Paid markhor hunt in Surkhandarya, Uzbekistan
The Ministry of Ecology said that hunting in Surkhandarya in 2024 was carried out under an official permit and that a fee of USD 100,000 was collected, with the money going to nature conservation. A video reported by Kun.uz showed a Russian hunter killing two markhors and a wolf; Kun.uz gave the legal rate for foreign hunters as $25,000 per markhor.
Ministry of Ecology statement, 31 July 2025. Kun.uz reported the legal rate for foreign hunters as $25,000 per markhor.
Status As of 31 July 2025: the Ministry of Ecology states the 2024 hunt was carried out under permit with a USD 100,000 fee; no proceeding is on record.
- The state — USD 100,000 fee collected; the ministry says it goes to nature conservation, including anti-poaching Government of Uzbekistan (Ecology)
- Permit holder (not named in the ministry statement) — Fee of USD 100,000 collected for the 2024 hunting permit Government of Uzbekistan (Ecology)
- Markhor and a wolf in Surkhandarya — Two markhors and one wolf killed in a video from 2024 Kun.uz
What happened
Kun.uz reported on 30 July 2025 that a video, filmed about a year earlier and posted on a hunter's YouTube channel, showed a Russian hunter killing two markhors and one wolf in the mountains of Surkhandarya region. The video was removed three days after it was uploaded and later reposted. The markhor is in Uzbekistan's Red Book, on the IUCN Red List and in CITES Appendix I.
On 31 July 2025 the Ministry of Ecology stated that hunting in Surkhandarya in 2024 was carried out in line with national law, under an official permit and after payment of the fee, and that "a fee of USD 100,000 was collected". It said permits are limited to the oldest males past reproductive age, that quotas are set under the Law "On Hunting and Hunting Economy" on the basis of expert conclusions, and that the money goes to nature conservation, including anti-poaching work. The statement gives no breakdown of how the fee was spent, no quota number and no Uzbek population figures. For comparison the ministry cited Namibia (licensed hunting earns more than USD 3 million a year), Tajikistan (10–16 markhor and 100–115 Kyzylkum argali permits a year) and Mongolia.
Kun.uz reported that foreign individuals and legal entities must pay $25,000 per markhor, and that ministry data released in 2024 counted over 800 tagged markhors in the Surkhan State Nature Reserve. Kun.uz also recalled earlier cases: in 2021 a foreign hunter shot a brown bear in Bostanlyk district and his second permit was revoked after public backlash; in April 2023 a foreign hunter's video showed an Asian ibex (Red Book) and a wild sheep shot in Surkhandarya, and the Ministry of Natural Resources told Kun.uz the hunter "hunted prey with a hunting weapon based on the specified permit" and that "the conclusion of the Academy of Sciences was obtained".
- 2021Foreign hunter shoots a brown bear in Bostanlyk district; second permit revoked after public backlash
- 2023Video of an Asian ibex and a wild sheep shot in Surkhandarya (reported 25 Apr)
- 2024Markhor hunt under permit; USD 100,000 fee collected
- 2025Video reported (30 Jul); Ministry of Ecology statement (31 Jul)
What was said
“a fee of USD 100,000 was collected”
“One should not jump to the simple conclusion that he shot and killed a wild animal.”
“The main goal is to create an opportunity for the reproduction of wild and rare animals”
“the conclusion of the Academy of Sciences was obtained”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
A fee of USD 100,000 was collected.
Government of Uzbekistan (Ecology)Foreign individuals and legal entities must pay $25,000 per markhor (legal rate as reported).
Kun.uzHow it looked
Shown
- Hunting in 2024 was carried out in line with national law, under an official permit and after payment of the fee; the money goes to nature conservation, including anti-poachingMinistry of Ecology, 31 July 2025 · Government of Uzbekistan (Ecology)
- A video of a Russian hunter killing two markhors and a wolf in SurkhandaryaHunter's YouTube channel, as reported by Kun.uz, 30 July 2025 · Kun.uz
Recorded
- The ministry statement gives no breakdown of how the USD 100,000 fee was spent, no quota number for markhor and no Uzbek population figures.
- Kun.uz reported the legal rate for foreign individuals and legal entities as $25,000 per markhor.
- Ministry data released in 2024 counted over 800 tagged markhors in the Surkhan State Nature Reserve, as cited by Kun.uz.
- The organiser of the hunt and the exact location are not stated in Kun.uz's article.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- uzbekistan-ecology-ministry (2025-07-31): Hunting in Surkhandarya in 2024 was carried out in line with national law, under an official permit and after payment of the fee; the money goes to nature conservation, including anti-poaching. · Government of Uzbekistan (Ecology)
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Accounts
- Disputed The fee for the 2024 markhor permit
Record
- Disputed Unclear: the difference between the USD 100,000 collected and the $25,000 per markhor that Kun.uz reported as the legal rate; neither source explains it.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: a breakdown of the use of the fee, a quota number for markhor and Uzbek population figures in the ministry statement.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: the organiser of the hunt and the exact location.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: a reply to Kun.uz's official inquiry; none was reported at the time of publication.
- None on record None on record: a court or prosecutor proceeding; the ministry states the hunt was carried out under permit.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated.
Who paid?
The state collected a fee of USD 100,000 for the permit, according to the ministry, which says the money goes to nature conservation, including anti-poaching.
Sources
Government and regulators
- Official Statement (markhor hunting in Surkhandarya)Government of Uzbekistan (Ecology) · 2025-07-31
Press and investigations
- Russian hunter kills endangered markhors in Uzbekistan's Surkhandarya regionKun.uz · 2025-07-30
- Russian hunter hunts an animal included in Red Book in SurkhandaryaKun.uz · 2023-04-25
Connected cases
- Iran hunting permits for wild sheep and wild goat: Department of Environment prices for foreign hunters, 2018–2025 Iran · 2013–2025 Related matter
- Tajik markhor hunts leave about USD 78,000 per hunt with protected areas Tajikistan · 2019 Related matter
- Caspian seal mass deaths, 2020–2025 Caspian Sea (Russia, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan) · 2020–2025
- Ministry of Ecology (Uzbekistan) (Public authority) — here: Issued the permit and collected the fee; published the statement; there: Gave virus-based explanations for 2022 and 2024
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Endangered listing since 2008
- Afforestation of the dried Aral Sea bed in Uzbekistan Uzbekistan · 2018–2026
- Ministry of Natural Resources (Uzbekistan) (Public authority) — here: Explained the April 2023 hunt as permitted; there: Ministry official gave 2022 area and 2023 allocation
- African Parks Odzala-Kokoua abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2010–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Recommended deferral of World Heritage listing in 2022
- Asiatic cheetah conservation project in Iran: 25 years of funding and a count of 26 animals Iran · 2000–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Executing partner in the GEF database; hosts the 2025 monitoring report
- Baikal Natural Territory: expertise exemptions and clear-cutting rules Russia · 2020–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Joint reactive monitoring mission with UNESCO planned for August 2026
- CAMPFIRE and elephant trophy hunting Zimbabwe · 2010–2015
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Policy guidance
- Canaima National Park: fire suppression for the Guri catchment, mining pressure and the UNESCO decisions Venezuela · 1981–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Advisory body to the World Heritage Committee
- Caspian sturgeon and caviar: trade suspensions, fishing bans and the move to farmed caviar Caspian Sea (Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Iran) · 1998–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Red List assessments of sturgeon
- Colossal Biosciences: de-extinction ventures, funding and the Burgum remark United States · 2022–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Its Canid Specialist Group stated the pups are not dire wolves
- Endorois and Lake Bogoria enzyme extraction (Kenya) Kenya · 1970–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Technical evaluator whose recommendation led to the 2011 World Heritage listing
- Gold mining inside Canaima National Park Venezuela · 2016–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Recipient of the 2018 SOS Orinoco report
- Half-Earth and 30x30 advocacy funding (Wyss Campaign for Nature) Global · 2016–2026
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Co-author of the Protected Planet Report 2024
- Kaeng Krachan: Karen evictions and the disappearance of Billy Thailand · 1981–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Recommended against listing until Karen concerns were addressed
- Kiribati opens Phoenix Islands protected area to fishing; trust dissolved Kiribati · 2015–2021
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: reports the area's status in 2025
- Kiribati PIPA opened to fishing Kiribati · 2015–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Assessed the property (World Heritage Outlook)
- Navoi city smog of July–August 2025: plant suspensions, court rulings and 10.348 billion soums in compensation payments Uzbekistan · 2025
- Ministry of Ecology (Uzbekistan) (Public authority) — here: Issued the permit and collected the fee; published the statement; there: Measured pollutant levels, suspended enterprises and filed claims
- Over one million unplanted saplings in Uzbekistan reported as planted Uzbekistan · 2024
- Kun.uz (Media) — here: Reported the video and the fee rate; there: reported the unplanted saplings
- Pacific tuna Vessel Day Scheme Pacific Islands (PNA members) · 2010–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Assessor of the Phoenix Islands Protected Area
- Rio Tinto Juukan Gorge destruction Australia · 2020
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Conservation body in a Collaboration Agreement with Rio Tinto (2010)
- Sakhalin-2: 2006 approval revocation, Gazprom stake purchase, 2009 damage-claim settlement and lender exits Russia · 2005–2009
- Ministry of Natural Resources (Uzbekistan) (Public authority) — here: Explained the April 2023 hunt as permitted; there: Cancelled the 2003 expertise approval by order of September 2006
- Sea Breeze resort on the Charvak reservoir, Uzbekistan Uzbekistan · 2024–2026
- Ministry of Ecology (Uzbekistan) (Public authority) — here: Issued the permit and collected the fee; published the statement; there: Published the project plan and environmental commitments
- Termit and Tin Toumma National Nature Reserve: 2019 boundary change around CNPC oil blocks Niger · 2012–2023
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Survey of 2016; mission of January 2020
- Tree felling under the Tashkent moratorium: damage assessments, prosecutor cases and ministry counts Uzbekistan · 2020–2025
- Ministry of Ecology (Uzbekistan) (Public authority) — here: Issued the permit and collected the fee; published the statement; there: Counts fellings, assesses damage and limits the Tashkent city ecology department's powers
- UNESCO World Heritage listings and Indigenous rights Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Ethiopia, Uganda · 1991–2025
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Technical evaluator for natural sites
- US withdrawal from 66 international bodies and Paris/UNFCCC United States · 2025–2027
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Body the US withdrew from
- Western gray whales off Sakhalin and the company-funded IUCN advisory panel Russia · 2004–2022
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Convened and hosted the Western Gray Whale Advisory Panel
- Whale oil, kerosene and the 1986 whaling moratorium International · 1859–2022
- IUCN (International organisation) — here: Lists the markhor on the IUCN Red List; there: Assessed the humpback whale (2008)
- Yashil Makon tree-planting programme in Uzbekistan Uzbekistan · 2021–2026
- Kun.uz (Media) — here: Reported the video and the fee rate; there: Reported school staff buying saplings