Okinawa pays for US base PFAS treatment as Henoko cost rises to 930 billion yen
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Okinawa's prefectural government has paid for PFAS water treatment linked to US base contamination, after on-base inspection requests were rejected four times since 2016. The Henoko base relocation cost estimate rose from 350 billion yen in 2014 to 930 billion yen in 2019.
- US military — Base-related PFAS treatment costs have been carried by the prefecture rather than the US, according to the reporting Ryukyu Shimpo
- Okinawa prefectural taxpayers — Paid 1.2 billion yen for PFAS treatment so far Ryukyu Shimpo
- Residents whose drinking water contained PFAS — Treatment was needed; the reporting does not describe health effects Ryukyu Shimpo
What happened
Ryukyu Shimpo and Akahata reported that Okinawa's prefectural government had paid 1.2 billion yen for PFAS treatment of drinking water, and expects to pay 8 billion yen or more over the next ten years.
The same reporting says the prefecture requested on-base PFAS inspections four times since 2016, and each request was rejected.
Akahata reported in May 2026 that the Henoko cost estimate had risen from 350 billion yen in 2014 to 930 billion yen, and that landfill was 17.5% complete by March 2026.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the US Department of Defense's remaining environmental cleanup cost was about USD 48.7 billion as of 30 September 2024; the DENIX table could not be checked.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not include the text of the Status of Forces Agreement (SOFA), so its effect on PFAS cleanup is not established here.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not confirm which base or activity caused the PFAS contamination.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether the 1.2 billion yen covers all Okinawa bases or only drinking water.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- 社説 小泉防衛相来県 PFAS問題放棄するなRyukyu Shimpo · 2026
- Akahata report on Okinawa PFAS (Japanese)Akahata · 2024-05-24
- Akahata report on Henoko costs (Japanese)Akahata · 2026-05-14
Connected cases
- Nexia Biotechnologies: BioSteel spider-silk goats and Protexia Canada · 1993–2013
- US Department of Defense (Government) — here: Operates the bases; no cleanup payment is reported; there: Customer under the Protexia contract
- US Defense Department PFAS costs top USD 9.3 billion at 718 installations United States · 2022–2025
- US Department of Defense (Government) — here: Operates the bases; no cleanup payment is reported; there: Operates the 718 installations with PFAS contamination
- US Endangered Species Act rollbacks 2025–2026 (God Squad Gulf exemption, critical habitat rules) United States · 2025–2026
- US Department of Defense (Government) — here: Operates the bases; no cleanup payment is reported; there: Department whose Secretary requested the committee meeting