–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Decree No. 1; funded wages and clean-up; named contractors
- Caspian sturgeon and caviar: trade suspensions, fishing bans and the move to farmed caviar Caspian Sea (Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Iran) · 1998–2026
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Ministry of Agriculture; Atyrau Sturgeon Hatchery
- Cosmos 1408 anti-satellite test (Russia) Russia · 2021
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Conducted the test
- ESPO oil pipeline rerouted away from the Baikal shore (2006) Russia · 2005–2008
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: President ordered the reroute; Prime Minister approved the route
- Hardwood logging in the Russian Far East and exports to China Russia · 2001–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Officials' statements 2020 and 2023
- Karachaganak oil arbitration and the sulphur-fine reports (Kazakhstan) Kazakhstan · date not stated
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: State party in the arbitration
- Karaturun well blowout and methane release (Mangystau, 2023) Kazakhstan · 2023–2025
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Ministries of Ecology and Energy
- Kashagan gas flaring: KZT 134.2 billion damage order (2014) and KZT 3.6 billion award (2025) Kazakhstan · 2013–2025
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Party to the confidential December 2014 agreement (Minister of Energy)
- Kazakhstan plans saiga antelope cull as population recovers Kazakhstan · 2023
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Planned the cull
- Kazakhstan's two-billion-tree programme Kazakhstan · 2020–2026
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Prime Minister's criticism; funding
- Kerch Strait storm, November 2007: Volgoneft 139 fuel-oil spill and sulphur-ship sinkings Russia · 2007–2018
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Government claimants; military clean-up reported
- Khimki forest and the M11 Moscow–St Petersburg toll motorway (km 15–58) Russia · 2007–2025
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Land-transfer order; Medvedev and Ivanov statements
- Nexia Biotechnologies: BioSteel spider-silk goats and Protexia Canada · 1993–2013
- US Department of Defense (Government) — here: Managed the project through its Cooperative Threat Reduction Program; there: Customer under the Protexia contract
- Norilsk diesel spill Russia · 2020–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Declared federal emergency; federal budget received the award
- Nornickel Sulphur Programme: SO2 targets, spending and measured emissions at Norilsk and Kola Russia · 2015–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Resolution No. 353 of 12 March 2022; emissions-quota experiment postponed
- Okinawa pays for US base PFAS treatment as Henoko cost rises to 930 billion yen Japan · 2014–2026
- US Department of Defense (Government) — here: Managed the project through its Cooperative Threat Reduction Program; there: Operates the bases; no cleanup payment is reported
- Russia's 1 January 2022 ban on exports of unprocessed softwood and valuable hardwood logs Russia · 2020–2025
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Issued the instruction, duties and quotas
- Russia's forest-fire control zones and federal fire-service funding Russia · 2015–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Reserve-fund Order No. 2740-r (2026); Decree No. 382 issued by the President
- Russia's national carbon-unit system under Federal Law 296-FZ Russia · 2021–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Adopted Decree No. 234 of 2026
- Russian forest-climate projects: RUSAL fire-protection units and Sakhalin larch planting Russia · 2019–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Federal Law 492-FZ and reserve-account rules
- Russian Joint Implementation credits under the Kyoto Protocol, 2009–2012 Russia · 2009–2015
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Approved projects through the Designated Focal Point
- Sakhalin carbon-neutrality experiment under Federal Law 34-FZ Russia · 2022–2028
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Set the payment rate; federal law 34-FZ
- Sakhalin-2 and Sakhalin-1 in 2022: transfer decrees, the ecological-audit deduction clause and write-downs Russia · 2022–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Decree No. 416 and the orders on the stake sale
- Sakhalin-2: 2006 approval revocation, Gazprom stake purchase, 2009 damage-claim settlement and lender exits Russia · 2005–2009
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: President Putin present at the December 2006 protocol
- Semey Ormany forest fire, Kazakhstan Kazakhstan · 2023–2026
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Funded firefighting equipment and pay rises
- Siberian wildfire season of 2019: Krasnoyarsk, Irkutsk and Yakutia Russia · 2019
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Prime Minister ordered arson checks (1 August 2019)
- Smelter emissions in Kazakhstan: fines and investment pledges at Kazzinc, Kazakhmys and ERG Kazakhstan · 2020–2026
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Host state; fieldwork and security forces; there: Presented emission cuts and investment pledges
- Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics: environmental pledges and the Mzymta valley Russia · 2007–2018
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Host government; Putin and Kozak statements
- Soviet whaling catches and the reports to the IWC, 1948–1979 Russia · 1948–1994
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Supplied original catch data to the IWC Scientific Committee in 1994
- US Defense Department PFAS costs top USD 9.3 billion at 718 installations United States · 2022–2025
- US Department of Defense (Government) — here: Managed the project through its Cooperative Threat Reduction Program; there: Operates the 718 installations with PFAS contamination
- US Endangered Species Act rollbacks 2025–2026 (God Squad Gulf exemption, critical habitat rules) United States · 2025–2026
- US Department of Defense (Government) — here: Managed the project through its Cooperative Threat Reduction Program; there: Department whose Secretary requested the committee meeting
- Usinsk pipeline spill (Komi, 1994) and the World Bank and EBRD emergency loans Russia · 1994–2004
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure; there: Borrower of both loans; on-lent them to Komineft