Almaty CHP-2 coal-to-gas conversion, Kazakhstan
- The CHP-2 plant is responsible for about one third of the hazardous emissions released into my air over Almaty, according to the EBRD. EBRD
- Particles in my air were linked to 1,786–2,342 premature deaths in Almaty in 2022 in a study (Mukhtarov et al., Urban Climate, May 2023) cited by Bankwatch. CEE Bankwatch Network
- Kazhydromet reports that my annual pollution index over Almaty fell 31% in 2025, to 4 (“low”), and mean PM2.5 fell 35.9%. BES.media
- Government and regulators Bauyrzhan Baybek, former akim of Almaty: CHP contributes 11% and vehicles 70–80% (Bankwatch citing Orda.kz and Vlast). CEE Bankwatch Network
- Government and regulators Magzum Mirzagaliyev, former Minister of Ecology: CHP-2 and CHP-3 together made up 48% in 2020 (Bankwatch citing Orda.kz and Vlast). CEE Bankwatch Network
- International bodies EBRD: The plant is responsible for about one third of hazardous emissions in Almaty. EBRD
- Government and regulators Kazhydromet: Almaty's annual pollution index fell 31% in 2025 to 4 (“low”); mean PM2.5 fell 35.9%; ozone exceedance cases fell from 8,036 to 77. BES.media
- Communities and civil society Almaty Air Initiative: Independent monitoring shows different dynamics; PM2.5 readings at some stations differ from state posts by up to 27 times. BES.media
- International bodies EBRD: “A perfect example of a green project, which will improve quality of air in Almaty.” EBRD
- Communities and civil society CEE Bankwatch Network: Gas still emits nitrogen oxides; the EBRD's own summary says the project brings Almaty in line with dust and sulphur dioxide standards but not nitrogen oxides. It asked the EBRD to freeze loan disbursement and assess heat pumps. CEE Bankwatch Network
Almaty's coal-fired combined heat and power plant CHP-2 is being converted to gas with loans from the EBRD and the Asian Development Bank; the cost estimate rose from KZT 98 billion to KZT 388 billion. The state hydrometeorological service and independent monitors report different air-quality trends for the city.
An early estimate of KZT 98 bn (EUR 200 mln); the state expertise of 27 September 2024 set the cost at KZT 388 bn.
Status As of March 2026: first start-up complex installed; combined-cycle block targeted for September 2026; commissioning deadline December 2026.
- Almaty Power Plants (Samruk-Energy) — Borrower of up to KZT 130 bn (EBRD) and KZT 98 bn (ADB) EBRD
- Utility customers — Samruk-Energy's chairman warned of a possible 16% cost increase by 2026, adding to tariff pressure (Bankwatch citing Press.kz) CEE Bankwatch Network
- Air over Almaty — Annual mean PM2.5 of 35.3 µg/m³ in 2018–2021 against a WHO annual limit of 5 µg/m³ CEE Bankwatch Network
What happened
CHP-2 (510 MWe), which burns coal from the Ekibastuz basin, is the main heat source for Almaty. The project, run by Almaty Power Plants (AlES), a subsidiary of the state company Samruk-Energy, builds a combined-cycle gas unit of up to 557 MW according to Kapital.kz; Samruk-Energy gave “up to 600 MW”. Talks on conversion began in 2017 after a presidential decree, the year CHP-1 was converted to gas. On 26 May 2021, after a meeting with President Tokayev, a new gas-turbine unit was chosen instead of modernising the old plant.
The EBRD signed a facility agreement on 25 November 2022 for up to KZT 130 bn (EUR 260 mln), a 15-year loan to Almaty Power Plants that it called its largest transaction in Kazakhstan that year. The Asian Development Bank signed a loan agreement on 9 June 2023 for KZT 98 bn (about USD 219.2 mln), with a Samruk-Kazyna guarantee. The Development Bank of Kazakhstan signed an agreement of intent; its amount is not disclosed. Commissioning was set for December 2026.
The cost estimate rose from an early KZT 98 bn (EUR 200 mln) to KZT 315 bn (EUR 648 mln) according to Bankwatch citing Orda.kz; to KZT 324 bn in summer 2022 according to former Energy Minister Bolat Akchulakov; and to KZT 388 bn in the state expertise of 27 September 2024, as Energy Minister Almasadam Satkaliyev said on 24 December 2024. In 2023 Samruk-Energy's chairman warned of a possible 16% cost increase by 2026, adding to utility-tariff pressure (Bankwatch citing Press.kz).
The government expects harmful emissions from CHP-2 to fall from 37.3 to 2.7 thousand tonnes a year. The EBRD expects nitrogen oxides down by more than 86% and annual CO2 down by 55%, with particulate matter and sulphur oxides eliminated, and says the plant is responsible for about one third of hazardous emissions in Almaty; Samruk-Energy gives a 93% cut in harmful substances. Bankwatch says gas still emits nitrogen oxides and that the EBRD's own summary says the project brings Almaty in line with dust and sulphur dioxide standards but not nitrogen oxides.
On 30 March 2026 the Ministry of Energy reported that the first start-up complex had been installed and that the combined-cycle block was targeted for September 2026. On 31 March 2026 Kazhydromet reported that Almaty's annual pollution index fell 31% in 2025 compared with 2024, while the Almaty Air Initiative said independent monitoring shows different dynamics.
- 2017Talks on conversion begin after a presidential decree; CHP-1 converted to gas
- 2021Meeting with President Tokayev; new gas-turbine unit chosen instead of modernising the old plant (26 May)
- 2022EBRD facility agreement signed (25 Nov); Development Bank of Kazakhstan agreement of intent
- 2023Asian Development Bank loan agreement signed (9 Jun)
- 2024State expertise sets the cost at KZT 388 bn (27 Sep); Bankwatch paper (May); minister gives the figure (24 Dec)
- 2026First start-up complex installed (30 Mar); Kazhydromet reports a 31% fall in Almaty's pollution index for 2025 (31 Mar); combined-cycle block targeted for September; commissioning deadline December 2026
What was said
“This is a perfect example of a green project, which will improve quality of air in Almaty”
“Gas is often incorrectly described as a better and healthier alternative to coal-based plants”
“no official recognition of the effects that air pollution is having on people”
“Properly tracking air pollution in Almaty is problematic due to limited access to air sensors and limited data on levels of coal consumption”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
CHP contributes 11% and vehicles 70–80% (Bankwatch citing Orda.kz and Vlast).
CEE Bankwatch NetworkCHP-2 and CHP-3 together made up 48% in 2020 (Bankwatch citing Orda.kz and Vlast).
CEE Bankwatch NetworkThe plant is responsible for about one third of hazardous emissions in Almaty.
EBRDAlmaty's annual pollution index fell 31% in 2025 to 4 (“low”); mean PM2.5 fell 35.9%; ozone exceedance cases fell from 8,036 to 77.
BES.mediaIndependent monitoring shows different dynamics; PM2.5 readings at some stations differ from state posts by up to 27 times.
BES.media“A perfect example of a green project, which will improve quality of air in Almaty.”
EBRDGas still emits nitrogen oxides; the EBRD's own summary says the project brings Almaty in line with dust and sulphur dioxide standards but not nitrogen oxides. It asked the EBRD to freeze loan disbursement and assess heat pumps.
CEE Bankwatch NetworkHow it looked
Shown
- The conversion was presented as “a perfect example of a green project, which will improve quality of air in Almaty”.EBRD · EBRD
- The conversion was presented as cutting harmful emissions from CHP-2 from 37.3 to 2.7 thousand tonnes a year.Government of Kazakhstan, as reported by Kapital.kz · Kapital.kz
- Almaty's annual pollution index was presented as 31% lower in 2025 than in 2024, at 4 (“low”).Kazhydromet · BES.media
Recorded
- EBRD loan: up to KZT 130 bn (EUR 260 mln), 15 years, to Almaty Power Plants.
- ADB loan: KZT 98 bn (about USD 219.2 mln), with a Samruk-Kazyna guarantee.
- Measured PM2.5 in Almaty averaged 35.3 µg/m³ over 2018–2021 (US Embassy BAM-1020 monitor), against a WHO annual limit of 5 µg/m³ (Bankwatch chart).
- A study by Mukhtarov et al. (Urban Climate, May 2023), cited by Bankwatch, attributes 1,786–2,342 premature deaths in Almaty in 2022 to PM2.5.
- Kazhydromet reported that mean PM2.5 fell 35.9% and ozone exceedance cases fell from 8,036 to 77 in 2025 compared with 2024; the Almaty Air Initiative said PM2.5 readings at some stations differ from state posts by up to 27 times.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- ebrd (25 November 2022): Described the project as a perfect example of a green project that will improve air quality in Almaty, and expects nitrogen oxides down by more than 86% and CO2 down by 55%. · EBRD
- samruk-energy (25 November 2022): Gave the new unit as up to 600 MW and a 93% cut in harmful substances; commissioning deadline December 2026. · Samruk-Energy
- kz-ministry-of-energy (30 March 2026): Reported the first start-up complex installed and the combined-cycle block targeted for September 2026. · Kapital.kz
- kazhydromet (31 March 2026): Reported Almaty's annual pollution index down 31% in 2025 and mean PM2.5 down 35.9%. · BES.media
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Record
- Disputed Figures differ: the EBRD gives its loan as up to KZT 130 bn (EUR 260 mln); Bankwatch gives EUR 252 mln.
- Disputed Figures differ: the new unit's capacity is given as up to 557 MW (Kapital.kz) and up to 600 MW (Samruk-Energy).
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the amount of the Development Bank of Kazakhstan's participation (agreement of intent).
- Insufficient Insufficient: tracking of air pollution in Almaty; Bankwatch cites limited access to air sensors and limited data on levels of coal consumption.
- Unclear Unclear: whether the combined-cycle block started in September 2026; the latest source is dated March 2026.
Did the harm stop?
None on record.
Who paid?
Loans from the EBRD (up to KZT 130 bn) and the ADB (KZT 98 bn) to Almaty Power Plants, a subsidiary of the state company Samruk-Energy; the ADB loan carries a Samruk-Kazyna guarantee. Tariff effects are cited in Bankwatch's paper (a possible 16% cost increase by 2026 adding to tariff pressure).
Sources
Company or project
- A syndicate of banks will finance Almaty CHP-2 transfer to gasSamruk-Energy · 2022-11-25
Press and investigations
- Asian Development Bank and Almaty Electric Stations Ink Loan Agreement to Facilitate Green EnergyThe Astana Times · 2023-06-12
- Converting Almaty CHP-2 to gas will cost 388 bn tenge (in Russian)Kapital.kz · 2024-12-24
- Almaty's switch to gas: what work is under way at CHP-2 (in Russian)Kapital.kz · 2026-03-30
- Officially Almaty air is 31% cleaner, but ecologists see discrepancies (in Russian)BES.media · 2026-03-31
Communities and civil society
- Delays in Almaty CHP-2 gas project open new opportunities for a rethink (issue paper)CEE Bankwatch Network · 2024-05
International bodies
- EBRD channels €260 million to modernise Almaty CHP-2EBRD · 2022-11-25
Connected cases
- Indorama Agro cotton project (Uzbekistan) Uzbekistan · 2021–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn; there: Lender; operator of the accountability mechanism handling the complaint
- Asian Development Bank (Bank) — here: Lender, KZT 98 bn; there: Lender
- CEE Bankwatch Network (NGO) — here: NGO; published the issue paper on the project; there: Civil-society monitor of the loans
- Khimki forest and the M11 Moscow–St Petersburg toll motorway (km 15–58) Russia · 2007–2025
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn; there: Memorandum signatory 2009; stated it was not financing the first stage
- CEE Bankwatch Network (NGO) — here: NGO; published the issue paper on the project; there: Complainant in France; hosts the independent examination summary
- Uzbek cotton boycott ends forced labour Uzbekistan · 2017–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn; there: Lender to Indorama Agro (USD 70 million)
- Asian Development Bank (Bank) — here: Lender, KZT 98 bn; there: Lender to Indorama Agro (USD 15 million)
- Chornobyl Exclusion Zone: Russian occupation of 2022 and fires, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn; there: Manages the ICCA; fire-safety grant
- Drone strike on the Chornobyl New Safe Confinement, 14 February 2025, and the repair funding Ukraine · 2025–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn; there: Manages the ICCA; financed the NSC; repair estimate
- Oyu Tolgoi copper-gold mine: Gobi water, Undai River diversion, herder complaints and project finance Mongolia · 2004–2025
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn; there: Lender and arranger; Project Complaint Mechanism
- Sakhalin-2: 2006 approval revocation, Gazprom stake purchase, 2009 damage-claim settlement and lender exits Russia · 2005–2009
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn; there: Stopped considering the financing in 2007
- Smelter emissions in Kazakhstan: fines and investment pledges at Kazzinc, Kazakhmys and ERG Kazakhstan · 2020–2026
- Samruk-Kazyna (Public authority) — here: Guarantor of the ADB loan; there: Holds 29.8% of Kazzinc
- Turkish holdings' coal expansion alongside renewables (Cenal, Akbelen, İçdaş) Türkiye · 2021–2026
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn; there: Lender
- Ulaanbaatar winter air pollution: stove programmes, the 2019 raw-coal ban and subsidised briquettes Mongolia · 2008–2024
- Asian Development Bank (Bank) — here: Lender, KZT 98 bn; there: Policy-based loans, 2018 and 2019
- Usinsk pipeline spill (Komi, 1994) and the World Bank and EBRD emergency loans Russia · 1994–2004
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn; there: Lender: US$25 million loan to the Russian Federation
- Western gray whales off Sakhalin and the company-funded IUCN advisory panel Russia · 2004–2022
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (Bank) — here: Lender, up to KZT 130 bn; there: Lender whose conditions shaped the panel process before leaving the financing