Suspicion notices over UAH 49.2 million in farmland demining contracts, Mykolaiv oblast
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
On 22 June 2026 Ukrainian investigators reported that six people had been notified of suspicion over humanitarian demining of agricultural land that, according to investigators, was not carried out. The damage to the state was stated as UAH 49.2 million; no court outcome is on record.
Six people notified of suspicion on 22 June 2026; no court outcome on record.
Status As of 19 October 2026: six people had been notified of suspicion (22 June 2026); no court outcome is on record.
- Contractors under the HDC agreements — According to investigators, received budget money for work that was in fact simulated Finance.ua
- The state budget — UAH 49.2 million stated as damage to the state Finance.ua
What happened
According to the Office of the Prosecutor General and the National Police, as reported by Finance.ua on 22 June 2026, contractors under agreements with the Humanitarian Demining Centre (HDC) were to clear agricultural fields in Kherson, Chernihiv and Mykolaiv oblasts. Investigators alleged that the work was in fact simulated and that false data were entered in documents. Finance.ua stated the total damage to the state as UAH 49.2 million, transferred from the budget for demining in Mykolaiv oblast.
Six people were notified of suspicion: the heads of two private demining companies based in Kyiv, three demining team leaders and the head of an agricultural enterprise who signed completion certificates. Under Ukrainian procedure a notice of suspicion is a formal step in a criminal proceeding and not a conviction. The company heads were notified under Part 5 of Article 191 (misappropriation, embezzlement or seizure of property through abuse of office), Part 2 of Article 28 and Part 2 of Article 366 (forgery in office) of the Criminal Code; the team leaders and the head of the agricultural enterprise were notified under Part 5 of Article 27 (aiding), Part 5 of Article 191, Part 2 of Article 28 and Part 2 of Article 366.
The contracts date from 2024-2025. The Accounting Chamber's audit of August 2025 of agricultural land demining separately found no accounting violations under the Compensation Procedure and flagged risks to the reliability of records.
- 2024Contracts and tenders under agreements with the Humanitarian Demining Centre begin (2024-2025)
- 2025Accounting Chamber audit of agricultural land demining (26 Aug) finds no accounting violations under the Compensation Procedure and flags risks to the reliability of records
- 2026Six people notified of suspicion (reported 22 Jun); damage to the state stated as UAH 49.2 million
What was said
“the work was in fact simulated”
“total damage to the state is 49.2 million hryvnias”
“in fact no one checks the performance of the work”
How it looked
Shown
- Law enforcement exposed fictitious demining of land worth almost 50 million hryvniasFinance.ua headline, reporting the Office of the Prosecutor General and the National Police · Finance.ua
Recorded
- Six people were notified of suspicion: two company heads, three demining team leaders and the head of an agricultural enterprise who signed completion certificates.
- The suspicion notices cite Part 5 of Article 191 and Part 2 of Article 366 of the Criminal Code, among other provisions.
- The Accounting Chamber's audit of August 2025 found no accounting violations under the Compensation Procedure and flagged risks to the reliability of records.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2026–OngoingUAH 49.2m damage to the state stated by investigatorsPre-trial investigation into simulated demining of farmlandOffice of the Prosecutor General and National Police (pre-trial investigation) · Criminal · Office of the Prosecutor General → Six people notified of suspicion: heads of two private demining companies, three demining team leaders and the head of an agricultural enterprise (not named)
On 22 June 2026 six people were notified of suspicion. The company heads were notified under Part 5 of Article 191 (misappropriation, embezzlement or seizure of property through abuse of office), Part 2 of Article 28 and Part 2 of Article 366 (forgery in office) of the Criminal Code; the team leaders and the head of the agricultural enterprise under Part 5 of Article 27 (aiding), Part 5 of Article 191, Part 2 of Article 28 and Part 2 of Article 366. The proceeding is at the pre-trial stage. Finance.ua
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record None on record: a court outcome; the six people were notified of suspicion and no trial or verdict is reported.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the names of the two companies and of the six people.
- None on record None on record: a statement by the Humanitarian Demining Centre on the suspicion notices.
- None on record None on record: a statement by the suspects or the companies.
- Not measured Not measured: the condition of the land named in the contracts; no survey result is reported.
- Unclear Unclear: whether the Kherson and Chernihiv contracts carry amounts separate from the UAH 49.2 million stated for Mykolaiv oblast.
- None on record None on record: insurance cover or payment connected with the contracts.
Did the harm stop?
None on record.
Who paid?
According to investigators, UAH 49.2 million was transferred from the state budget. None on record: recovery of the money.
Sources
Government and regulators
- Звіт про результати аудиту «Гуманітарне розмінування земель сільськогосподарського призначення в Україні: відновлення безпеки та сільськогосподарського виробництва» (Audit report 'Humanitarian demining of agricultural land in Ukraine: restoring safety and agricultural production')Accounting Chamber of Ukraine · 2025-08-26
Press and investigations
- Six company leaders charged for fake demining contractsMOST (Kherson) · 2026-06-22
Connected cases
- Ukraine's mine contamination, the farmland demining programme and mine-action money Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Humanitarian Demining Centre (Ukraine) (Public authority) — here: Contracting body for the demining agreements; there: Runs Prozorro auctions and escrow payments for farmland clearance
- Accounting Chamber of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Audited agricultural land demining in 2025; there: Audited agricultural land demining (Decision No. 21-2, 26 August 2025)
- Munition residues and war damage in Ukrainian soils: measurements and state damage assessments Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Accounting Chamber of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Audited agricultural land demining in 2025; there: Cited the Inspectorate's assessments in its 2025 audit
- Ukraine’s official count of war damage to the environment Ukraine · 2022–2026 Related matter
- Ammonia release at Sumykhimprom (Sumy) and nitric-acid explosions at Rubizhne, 2022 Ukraine · 2022–2024
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Notified six people of suspicion; there: Notified suspicion to five Russian officers; stated the damage and ammonia figures
- Askania-Nova Biosphere Reserve under occupation, 2022– Ukraine · 2022–2025
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Notified six people of suspicion; there: Ukrainian prosecutors who sent the indictment to court
- Carpathian beech, IKEA's supply chain and FSC certification: Earthsight's 2020 findings and the responses Ukraine · 2018–2025
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Notified six people of suspicion; there: Notified officials of suspicion in 2025 logging cases
- Chornobyl Exclusion Zone: Russian occupation of 2022 and fires, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Notified six people of suspicion; there: Opened proceedings (2022) and notified a suspicion (2025)
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Notified six people of suspicion; there: Criminal proceedings; ICC data
- Drone strike on the Chornobyl New Safe Confinement, 14 February 2025, and the repair funding Ukraine · 2025–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Notified six people of suspicion; there: Criminal case over the strike
- Ukraine’s criminal proceedings over wartime environmental harm Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Notified six people of suspicion; there: Charged the Neutron Source officers; reported the Askania-Nova conviction
- Ukraine's Joint Implementation credits and Kyoto unit sales to Japan and Spain, 2008–2021 Ukraine · 2008–2021
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Notified six people of suspicion; there: Charged Yulia Tymoshenko (2010); notified suspicion in the insulation case (2018)
- Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant under Russian control, 2022–2026 Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine (Public authority) — here: Notified six people of suspicion; there: Opened proceedings on 4 March 2022