US Defense Department PFAS costs top USD 9.3 billion at 718 installations
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The US Government Accountability Office reported that Defense Department PFAS costs reached USD 9.3 billion or more and tripled since 2022. None of the 718 installations is yet in long-term cleanup, while the Department promotes its land as a refuge for wildlife.
- US Department of Defense — Presents military land as a refuge for wildlife
What happened
The US Government Accountability Office reported in February 2025 that Defense Department PFAS costs were USD 9.3 billion or more, having tripled since 2022.
The same report found that none of the Department's 718 installations is in long-term cleanup.
The Defense Department and NatureServe have described military training land as a refuge for biodiversity, while the same land also holds PFAS, munitions and closed waste sites.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the remaining cost of the Defense Department's environmental restoration program, about USD 48.7 billion as of 30 September 2024 (of which about USD 16.1 billion for munitions); the DENIX PDF could not be checked.
- None on record The claim that endangered-species density on military land is three times higher is a Defense Department claim; the sources reviewed do not give an independent figure.
- None on record Exposure and health effects for people living near the 718 installations are not described in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- GAO-25-107401US Government Accountability Office · 2025-02
Connected cases
- Miteni PFAS contamination Italy · 1968–2025 Related matter
- Synagro biosolids and PFAS in Texas United States · 2024–2025 Related matter
- Asbestos 524(g) bankruptcy trusts and J&J talc two-step United States · 1988
- US Government Accountability Office (GAO) (Public authority) — here: Published the PFAS cost report; there: Source of the 2011 asbestos trust data
- Fieldwood bankruptcy and US offshore decommissioning United States · 2024
- US Government Accountability Office (GAO) (Public authority) — here: Published the PFAS cost report; there: Auditor; estimated liabilities
- Nexia Biotechnologies: BioSteel spider-silk goats and Protexia Canada · 1993–2013
- US Department of Defense (Government) — here: Operates the 718 installations with PFAS contamination; there: Customer under the Protexia contract
- Okinawa pays for US base PFAS treatment as Henoko cost rises to 930 billion yen Japan · 2014–2026
- US Department of Defense (Government) — here: Operates the 718 installations with PFAS contamination; there: Operates the bases; no cleanup payment is reported
- Peabody, Patriot Coal and coal self-bonding United States · 2007–2020
- US Government Accountability Office (GAO) (Public authority) — here: Published the PFAS cost report; there: US government auditor that recommended ending self-bonding
- PG&E wildfire settlement, tax deduction and Fire Victim Trust United States · 2018–2025
- US Government Accountability Office (GAO) (Public authority) — here: Published the PFAS cost report; there: Reviewer of tax treatment of settlements (2005)
- US Endangered Species Act rollbacks 2025–2026 (God Squad Gulf exemption, critical habitat rules) United States · 2025–2026
- US Department of Defense (Government) — here: Operates the 718 installations with PFAS contamination; there: Department whose Secretary requested the committee meeting
- US tax deductibility of environmental settlements (IRC 162(f)) United States · 2017
- US Government Accountability Office (GAO) (Public authority) — here: Published the PFAS cost report; there: Auditor of the settlement sample (GAO-05-747)