Tillamook faces suit over farm imagery as Fairlife settles for $21m
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
A lawsuit against Tillamook alleges that most milk in its products came from large facilities, not the coastal farms shown in its advertising. Coca-Cola and others agreed to pay $21 million to settle Fairlife animal-abuse litigation; at stake is whether dairy marketing reflects where the milk comes from.
- Coca-Cola and others — Agreed to pay $21 million to settle Fairlife animal-abuse litigation. FoodNavigator
What happened
The Oregon Supreme Court allowed the Tillamook lawsuit to move forward, OPB reported on 3 April 2025.
The suit alleges that more than two-thirds of the milk in Tillamook products came from mega-facilities, rather than the coastal farms shown in its advertising.
Coca-Cola and others agreed to pay $21 million in April 2022 to settle litigation over the Fairlife animal-abuse video, according to FoodNavigator.
The UK Advertising Standards Authority ruled in May 2026 that grazing-cow imagery in an advertisement by an agriculture board was not misleading.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- OngoingTillamook marketing lawsuitOregon Supreme Court · Civil · Not stated in the sources reviewed → Tillamook
OPB reported in April 2025 that the Oregon Supreme Court let the case move forward. The suit alleges that most milk in Tillamook products came from large facilities. OPB
- SettledFairlife animal-abuse litigationNot stated in the sources reviewed · Civil · Not stated in the sources reviewed → Coca-Cola and others
Coca-Cola and others agreed to pay $21 million to settle litigation after the Fairlife animal-abuse video, FoodNavigator reported in April 2022. FoodNavigator
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not name the plaintiffs in the Tillamook suit.
- None on record The share of milk from large facilities is alleged in the suit; the sources reviewed do not give an independent figure.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether the Tillamook suit has a trial date.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not describe conditions on the Fairlife farms beyond the abuse video.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Oregon Supreme Court: Tillamook lawsuit case moves forwardOPB · 2025-04-03
- Coca-Cola et al. to pay $21m to settle Fairlife animal abuse litigationFoodNavigator · 2022-04-30
- Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board rulingAdvertising Standards Authority · 2026-05
Connected cases
- California approves SB 54 packaging rules making producers pay USD 5 billion in 10 years United States · 2026–2032
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: named in CAA program governance
- Coca-Cola and ILSI: influence on obesity policy in China and India China / India · 1978–2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Founder-linked company; ILSI member until January 2021
- Coca-Cola and Unilever revise plastic packaging targets International · 2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Revised its packaging targets
- Coca-Cola plastic pledges and brand audits United States · 2018
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Beverage company; pledges, plastic-credit buyer through affiliates, defendant
- Coca-Cola reports replenishing 115% of the water it used in 2015 Global · 2015–2016
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Company that announced the 115% figure
- Coca-Cola World Without Waste targets reset Global · 2018–2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Set and reset the World Without Waste targets
- Coca-Cola's partner The Ocean Cleanup reports 25 million kg collected in 2025 International · 2021
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Named global partner since 2021
- Ellen MacArthur plastics pledge off track; Coca-Cola scales back targets Global · 2018–2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: company that cut its packaging targets
- Great Pacific Garbage Patch and The Ocean Cleanup International waters · 2013–2025
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Global partner since 2021 (river Interceptors); largest share of branded plastic waste in the Cowger et al. 2024 audit (11%)
- Keep America Beautiful and plastic industry recycling messages United States · 1953–2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Joined the group later
- Keep America Beautiful founding and Crying Indian ad (US) United States · 1953–2023
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Later member
- Keep America Beautiful, founded by can and bottle makers, opposed bottle deposit laws United States · 1953–1981
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: later member
- Nature Conservancy began $10 million partnership with Dow Chemical in 2011 United States · 2007–2021
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: company; relationship with WWF
- New York v PepsiCo and LA County v PepsiCo/Coca-Cola United States · 2024
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Defendant in the Los Angeles County suit
- Ocean Conservancy withdraws 2015 plastic incineration recommendation Global · 2015–2022
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Co-funder of the 2015 report
- Oregon bottle bill (1971) United States · 1953
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Later KAB member
- Paris court finds Volvic recycling claims misleading; Coca-Cola, Nestlé change labels France · 2026
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: Changed its EU label
- TNC chief scientist urged conservation groups to partner with companies United States · 2011–2015
- The Coca-Cola Company (Company) — here: party that agreed to the Fairlife settlement; there: WWF partner (reported)